We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed modern hotel charming, but a bit far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“Well-appointed modern hotel charming, but a bit far from town”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our travel agent put us in this hotel, which is typical of the modern, expensive, "luxury" hotels omnipresent in today's world. It has very little real charm, beyond the kind a big developer typically puts in a hotel of this kind. We had no real complaints about anything; the service was fine, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom modern and perfectly adequate. An unexpected "plus" was that, to our surprise, we were put in a "suite" on the top floor, with an extra bedroom upstairs in a kind of a-frame alcove. So, apparently we were upgraded. We certainly didn't need three beds; my wife and I generally share a bed, so we slept in the king bed upstairs rather than the two twins down. Overall, it was nice I guess, but a waste of space, and lot of stairway climbing was required.
The breakfast both mornings we were there was mobbed by the gigantic tour groups that take over hotels of this type. The first morning, although we got there pretty early, there wasn't a free table in either of the two large breakfast seating rooms, and the buffet was pretty well picked-over. Nevertheless, the staff found us a table promptly, cleaned it up, and made sure there was food for us. It was typical breakfast buffet fare, pretty much the same you can find at every hotel in the world today.
The worst thing about Villa Huimid, from our perspective, is the distance from town. We were told it was an "easy walk" in town. Really? About two miles on the side of a major highway with cars whizzing by constantly, walking precariously on the gravel right next to the pavement? Not much fun, to be sure. We ended up taking taxis all the time. We prefer to be located within reasonable walking distance of restaurants, shops, and the sights of town. Other friends were staying in far more reasonably priced hotels in town, near the excellent restaurants there, which we prefer to the cookie-cutter corporate fare served in these kinds of giant, tour-bus oriented hotels.
Overall, Villa Huimid wasn't actually bad; the service was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the hotel itself was nice. Nevertheless, I'd recommend that independent travelers like ourselves find some other place to stay when visiting Bariloche, There are certainly a lot of more interesting options available!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Huinid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, muchas gracias por dedicar unos minutos de su tiempo para compartir su opinión con la comunidad de Tripadvisor. Lamentamos mucho no haber cumplido con sus expectativas, pero agradecemos sinceramente que nos haya hecho conocer su vivencia, ya que ésta tiene un inmensurable valor para nosotros y nos ayuda a mejorar la experiencia de nuestros huéspedes.
Esperamos de corazón que su próxima estadía en la ciudad sea más placentera, y demás está decir que las puertas de Villa Huinid estarán siempre abiertas para usted. Gracias de nuevo por su opinión.

Atención al Huésped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    428
    78
    18
    19
See reviews for
559
589
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very easy to walk to the town Center -- the patio has a beautiful view of the lake and surrounding area. Rooms were clean with U.S. outlets provided. Buffet breakfast is included (breakfast was just ok). Very pretty property and comfortable accomodations. Front desk service was just fair - but i'm not sure if that is just because their English was not great and i do not speak Spanish. Gym was just fair as well. But their is a nice spa and an indoor pool.

Room Tip: higher rooms get a beautiful view of the lake. Even numbered rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CKCTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Huinid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, muchas gracias por compartir su opinión con la comunidad de Trip Advisor. Nos complace saber que disfrutó de las instalaciones del hotel y de las vistas que ofrece de San Carlos de Bariloche.
Esperamos tenerlo entre nuestros huéspedes en su próxima visita a la Patagonia e intentaremos estar mejor preparados para sortear las diferencias de lenguaje =)
Hasta muy pronto!

Atención al Huésped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel has a good location, just outside the center, nice rooms, good lake views and friendly service. The only main drawback was that the Bustillo hotel is part of a complex of 2 hotels and many family cabanas. All guests apparently eat their breakfast the Bustillo hotel, which made for a very crowded and noisy experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Huinid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Yaron, agradecemos que comparta su opinión en la comunidad Tripadvisor. Es muy importante para nosotros conocer las vivencias de nuestros huéspedes para poder mejorar la experiencia Villa Huinid. Nos alegramos que haya disfrutado de las vistas del Hotel.
Lamentamos que su experiencia en relación al desayuno no haya cumplido con sus expectativas y tendremos en cuenta su apreciación para mejorar nuestro servicio.
Lo invitamos a volver en su próxima visita a la Patagonia!
Hasta pronto!
Atención al Huésped
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a very family friendly inn, with cabanas that have a full kitchen set up. The property is attractive but very "tired". Rooms are well used and quite worn. Maintenance appears to be lacking. Rooms have the "wet, body clinging" shower curtains from the '60's, rusty plumbing access holes, etc. The Inn is a favorite for tour buses also. Overall service is quite average and an Inn manager was never in sight. One bright spot is the Front Desk staff. All very helpful and pleasing. We stayed at the Inn over five nights during our visit in January.

Room Tip: None really have a lake view, but try a cabana for space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaBunkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Villa Huinid Bustillo Resort and Spa is located overlooking the lake but you are not on the lake. We did not have a car and managed well for our 4 days in Bariloche. Travel to and from the airport will cost about $130AR whether using a taxi or a remise. This is a lot less than many of the other hotels a little further out. Some people talk about walking to town which is about 2 to 3 kilometers. We did once but that was enough. The walking along the dusty road wasn't really the problem. But the distance, even for keen walkers, was too long after walking around town which was way more interesting. Also bus and taxi access make either a better choice. The area is safe and makes access to Bariloche and some of the local sights very easy to access. The location definitely makes it a great choice. Augustin and Juan on the front desk were extremely helpful. Their English was superb. They were able to make suggestions on tours, how to get around, where to change money and with bookings. Be sure to take the local bus out to llao llao, Campanario chairlift and the Chico circuit. It will cost no more than $11 AR or $2US each way.
Definitely get a room with a view. Even if you don' t plan to spend much time in the room waking up and taking in the view makes it worth it. The rooms were clean and had a computer sized safe. The breakfast room and selection was more than adequate. The indoor pool was great. We didn't access the spa.
We would highly recommend spending time in Bariloche and specifically at Villa Huinid Bustillo Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website for the best rates. Be sure to request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa_Huinid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado huésped, muchas gracias por recomendarnos con la comunidad de Tripadviosr. Nos complace saber que tanto las instalaciones del Hotel, como así también el servicio, cumplieron con sus expectativas.
Aprovechamos para volver a agradecerles tan detallada y cálida opinión.
Lo invitamos a volver en su próxima visita a la Patagonia.
Hasta Pronto!

Atención al Huésped
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Bariloche area is one of the most beautiful places I have visited filled with blue lakes and incredible scenery. The actual town is a bit touristy and Villa Huinid is walking distance away from town and thus peaceful and wonderfully quiet. If you face the front of the hotel you have a lovely lake view. I was in the back with trees and a steep hill but the room was clean and nice with a large bathroom. We had dinner in the bar which was tasty and less expensive than the dining room. The bar also serves earlier which worked with our American desire to dine before eight. Its a cheerful place with highly polished wood and a nice staff. I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front. The lake view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbquayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have rented a cabana with a lake view. The property / main hotel and cabanas all look very nice from the outside but less interesting on the inside. The hotel claims to be 5 stars but I would say it is probably 4 stars. The view and the size of the cabanas was the best about the hotel. If you get room/cabana with no view it is a very average place. The inside of the hotel / cabanas is not very clean and very oldfashioned furniture and interior. The service was good. Gym/Spa is a plus. I consider Catalunia Sur Aparts a better option and lower prices where we also stayed in this trip.

Room Tip: Dont forget to ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.8 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
#20 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo

Property: Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo
Address: Av. Bustillo 2600, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402-AAY, Argentina (Formerly Villa Huinid Resort & Spa)
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#14 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Huinid´s premium option: Villa Huinid Resort & Spa is located by Nahuel Huapi lake. Just 5 minutes away from downtown, surrounded by nature in a 17 acres terrain by Cerro Otto Hill. Amazing lake view rooms and cabins with exclusive access to Spa Bustillo. Our Resort Our 70 rooms and 21 cabins are designed to maximize silence and privacy, ensuring deep rest after a day of activities. Fully equipped rooms with Wi-Fi and minibars. Batistin Restaurant Our goal is to provide our customers a tasteful proposal that allows them to enjoy Bariloche through all their senses. A unique flavor fusion will accompany you through all your stay. Spa Bustillo Our Spa Bustillo offers in its 5400 sqm an indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna and fitness center. Relax and enjoy one of our many massages or programs with incredible benefits for your health and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Huinid Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Villa Huinid Resort And Spa
Hotel Huinid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing