We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and great hotel”
Review of Pire-Hue Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pire-Hue Lodge
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Friendly and great hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a great time with our family. Our kids had a great time skiing in Cerro Catedral. The hotel is very complete, a very nice playroom, tasty food at the restaurant, warm in and out pool and comportable and equipped apartments. Staff is very helpfull, they know every guests name and owners are always arround making you feeling at home.
Breakfast is very complete and it is the only hotel which is near the lifts.
We will come back for sure

Room Tip: Make sure you book a table to enjoy the lamb cooked in the fireplace as soon as you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caral_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flaesp, Gerente at Pire-Hue Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thanks for your comments, it is good to know you had a very good experience in our Lodge
Hope to see you next winter
Best Regards
PIRE HUE LODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    11
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

On Sundays this hotel has roasted whole lamb on the spit that is the best I have ever eaten. The owners are present and very attentive. The service, the wine selection, lamb and various other meats brought to our table was superb. They usually have some kind of raffle on Sundays... this past Sunday was a day trip to Mesada de los Baguales for snow cat skiing.. We did did not win... :(.
Next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilio_VI_STT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flaesp, Gerente at Pire-Hue Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
It has been a pleasure having you as a guest in our Lodge. We make our best to assure a pleasant stay and hope to see you again next winter
Best Regards
PIRE HUE LODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I just travelled with my family and other 3 families ( total 17 travellers) for one week in this Pire Hue hotel at Cerro Catedral – Bariloche – Argentina.

The experience has been very but very disappointing.

They charged us as a 5 stars hotel (each family paid between 1000 to 1700 USD per night ! and the quality of we get is a two stars hotel but a very dirty one....

Let me give some details :

1) the conditions of the hotel : the infrastructure is very bad, all the walls are either with very dirty paintings and or with visible humidity and brakes. 4 out of the 6 bathrooms we got in our rooms had problems with draining water out of the floor, the WC were not working appropriately and spin one of the bathrooms the used water (out of the WC) were draining out to the floor creating a tremendous bad smell… We found that the hotel only opens for high season in winter time and during the other months the hotel is closed… no maintenance running during the off period, all the personnel is temporary, so you can imagine how came an hotel could behave as a 5* one with these settle…

The main living and lobby rooms of the hotel, very charms ones, had severe humidity on the ceiling (behind one of the bathrooms of the guest rooms) and also dropping used water out of the bathroom (sewer water) of the first floor dropping on the table that the hotel serves special dinner on Tuesday and Fridays !! We had to cancelled our reservations for that special dinner event just in order to preserve health ! once we discover tremendous lack of hygiene in the place to eat...

2) cleaning of the rooms : all the rooms are very dirty, most of the carpet had very infested colony of ´mite' only seen with ultraviolet light... And in one room there were used bottle of beer discovered by one of my children three days after we check inn... The worst experience was with other friend who found with her little kid once they check in a used condoms in one of the drawer of the main room !!

3) The breakfast could fit very well in a very cheap hotel, the coffee is always old, the fruits has a variety of max 2 per day, there is no napkins nor table cloths on the tables, and worst, if you want to eat eggs in any cooked way or espresso or a chocolate for the kids they charged separated even-though they were charging +1200 US Dollars per night per family of 4 !. We just has been in the Sofitel in Buenos Aires paying half of this and having a tremendous positive experience overall

4) One of the most astonishing (negative) experience we had in the hotel is about smoking rules…. the hotel allows people to SMOKE in the bar which it is located in the middle of the building ! Just at the main connection of the lobby and rooms with the restaurants !. This fact is explicitly forbidden in Argentina and even though we explicitly complained with the hotel manager (Rosario) , she just said, this is the way here, the owner allows to smoke in here and nobody can do anything... We just could not believed

5) During the last days of our staying, one of the travellers went to the wet sauna room and while taking a sauna bath a piece of marble drop from the wall down to the floor partially impacting in the foot of my friend, imagine the pain !. well the hotel called medical support who certify the damage and provided written certification of the injury and impact. The hotel of course did not say anything nothing happened… simply unbelievable !

All these have been extensively reported to the manager of the hotel and to the daughter of the owner, they were surprised with the facts, they knew that the installations, furniture and everything were having lot of problems but they just said that this is the way they are, with all the dirty and lack of service quality and nobody claim for that because the fact they are skiing out and in is they value proposition and all the imperfection, dirtiness, broken installations, etc are not very serious....(but by no means acceptable for a +1400 USD per night hotel !)

Not only we are not ever going to return in here, we , as reasonable social and business connected people, are going to be sure that these facts are going to be well known both in Argentina, Brazil and US where we are coming from.

Please , advice all the future travellers about these situations and if it possible, please investigate it , this hotel was very good quality 10 years ago, but now is the worst hotel we stayed and we travel a lot across the world and also within Argentina.

Kind regards
Rodolfo Macarrein

Room Tip: Just do not go to this hotel unless they restore it from good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rodolfo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flaesp, Gerente at Pire-Hue Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, lamento ampliamente que su estadía no haya sido de su agrado.
Sus comentarios serán analizados internamente. Tomaremos su experiencia para poder mejorar año tras año
Saludos Cordiales
PIRE HUE LODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and overall, we are very happy we did. The location is perfect for skiing, and we rented skis from the hotel and walked right out to the lift. Our room had a small patio and a great view. It was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was relatively updated. We ate at the restaurant once and also a few times at the bar. The food was good and not too overpriced, but the service was a little slow in the restaurant. We found the staff at the bar to be more friendly and it is the same food so we preferred that. The breakfast buffet was basic, but good enough. If you are traveling here, do not expect the level of luxury that you would get at an American ski resort hotel that is this expensive. There are some luxury touches (turn down service, heated bathroom floors) and yet the furniture all looks very old and outdated, though it seemed like this might be an intentional "shabby chic" style. Overall, if you don't come here expecting a very fancy hotel and can appreciate the charming style, this is a great place to stay. Our main goal was to enjoy skiing in August and to relax and we were definitely able to do that here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Pire Hue Lodge has the pick of all locations in the village. It is the only ski in/ski out hotel on the mountain and in addition is set up very nicely, in terms of the guest rooms, amenities and common areas.

The inside/outside pool is a nice feature, but I would have liked to have the water a bit warmer.

We stayed in the "Lago" suite, which had a beautiful view onto the ski slopes and, when the weather was clear, all the way to Lake Nahuel Huapi. The suite was huge and very comfortable. Possibly because of the size though, the heating was sometimes a little bit inadequate (still fine, but could have used an extra heater to make it really cozy).

The restaurant was good, no complaints about the food quality, especially considering the alternatives in the village (there really aren't any), but also can't really say it was special. Given the rather expensive rates charged in this hotel in general, I would suggest they should invest in shifting the dining experience more up-market. A more extensive wine list would also be nice.

One awesome experience (which I believe they do once or twice a week in winter) is grill a whole lamb in the huge fireplace in the communal living/sitting room. That was a truly wonderful meal, one of the best roast lambs we've ever had.

The service is generally friendly and reasonably efficient. They're also very helpful in arranging other activities (eg La Cueva) and providing transport/pickup. Also want to give a special mention to the staff in the ski room (which faces directly out to the 6-seater chair lift), who take great care of your equipment, have everything ready for you in the morning and take it away when you return after a day out skiing.

I'd certainly stay at Pire Hue again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Unbeatable location in Cerro Catedral. Provided there is snow (and that's a BIG If), Pire Hue is the only ski in & ski out hotel in Bariloche. Other pluses: Beautifully appointed rooms and lounge areas, very nice spa and friendly staff, relaxing and very cool atmosphere overall.

However, a property's ratings must be paired with rates. Pire Hue rates are quite steep. Therefore, in my experience, to live up to its pricing Pire Hue needs to see some investment added and procedures and perks introduced (i.e. do not expect long, hot showers).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked to stay in the Pire Hue hotel back in March 2012 and were quoted in US dollars. When we gave the hotel our credit card details the full amount was put through in Pesos at an exchange rate of 5:1 which was a little over 10% more than the going rate at the time, when this was queried we were told that this is the rate they always use. We were paying US $360 each (PLUS the exchange rate premium) so were effectively paying in the region of US$ 400 per night. We thought that this was very expensive but understood that we were going to a good hotel.

I have never stayed in a hotel that is more perfectly located for skiing than the Pire Hue. It is so close to the ski lifts and when the snow is good, you can ski in, ski out, and when there is no snow you can come down in the lift. We never had to carry our skiis.
The highlight of our stay was the manager, Yvonne who is very charming and helpful and speaks the Queen’s English! No questions were ever a problem and we learnt a lot about Argentina and its culture from her.

We were very disappointed with the hotel other than its perfect location. The rooms, whilst spacious, were a bit ‘budget’ for what we had paid (effectively $800 for the room per night). There was a mini bar but no price list, there was no directory of hotel services and I only learnt on leaving the hotel that they had a spa and there were no coffee making facilities in the room. The curtains were half falling off the rail and the room needed a bit of a revamp – I was not averse to the eclectic, shabby-chic decor style but it definitely tended more towards the shabby. Whilst the bathrooms were cleaned well every day the room was not vacuumed once while we were there and on the day we left there was all manner of fluff on the carpet (especially since the bed cover was made of rabbit fur!!!)

Breakfast was also disappointing with a very basic continental that did not vary once in the 8 days we were there. We had just come from Buenos Aires where we had stayed in a hotel for less than a quarter of the price and had woken up every morning to a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning.

Basically, good location but very bad value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michtrav_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
6.5 mi away
Club Hotel Catedral
Club Hotel Catedral
#52 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Galileo Boutique Hotel
Galileo Boutique Hotel
#33 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#19 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
9.6 mi away
Estancia Peuma Hue
Estancia Peuma Hue
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pire-Hue Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pire-Hue Lodge

Property: Pire-Hue Lodge
Address: Villa Cerro Catedral, Rio Negro, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#26 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pire-Hue Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pire-Hue Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pire Hue Hotel And Resort
Pire Hue Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing