We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is a must.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This place is a must.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

I absolutely loved staying at this hotel. I am in my mid 20s and love to go out for the night life etc - so even though we were about 20 minutes outside of town I would still not change a thing about staying there. The hotel has amazing views and such a great atmosphere. The family running the place is incredibly friendly and hard working. The food at the restaurant was also amazing. No matter what time of day you asked for food they would do what they could to provide you with a nice snack or meal. We were in touch with the staff through email before we left the United States to organize a room that would fit 3 beds - this worked out very well and there was plenty of space. Some people mentioned that not all of the rooms have TV, if you required a TV I am sure you could arrange this before hand. They are genuine and honest people who want you to have a nice stay. They also have a nice clean pool, hot tub and sauna room that my whole family enjoyed.If you are looking to go into town and explore etc cabs to and from the town are cheap and can be arranged by the hotel.
If you take a cab from the town just make sure you ask about how much it will be first, on one of our nights we didn't notice the guy hadn't turned on his meter so he tried to charge us about double of what the usual fare is. But honestly I've taken a lot of cabs in Argentina and the majority of cab drivers aren't out to screw the tourists over. Bariloche is such a cool town, I wish I could do the whole trip over again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizWhite24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
163
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brazil
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed in Aldebaran last July for our winter vacation. THe hotel is cozy, gorgeous decor in social area and has a magnificent view. Travelling with teenagers this is not a good option as the hotel does not have TV in all rooms and the hotel is also far away from restaurant areas. We rented a car with a local company and it was a NIGHTMARE! The Cumbres Rent a Car, suggested by hotel team, charged us transit penaltis and NEVER SENT the receipt to prove that they payed the penalty and also the insurance agreement does not cover an accident with a stone in the car glass. A unnecessary stress in the airport during your hollidays is defenetly what we were nor looking for.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariangela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ap_buenosaires, General Manager at Aldebaran Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Greetings from Bariloche!

We are grateful for this review and the ratings given to the hotel. As we are very fond of our guest comments and experiences, we decided to start answering the reviews in order to provide a better stay.

Regarding the Hotel´s location, Aldebarán has a very unique and different offer. It is only 20 km from the city, but its target/public is people that seek to be in a natural and calm environment, full of tranquility and personalized service.
The location of the Hotel is perfectly shown and explained in our website.
As we converse during the stay, we agreed the problem was that she has not been advised correctly by her Travel Agency. Same situation happened regarding the reserved room. The room category booked didn´t offer TV (in present time, all the rooms of the hotel have TV), but as this was very important to this family, we immediately offered a complimentary upgrade to a better room with TV. This was accepted and appreciated.

The hotel is in the area of the Cerro Llao Llao, and features some of the most requested gastronomic options in Bariloche at only 15 minutes-drive (for example, Il Gabbiano, Los Césares and Los Timo). There are plenty of outstanding gastronomic options and well known Tea houses near the hotel.

Regarding the car rental Company, Cumbres Rent-a-Car is one of the companies working with us since almost the beginning, and we always recommend it to our customers since we never had inconveniences. There are many kinds of contract and insurances when it comes to car rentals. Not all the insurances cover all the damages but this is, usually, up to client to choose which insurance to pay.
Regarding the receipt, we will make sure Cumbres Rent-a-Car sends you the traffic fine receipt as soon as they received it from the Government (this usually takes a while).

Finally, we apologize for the inconveniences they had with the car rental Company and we look forward to welcoming them back in the near future.
We stay at your disposal.

Aldebarán Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

If you are travelling with that someone special you will love it! It is far from the city by the lake, so it is good idea to rent a car, so you will be free to go anywhere anytime. Definetly recommend for couples, but maybe a little far if you are alone, looking for party...

Great atmosphere, "A" class treatment

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ivo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at the aldebaran for our honeymoon recently. Having been caught out in the ash cloud, it took us 3 days to get to bariloche from london and we were exhausted once we arrived, but wow what a place to relax! We were the only guests staying there, which may have clouded our view of the place, but we were made to feel very special. When I was concerned that we wouldnt make it because of the ash cloud, I emailed Jorge the owner, and he assured me that they wouldnt charge us because it wasnt our fault, which was a lovely reassurance at a stressful time. We were delighted we did make it there in the end though. Although Aldebaran is a good 25 minute drive from bariloche, it has the most stunning setting overlooking the lake and the cerro campanario directly opposite. A hire car is mandatory in my opinion and we found it very useful. A taxi to town is 50 pesos so not unreasonable. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated with lots of wood and stone as is the fashion in the area, the spa is clean although the jacuzzi was a little cold and then too hot: could do with some better temperature regulation! The restaurant is sound with a reasonable wine list. The staff were all brilliant and very helpful in organising excursions. Unforgettable things we did were the cerro campanario chair lift (one of the best views in the world), dinner at butterfly restaurant and the circuito chico by bicycle with lunch at llao llao. Overall I cant recommend aldebaran and bariloche enough it was fantastic....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed at Aldebaran at the end of our Argentina trip, for 4 nights. After getting over the realisation of how really far away we were from town, we had a fabulous stay here. Very cosy and peaceful, in beautiful surroundings - a perfect place if you want to get away from it all. The food in the restaurant is really nice too and staff were always helpful. Make sure you ask about all the facilities though. We only found the TV room on the last day!

We contemplated hiring a car, but did not feel we were staying long enough for the hassle. Free transfers to and from the airport were included, and we got cabs into town on a couple of occasions. Recommend using the local taxi firm (take the number with you when you want to get home) as they were usually half the price of the the cabs in town. (45 - 50 pesos which was reasonable).

If you're up for a bit of fun, try the Chico Circuit by bicycle. A nice way to see the area at your own pace, and some lovely stop offs on the way. Take a picnic and soak in the views. The hotel arranged with the bike rental co for us, and they even brought the bikes to us for a little extra charge. Was a great day out (if very tiring! - be warned, there are a lot of uphills parts!)

We also took a day trip to Puerto Blest & Lago Frias. A nice easy going day out, but be aware of additional charges when you get there (not always very clearly explained when you book).

Only slight down side is the relative high price, but overall worth it for the amazing views and location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chopperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

By Roy Heale

In San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina the snow-capped Andes mountains and expansive blue-water lakes are a major tourist attraction. In fact the region is known as the Argentina Lake District and covers a very large region at the gateway to Patagonia.

I stayed at one of the gay-friendly boutique hotels the Aldebaran Hotel and Spa situated 23km, about a 20 minute drive, from the heart of Bariloche on the San Pedro Peninsula. The property is very private and secluded with great views especially at sunset. A car rental is recommended but not essential. The local Remis service---a cheaper form of Taxi where you share the ride and costs with other passengers---is convenient and inexpensive plus readily available.

I booked my room with Cristian Signorelli of Bariloche Gay Travel who is very knowledgeable of the whole Lake District region and an excellent tour guide. There are so many options available to enjoy in this region a local expert tour guide is very helpful to see everything possible or arrange guided tours and boat trips to smaller islands.

Aldebaran was originally a private home until extra rooms were added to make it a ten-bedroom boutique hotel. The warmth and charm of the home still exist with beautiful stone masonry work and wonderful use of local wood. The common areas include a grand living room, small study and computer work station for guests, entertainment lounge, and small bar adjacent to the restaurant.

The rooms are very large with comfortable beds, cozy furnishings plus some great views and balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel grounds include a waterfront jetty, gardens with outdoor solarium, indoor/outdoor swimming pool,jacuzzi, and full spa facilities. Massages are available by appointment. The cozy restaurant serves a buffet breakfast plus lunch and dinner. On special occasions there are gourmet treats like roast suckling pig cooked on the open fire oven.

All of the staff are extremely gay-friendly and speak some English to assist travelers.

Whether it's for a winter ski vacation or a year-round outdoor get-away to nature this hotel is a perfect home-away-from-home with great ambiance.

Bariloche Gay Travel specializes in bookings here and have some great rates available for the LGBT community.

Aldebaran is the name of a giant bright star in the zodiac constellation of Taurus and the Aldebaran Hotel and Spa is the shining star of Bariloche's accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at this hotel. It was the BEST vacation we have ever had! we chose the hotel based on the recommendations at Tripadvisor and all that have been written about this hotel is so true! the hotel is beatifully designed, quiet and romantic. Only 10 rooms and feels like home. The room (no. 4) was very large, simply but stylishly designed, with lake view that makes you just want to stay there all day, and watch the water. And the service --- excellent!!! especially Sophi who always happy to give good recommendation about rest, trips, things to do. We would highly highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VGO20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
5.5 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
3.4 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
8.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldebaran Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldebaran Hotel & Spa

Property: Aldebaran Hotel & Spa
Address: Loica 2327 | Peninsula San Pedro, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aldebaran Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Aldebaran Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldebaran Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Aldebaran Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing