We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozing art”
Review of El Casco Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Casco Art Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Oozing art”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

At the end of a spectacular day crossing the lakes from Petrohue to Bariloche, we were dropped off by the bus at El Casco. This would have to be one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. The richness of the paintings and sculpture was one thing, but there was creative design in the whole place. Everything was carefully placed to give a pleasing feel, from the ducks in the garden to the open window looking out at the garden, in the restaurant. Service was superb and dinner in the restaurant was one of the best presented and flavoursome meals we've had in ages. bed was comfortable and the view out to the lake was stunning. Very, very nice overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    68
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
81
197
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent three nights at the El Casco Art Hotel and were generally very pleased with the property. The view and setting are beautiful, and the grounds (especially the gigantic roses) are nicely landscaped. We loved the indoor/outdoor pool, which was heated nicely so that it was comfortable regardless of the outside temperature. The lobby, living room, bar, and restaurant are great, but the rooms and hallways leading to the rooms need updating. The carpets show a lot of wear and tear, and replacing these would make a HUGE difference.

The food at the hotel restaurant was pretty good, and the staff attentive. The only staff critique I'd give is that the bartenders didn't really seem to know the extensive drink list -- so they could be seen reading a card, and the drinks were often VERY inconsistent as a result.

As for location, it's about 15 minutes from the center of Bariloche, but I wouldn't recommend you spend a lot of time there. You can take in its shops in a couple hours. The real beauty and fun of the area are the outdoor activities/excursions available from various outfitters. The hotel is convenient to these points and one of the very best restaurants we've ever been to: Cassis.

Overall, a good property that with a few updates could be truly great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Riley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we recently stayed at the El Casco Art Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche to attend our daughters wedding. It was absolutely beautiful. Everything about the hotel. The rooms with their large comfy beds, spectacular scenery, it was like having a show from your room from morning to night. The staff were so friendly and helpful and respective of your relaxation. All amenities were fabulous. Breakfast, the spa, the lounge. I had a massage and used the hair salon service and was thrilled with both. It was a wonderful stay and even though I am in North America I can't wait until I can return and stay at this beautiful hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms with king size beds and they were both amazing. Not sure if there wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sashaj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The El Casco is a wonderful hotel. We stayed for 3 nights on a trip through Argentina. Its location is terrific -- a short taxi ride to Bariloche. The views from the rooms and the pool are stunning. The service is great. The food also is great. The breakfasts are quite good and the dinner we had at the hotel was the best dinner we had in Bariloche. I highly recommend the lamb.

Although small, the spa was great. I had the best massage of my life and then went to the pool, which is heated to 90 - 95 degrees and enjoyed the afternoon drinking wine that the bar staff brought to the pool.

Also, the hotel is decorated with beautiful original art work. I definitely recommend taking time to walk around looking at the beautiful art work.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A fine modern hotel 11.5kms outside Bariloche with a lakeside position. It is well appointed with good size bedrooms and quality ensuite bathrooms. There is a wide range of art/scuptures both inside and in the gardens. The food and service were excellent throughout our stay. The hotel is located on the edge of a penninsula and a tour of about 25kms is well worth it as the views are magnificent.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jbmcgrath99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarsdale, ny
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

You couldn't find a more beauiful hotel and setting than this one. Located on the lake with an Andes backdrop this art gallery, I mean hotel is spectacular. The service is great even in a country not known for attentive service. The dinners are gourmet and the rooms spacious and well appointed. Much closer to town than the Llao Llao and much more personal as it's smaller.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artbacis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My fiancé and I had a wonderful stay at El Casco Art Hotel during our time in Bariloche. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay there -- food and service was excellent, but the surroundings, artwork and picturesque setting was the standout. Also spent some time by their tranquil pool which opens up to the lawn. We were there in November so in the evenings the hotel and restaurant was very quiet; we were hoping for a bit more "action" but we wandered to some nearby cervecerias and found what we were looking for! Staff was lovely and continental breakfast was the best we had all trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kells0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,520 reviews
6.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,117 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,214 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#19 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
238 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Casco Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Casco Art Hotel

Property: El Casco Art Hotel
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 11,5 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Casco Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, in one of the most beautiful spots in Patagonia, in the Lake District, and just 15 minutes away from Bariloche city, and from Cerro Catedral ski resort, El Casco Art Hotel blends with the landscape with its stylish architecture, design, and refined tranquility.Intimacy, privacy and personalized service are our main goal, and each of the 33 rooms and suites have original works of art, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art plasma TVs, DVD & sound equipment, WiFi internet connection, Frette sheets (Italy), well appointed amenities, and best of all, direct vistas of the Nahuel Huapi Lake at only 40 metres away, which contributes to make your stay a total delight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Casco Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Casco Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing