We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Swiss Alps Experience in Argentina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Pampa Linda
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Swiss Alps Experience in Argentina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed at Hosteria Pampa Linda (about 2 hours out of Bariloche) while our son and his girlfriend stayed at the Refugio Otto Meiling up at the glacier. The hotel was perfect and the dinner was great. It felt like we were in an old-world hotel up in the Swiss alps!

The staff/owners were very helpful and made our stay a delight. We had looked for a hotel other than the Tronodor Hotel since the Tronodor Hotel required a 3- night stay and we only needed one night. (Also the Hotel Tronodor is a 20-minute car ride down the mountain while the Hosteria Pampa Linda is right at the trail-head to the hike up to the refugio.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Surrounded by glaciers, mountains and wildlife, Pampa Linda Hosteria is a perfect location to stay to explore the black glacier, hike the remote trails and enjoy the Patagonia wilderness.The location is somewhat remote which makes the stay in the quaint lodge altogether charming. It is located on a long, windy gravel road that can only be accessed before 2pm and exited after 4pm. The rooms are simple but charming, and the views of the many waterfalls and Mt. Tronador breath taking. The staff is exceptionally accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My fiance and I stopped here on our way back from Tronador to San Carlos de Bariloche. We were hungry after seeing the black glacier and the waterfalls (we had some yummy hot chocolate at the little chalet there) and decided to stop at Hosteria Pampa Linda because there was a "restaurant" sign. We came at an odd hour, and they weren't serving all their food, so we got a beef empanada and a beef milanese sandwich. It took forever, which was to be expected, but the empanda wasn't even hot. The beef in the sandwich was like no beef we had ever seen before. It was a dark purply brown color inside the breading, and my fiance could only take a couple of bites before he was too afraid of getting sick. It not only looked awful, it tasted horrendous. If you're thinking of stopping in here for a bite, please pass and go to one of the camp sites instead, where they stometimes have a little shop with food. Our stomach aches later also confirmed that we had eaten something bad, and we could guess what it was... I wouldn't normally be so harsh, considering this place really is in the middle of nowhere and we wouldn't expect high end dining, but this was just not edible. They really shouldn't be serving food if this is what they serve.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litlhafgost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Staying at Pampa Linda was very special. It's isolated and remote in a beautifull area.
The guest house itself is simple, but full of charm.
We were3, and we got the room on the top floor which was big, with a seperate sleeping area, closed by a curtain - which was nice.
The service was great - everyone was nice, helpfull and really went out of their way for us.
We got stuck inside for a whole day because of the rain - and it turned out an easy going day. There was something very calming about the place.
It's a graet place to stay if you like hiking and the quiet outdoors.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kereneini14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

One of my favorite stays anywhere. Stayed for a week with a couple of friends on a month long tour of Argentina and Chile. Our guides were fantastic and the horses wonderful! We spent the week riding to some of the most incredible places I have ever seen. The lodge is off the beaten track, on a long gravel road that is very windy and can only be accessed at different times of the day to or from the lodge. Once there, plan on staying more than a few days. There is so much to do whether your 2 legs get you there or you borrow the 4 legs of a horse. Everyone that worked there were friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but the stars on a clear night are spectacular - A must see!

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing Mt. Tronador, what a sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ztriptaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

We went to Pampa Linda to hike and had planned to stay 4 nights. We shortened our stay to only two nights after we discovered that only one of the trails, the one to Refugio Otto Meiling, was actually open for hiking. The other trails were closed because of damage to either the trail itself or to the stream crossings from a flood last May. It has also been raining a lot and the rivers are all running very high. The trail to Otto Meiling was very wet and muddy at the bottom. It is a very beautiful area and I am sorry that we couldn´t enjoy it more. Apparently if you want to ride horses, you have a few more choices because the horses can cross streams that hikers cannot.

We were paying US $146 per night. That included breakfast and dinner, but it still seems like a lot. We stayed in room number 2, which is quite small and next to the stairway. There was some noise from the stairs. You are paying for the remoteness of the location. The staff was very nice about letting us cancel our remaining two nights without penalty. In fact, the staff generally tried to be very helpful. Only a couple of the staff speak English, and my Spanish is very limited, but we were able to communicate without problems.

As for the food, we were offered two choices for starters and two choices for entrees for dinner. The first night was OK but not great. I asked about the choices for the next day after breakfast the following morning, and didn´t like either of the choices mentioned first. When I asked if there were anything else, they did offer other choices and we ended up having trout, which I liked much better than the first night´s dinner. They also had whole wheat bread available if you asked, but didn´t offer it initially. So, I would encourage you to have a conversation about food if you are picky about it. (admittedly, we are).

This is a beautiful, remote location and I am glad that we got to see it, but be prepared for the weather to be a challenge. It rains a lot. There is no Internet and the telephone sounds unreliable. We made our reservations over the Internet, but I think someone must be doing that from a nearby town. With the current conditions, this seems like a better place for horseback riders than for hikers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Hosteria Pampa Linda during our 3 week tour of Chile, Argentina and Uraguay. We stayed in many luxury hotels but none of them could beat the experience of staying at this lodge. Its not 'luxury' but more than makes up for this by the level of customer service, the beauty of the place and the quality of the activities on offer.

We spent two days on horse back doing the full day treks. This was a long time for novice riders but we were well looked after and the horses were extremely sure footed and we wouldnt have missed it for the world. We treked to places that I thought it was impossible for horses to reach - to the top of the world overlooking lakes, glaciers and visited by condors flying overhead. On the other day we treked to the foot of the glacier. Awesome. We were blessed with outstanding sunny weather and clear skies. We were very lucky - the previous week it had been very cold and overcast.

There isnt anything to do in the evening other than eat in the canteen like restaurant. The food can be described as basic / rustic but very tasty and thats what you need after a full day of activity. The service from Carmen was excellent. On our last night Linda and the team organised a special BBQ for us. A wonderful end to an outstanding experience.

In the evenings you chat to the tour guides to decide what activity you want to do the following day. We felt like the whole stay was personalised to us and never felt forced into mass participation.

Thank you to the team at Pampa Linda for a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — The organised activities during the day
  • Disliked — Would have been great if there was a spa or sauna to ease aching limbs after all the strenuous activity during the day
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
18.1 mi away
Hotel Tronador
Hotel Tronador
#37 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
9.7 mi away
Estancia Peuma Hue
Estancia Peuma Hue
#15 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Antu Kuyen
Hosteria Antu Kuyen
#5 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bahia Paraiso
Bahia Paraiso
#23 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
8.1 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.9 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Pampa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Pampa Linda

Property: Hosteria Pampa Linda
Address: Glaciares Co.Tronador, San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 252 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing