We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad and expensive”
Review of El Casco Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Casco Art Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
paraguay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“bad and expensive”
Reviewed 30 June 2008

The service is very bad inhuman, no free wifi internet in all the hotel and rooms, they said it was our notebook that was down but no we have had connection anywhere.
Breakfast poor, heating down on the nights......
If you go to bariloche, don't go to this hotel that has derauded us!!!This is not luxe but a pretentious place

  • Liked — none
  • Disliked — no internet 5 days, all communication by cell phone
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank asucion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    68
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
81
197
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2008

This place is simply amazing and surpassed all my expectations. It has every luxury you could possibly want or expect. The attention to detail is outstanding. Nothing is overlooked. Frette linens, customized house CD playing on the CD player in your room when you arrive, breathtaking views of Lake Nahual Huapi from the huge window of your sitting area. Incredible works of art by Argentina’s best decorate the walls. Fresh flowers in the hallways. Everything tastefully done.

First rate gracious staff ready and willing 24 hours a day to cater to your every need whether it is to set up an amazing float trip on the Limay river with Mario (the best guide) – thanks Yani! or simply to arrange for a rental car – thanks Santiago! They are always there for you.

It has an incredible restaurant, amazing service there as well. So if you don’t stay here at least eat here! Great room service. The spa is awesome – jacuzzi, heated indoor/outdoor pool. Massage and sauna. Very nice gym. Work room available with computers, printers, etc. if you HAVE to. Wi fi in all the rooms.

I honestly can’t think of one negative thing to say about this hotel. Well done! We’ll be back.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Burger2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

The service was impecable. I even got sick, the called a doctor, brought an interpreter to my room, all for free. It is an amazing hotel. I think the best in Bariloche. The rooms are huge, and super clean.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rtbeile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

Stayed at the El Casco Art Hotel in Bariloche for 3 nights. Room was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and good
Staff was very helpful in arranging private tours of the lake and Mt Tronador.
The best area restaurants are Casis,Il Gabriano, and El Casco.
The scenery in Bariloche is spectacular--large lakes with the snow capped Andes in the background. Fly-fishing,biking,hiking, and skiing are the main sports here.
Bariloche usually gets 25mi/hr wind in the Fall---Was lucky to get perfect weather-

  • Liked — quiet location--good staff
  • Disliked — no view of the snow capped Andes from room
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyorkcity
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

Stayed for 5 nights at this hotel for our honeymoon end Oct - mid Nov. Hotel was excellent and 5 star quality. Key things and points to note:

1. Most rooms have excellent views of the lake (ours did as well!)
2. The hotel is new so rooms and all areas of the hotel are in excellent condition
3. Small but nice pool (1/3 indoor 2/3 outdoor) - heated which my wife loved.
4. Very friendly staff e.g my wife needed some shoes cleaned and dried (they were soaking from rafting trip) and we gave them to the hotel at 9pm - they were returned by 8.00am the next day and we were not charged for it!!!
5. Small intimate hotel.
6. Excellent service and food (although menu is a bit limiting so one may want to go into town for dinner if you are staying longer)
7. Concierge was great and booked many excellent excursions (make sure you do the rafting near the chile border - you actually cross the border on the raft)

We went to the Llao Llao for tea etc (I was between booking the Llao LLao and El Casco). Having visited both during the trip my recommendation would be if you want a larger hotel with lots of amenities at the hotel book Llao LLao (i.e. better of with kids etc). The location of Llao Llao is truly amazing but the hotel is much busier.

If you want smaller, more tranquil, romantic place El Casco is perfect (the hotel is also much closer to town).

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank affordableluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Top of the line hotel. Have stayed at everything from holiday inn's to four seasons hotels and this place would definitely be compared to a small Four Seasons hotel. The room was huge and we booked the least expensive one there. The hotel is covered with art and each room is dedicated to a different artist. The bathroom was massive and the water pressure couldn't of been better. I think every room has a view of the lake and mountains. The hotel also did a good job with the complimentary transport to/from airport and ski slope. The only slight drawback is that Bariloche is about a 12-15min cab ride away. But with where the argentinain peso is right now that was only $7 each way.

  • Liked — the room/view
  • Disliked — distance to bariloche. although not that bad
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bmike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2007

Outstanding!!! I´ve spent 3 really i
ncredible days at this hotel.
The view is amazing,and it has an incredible art collection and decoration, that compliments the Bariloche landscape.
That customer service is excellent and the food was very good too.
Highly recommendable to any discerning international traveller passing through Bariloche.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jberte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,520 reviews
6.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,117 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,214 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#19 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Casco Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Casco Art Hotel

Property: El Casco Art Hotel
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 11,5 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Casco Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, in one of the most beautiful spots in Patagonia, in the Lake District, and just 15 minutes away from Bariloche city, and from Cerro Catedral ski resort, El Casco Art Hotel blends with the landscape with its stylish architecture, design, and refined tranquility.Intimacy, privacy and personalized service are our main goal, and each of the 33 rooms and suites have original works of art, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art plasma TVs, DVD & sound equipment, WiFi internet connection, Frette sheets (Italy), well appointed amenities, and best of all, direct vistas of the Nahuel Huapi Lake at only 40 metres away, which contributes to make your stay a total delight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Casco Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Casco Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing