We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but not the best reception staff”
Review of El Casco Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Casco Art Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

El Casco is unique and the art is stunning. The rooms are lovely with great views over the lake from every room. The pool is a great place to relax and breakfast is very good. It was such a shame that the reception staff are not very friendly or welcoming and the town of Bariloche itself is a bit touristy in our opinion. The surrounding area is very beautiful so it is worth a visit but we would recommend hiring a car so you can get out to see it. If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are a few local restaurants but they are very average and the road outside is quite dangerous to walk along at night because there is no pavement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director of Sales at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your taking the time to provide your comments which are always welcome and taken under strong consideration. We have taken special attention to the one pointing out our front of the house staff and have addressed this with that area directly because it is most important for us to assure that every guest finds our staff friendly and helpful. It is very pleasant to know that the overall experience was satisfying and that you enjoyed our facilities.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for El Casco Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We absolutely loved the setting of this hotel. It was small and luxurious and very comfortable. Great care has been taken to ensure all our needs were catered for in the rooms, excellent hair dryers, lovely robes and slippers and the most magnificent view from the window which was breathtaking. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant and the staff were very pleasant. Unfortunately the front of house staff service did not match the standard of the hotel, although very pleasant. We had booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel which failed to arrive, resulting in us arriving an hour later at the hotel, the staff were not very knowledgable and did not have enough information about local excursions, we managed to book a private boat trip after 3 attempts with the staff finally luckily managing to find someone who knew how to do this, unfortunately the lunch we ordered from the hotel failed to take into account dietary requirements we had asked for, resulting In us not being able to eat much of it, in fairness they did not charge us for this. I would recommend the hotel but would suggest research beforehand regarding excursions, I would definitely return and feel that it's probably one of the best hotels in Bariloche.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms had spectacular views, just check first.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lesley950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director of Sales at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our gastronomy and that you appreciate our house architecture and style decoration, as well as the room amenities and the view of the lake.
The most important for us is to be oriented in the best possible way, so I can assure we have investigated the inconvenieces you mention in order to make sure such incidents do not happen again in the future. Our aim is to pleasure our hosts and so, your comments and suggestions are valuable to us because they highlight opportunities to improve the quality of our services.
Greetings from Bariloche.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel deserves five stars for everything except LOCATION. That said, There are beautiful views from all the rooms of the lake and mountains. It is somewhat far from downtown Bariloche, so taxi or the local bus is needed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlynsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director of Sales at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards from Bariloche.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Located outside town, you need a car (or an expensive taxi ride) to go anywhere. The hotel and its rooms are lovely. Lots of pricy original art for sale. Restaurant tries hard but doesn't quite reach te standard of the hotel. The property is not large and there is not a lot to do on it. A place for chilling out and doing nothing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director Comercial at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimada,
Ha sido un placer atenderla y que haya tenido una estancia satisfactoria. En especial agradecemos sus sugerencias que nos permiten mejorar para así brindar cada día un mejor servicio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We spent one night at the El Casco Art Hotel which was pleasant but average at best. Great art but indifferent staff made us look for something else. Service was spotty at best. Better options with better service and lake views not far away.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank crescentisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the start of our 2 week trip. We booked a studio room with a balcony which had a beautiful view over the lake. The artwork throughout the hotel is interesting and adds greatly to the decor. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed dinners at the hotel on both nights. The breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was a fabulous place to start our month long vacation through Patagonia. We were able to absorb the beauty of the place, both indoors and out. The staff was extremely helpful. They helped tailor our excursions to meet our needs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JHalbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
6.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,588 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,267 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge
Arelauquen Lodge
#23 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
247 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Casco Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Casco Art Hotel

Address: Av. Bustillo, Km 11.5, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £154 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Casco Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, in one of the most beautiful spots in Patagonia, in the Lake District, and just 15 minutes away from Bariloche city, and from Cerro Catedral ski resort, El Casco Art Hotel blends with the landscape with its stylish architecture, design, and refined tranquility.Intimacy, privacy and personalized service are our main goal, and each of the 33 rooms and suites have original works of art, air-conditioning, LED TVs, WiFi, well appointed amenities, and best of all, direct vistas of the Nahuel Huapi Lake at only 40 metres away, which contributes to make your stay a total delight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Casco Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Casco Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing