We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury small hotel away from the crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Yes, you need a car to get there - but it´s better anyway to explore the wonderful nature around Bariloche by car. Aldebaran is located on a peninsula, about 30 minutes drive from the busy town. It´s a quiet place, forest and some private homes around, very close to the lake (a small path is leading down to the beach).
Our room was excellent and we enjoyed to stay in an intimate ambience for 3 nights.
The service was very good, the restaurant is just excellent.
Travelling in the south of Argentina and Chile the Aldebaran was one of the best hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 551Klaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed in one of the suites (top floor - for amazing view) for four nights. It was a proper suite - as in the living area was one room and the bedroom another. This is a nice change, as it seems many of the "suites" we tend to book are one room. There was also a walk-in closet! And heated floors! The service was excellent. Breakfasts were good. We mostly ate out - eat in town at Alto el Fuego. Had one of the best massages in a long time (by Malena) at a very reasonable rate. Do note - while Aldebaran bills itself as a spa, you need to pay the masseuse directly.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mobs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The personal attention at this hotel is the best I've ever experienced. The room was beautiful with a gorgeous lake view. The public rooms were interesting. The food in the dining room was excellent although the menu was limited. I would give the Aldebaran 5 stars except for location. The Aldebaran is located on a dirt road a couple of miles from the main road, which is still not a central location. You need a private car or you will be stuck. Cabs are possible and the staff offered drives. I still felt isolated. Very, very friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The higher the better for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I highly recommend the Aldebaran Hotel and Spa if you are traveling to Patagonia. It is a little tricky to find the first time but well worth it. The rooms are large and very comfortable with spectacular views of the lake and mountains. The service is excellent. Manuela and Jose were very helpful and gave us good recommendations on activities in the area. Wonderful healthy food served in a beautiful room overlooking the lake. You do need a car as the hotel and activities are 15 - 20 minutes from Bariloche.

Room Tip: Room 4 has wonderful lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolgerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed in Bariloche as part of my honeymoon in March 13. From the get go the staff were as helpful as we could have wanted. Our room had fantastic views, the food and breakfast was great and the spa was a welcome retreat after a day cycling or walking around Bariloche. José and Manuela from the front desk are true professionals who made our stay a perfect one.

Room Tip: Room 10 - lots of space if staying for a long stay with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwaymacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Aldebaran Hotel is a little tricky to find at night, but once you get here it is well worth it. The rooms are very large and beautiful, the view out over the lake with mountains in the background is stunning, the food is excellent and the staff are extremely firendly and helpful.

Jose and Manuela go above and beyond to make your stay easy - they arranged restaurant bookings, car hire and activities in advance of our stay so that by the time we got there everything was in place and we could enjoy ourselves.

I would strongly recommend hiring a car as the hotel is a bit isolated and the attractions and best restaurants in Bariloche are very spread out, so without a car transport could be difficult.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Aldebaran is a small 10 room hotel off the beaten path, but it is worth taking the "road less traveled" to stay here. Spacious comfortable rooms. Original artwork Magnificent views. Delicious healthy food in the intimate restaurant. The staff is attentive and give good advice regarding area attractions and activities. I'm picky.

Room Tip: A room on the west side provides an opportunity for beautiful sunset photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineG506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,690 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,059 reviews
1 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#3 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf ...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,306 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
632 reviews
8.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £99 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing