We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite retreat with exclusive feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
TravelinDood
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite retreat with exclusive feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

No doubt Aldebaran is an excellent hotel, with fine appointments and a feeling that you are in an exclusive place. The best things about Aldebaran are its secluded location and the nicely designed and comfortable common areas. The rooms themselves are large, clean and very comfortable, but nothing spectacular. The restaurant, too, was good but not worthy of a "top 3 in Bariloche" billing. We were there before high-season started, so maybe we didn't have the regular chef. We also stayed in one of the "forest rooms". Maybe the higher-end rooms are more impressive.

In short, Aldebaran is a very nice hotel. If you are looking for a feeling of exclusivity in a very beautiful, secluded spot, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    33
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
168
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We found the Aldebaran through JetSetter. It is located in the most magical spot in Bariloche, about 30 minutes from downtown. The decor is lovely, the rooms are bright, everything is clean, and the staff are very helpful. We stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon, and they assisted us in renting an automatic car, they found us a great company for kayaking, they scheduled horse back riding, and made us dinner reservations. We couldn't have been more pleased with this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cerro Lopez room with an amazing view. All rooms are quiet because of the location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I can't wait to go back! We visited Aldebaran, stayed 7 fantastic days and we were sad to leave.
The service is amazing. Everyone in the hotel was helpful, friendly and very knowledgable about the area and were able to recommend different activities for us. Jose Maria and Victoria are a delight! Thanks to all the staff for everything!
The breakfast is delicious, freshly homemade breads and media lunas. Fruits and whatever you want made to order.
We enjoyed a fabulous Pizza Night made in the brick oven by the House Chef. Our last night we also stayed in to enjoy the Chef's baked Chicken in Orange and Honey Sauce... To die for!
You will need a car to access this area, but I would recommend to get a car even if you stayed in the Town Center, since most of the activities and most beautiful scenes are definitely done by car...

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Julissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were a group of four from Australia to Bariloche in the 'low' season.
We discovered the Alebaran purely by chance. We had booked another hotel, but 4 weeks out from the start of our trip, they cancelled our reservations!
We are now thankful that the other hotel cancelled our resevations as it was the best thing that could have happened as we then booked into the Aldebaran.
We arrived at the Aldebaran, somewhat hesitantly, wondering what was awaiting!!
We turned into the driveway and there was heaven waiting!
I would not call the Alebaran a hotel as it was more a home away from home!
The rooms were spacious, with stunning views over snow capped mountains behind the lake! We stayed in the Cerro Lopez rooms........a must, as not all rooms have these views!
But what made the Aldebaran our favourite hotel on our trip was the staff.
Victoria and Jose were most welcoming and are indeed a credit to the hotel.
Jose was outstanding. It turned out that we were the only guests staying at the hotel due to the time of the season, as we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble for Jose!
A casual comment by one of the group saying how nice it would be to have a fire going in the lounge.............. and a few minutes later, there it was!
As the Aldebaran is situated a fair distance from Bariloche, we decided to eat at the hotel.
On two separate nights, the resident chef, Santiago, created two delicious meals that were not on the menu and was thrilled to do anything we asked.
This is my first review on Tripadvisor and the reason for this is due to the wonderful service we received at the Aldebaran............a highlight of our three weeks in South America!
Anne (and Richard, Jill and Rob)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Aldebaran Hotel is really the epitome of the Argentine Lakes area. Set out of town it sits peacefully on the edge of the lake looking across to the splendid mountains, which change every few minutes. The private balconies allow you your own personal oasis to absorb the slendour of the region in your own time. The facilities of the hotel were like being at home in a luxurios yet comfortable way - well appointed split level lounge/ reading area's and a beautiful restaurant gave you everything you could possibly want. The staff were friendly, attentive yet in no way obtrusive. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and warm. We could have easily used the hotel as a base to explore the rugged mountains or just stayed there to relax and enjoy. Well worth the extra journey out of the main town if you like to be off the beaten track. It was a great way to end what had been a wonderful 3 week discovery of South America.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Charming hotels in Bariloche - for the more spoiled traveler who doesn't want a large hotel full of group tourists - are generally hard to find. But find one we did - the Aldebaran is all and a whole heap more than we thought it would be. It is out of town - which I think is a blessing - probably only 20 minutes depending on traffic. It is down an unpaved road - which adds to the excitement. It has magnificent lake views looking sort of north towards Cerro Lopez - a gorgeous mountain (get up before the sun and capture some great photos). The rooms are lovely - just a handful of them, which I love - the staff are warm and welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. What more could you want? We were a group of business travelers but would return there in a heartbeat for a holiday. All eight of us loved it. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view - I think they all have lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyFitzKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent the last few days of our honeymoon at Aldebaran and could not have picked or imagined a more fitting end to what had already been an amazing trip. We were given one of the best rooms in the hotel with a view that took our breath away every time we looked at it. The room was beautifully furnished with high celings and gorgeous wooden beams. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were so willing to help at all times, providing us with tips on fantastic local restaurants (the degustation menu at Butterfly is exceptional) as well as cooking the trout we caught during a fishing excursion. Any activities we wanted to do were booked for us so that the entire stay was stress-free, relaxing and wonderfully enjoyable. We will have fond memories of Aldebaran for many years.

Room Tip: Room number 4!! The view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
8.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#19 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Property: Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing