We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection is possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Casco Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Casco Art Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfection is possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

One of my sons and I spent four delightful days at El Casco during the first days of July, at the beginning of the Bariloche ski season..We had a wonderful and unforgettable experience. It is difficult to find a more perfect hotel anywhere. A fascinating art collection is displayed throughout the building and gardens. The staff was extremely courteous at all times and always eager to help us in all our needs. Service was seamless. Every room features a different Argentine artist: we were given a magnificent and spacious suite, almost an apartment (the "Soldi" suite, called after the famous painter who did the Teatro Colon dome in Buenos Aires). When we arrived to our room we were greeted with a bottle of red Patagonian wine and two small plates of cheese, cold cuts and crackers. That gave us the tone of what to expect the following days. The hotel features a hot-water swimming pool that expands out to the open air terrace facing Nahuel Huapi lake, where we would rest after long and strenuous ski hours. There is also a small, well equipped health room and a sauna. In addition to the excellent breakfast fare, and being an inquisitive food lover myself, we also tried dinner at the hotel, and I must say that the menu was extremely interesting and the food exquisite. There is a chef-in-residence who really knows his profession. Just a few references to give an idea of the passion for details at El Casco: contrary to what happens in most places in Argentina (where tips are always handed out in cash), El Casco consumption slips include a line to allow for tips to be charged to your account. And (finally!) someone realized that some of us who need glasses to read do not take them to the shower, so at El Casco all bath gels, shampoo and conditioner containers have large and conspicuous lettering so no confusion is possible. No more shampooing our hair with mouthwash! We asked for bycicles and shortly after we had a pair of excellent bykes we used to pedal our way around the area. Two additional tips for art lovers if you stay at El Casco: adjacent to the dining room there is a smaller room with a very tall center table, ideal for wine tasting: take a look at the excellent paintings on the walls, from a famous Argentine painter (Bertani) who has used wine and spirit bottles as a source of inspiration for his works of art. Also, in the dining room, do not miss two extraordinary museum-quality pieces: two large English silver trays from the mid-19th. century worth taking a look at.Also, the sculpture garden is worth a visit. If you go to Bariloche to ski, note that during the ski season the hotel provides free and confortable transportation to the Catedral ski resort which we used every day. Even if I tried hard to identify a drawback at El Casco, I do not think I could do it.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and quiet, so take no special precautions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    66
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
79
188
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent four days here in the "off season". The hotel is quiet. The beautiful artwork is everywhere both inside and out. The greeting from the staff could not have been nicer.

The room is spacious and well appointed. The view from the room onto the lake and mountains beyond is as good as it can get.

You will need a taxi or your own car to go into town or out to eat.

The restaurant was quite good with a prix fix menu. The included breakfast was very good and the staff aims to please. There was a good selection of fruits, cereal, eggs, juice, etc.

This hotel will work well for a family or couple. I would stay here again if and when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
366 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were sent to this hotel when Charming Hotel could not accommodate us. The hotel is beautifully renovated, with lots of big open spaces and interesting art, but it lacks a beat. It felt like we were in an "old-age home." The guests were of all ages, but the feel of this place is of a time long past. No music was playing, the employees lacked enthusiasm and attention to the customers, the chef was terrific, the pool too small, the outside eating area lacked a welcoming presence, it was too "standoffish" for us. The room huge and comfortable to be in with a great view overlooking the bay and the backyard sculptures. But it is DEAD! The owner needs to kick it up a notch or two instead of paying homage to himself and his art gallery and his art.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent hosts, operating a class establishment. Atmosphere is tranquil; strongly recommend. Location is out of the center, so a car is essential. Access is via unpaved side roads, though well maintained; final stretch is quite steep, but nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank glennwAnnecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Heavenly...great restaurant, accomodating staff, wonderful views, comfortable rooms...what more can you want in Bariloche? Our three-night stay here was perfect (luckily accompanied by perfect weather too). Nice breakfast, great bar and bartenders, gourmet dinner. A unique experience for the eyes and the stomach!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catberg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director of Sales at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
What a pleasure to read that you had a great stay with us! Thank you very much for sharing your experience. it is very encouraging for our team to receive positive feedback like yours. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Bariloche again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

El Casco is unique and the art is stunning. The rooms are lovely with great views over the lake from every room. The pool is a great place to relax and breakfast is very good. It was such a shame that the reception staff are not very friendly or welcoming and the town of Bariloche itself is a bit touristy in our opinion. The surrounding area is very beautiful so it is worth a visit but we would recommend hiring a car so you can get out to see it. If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are a few local restaurants but they are very average and the road outside is quite dangerous to walk along at night because there is no pavement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director of Sales at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your taking the time to provide your comments which are always welcome and taken under strong consideration. We have taken special attention to the one pointing out our front of the house staff and have addressed this with that area directly because it is most important for us to assure that every guest finds our staff friendly and helpful. It is very pleasant to know that the overall experience was satisfying and that you enjoyed our facilities.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We absolutely loved the setting of this hotel. It was small and luxurious and very comfortable. Great care has been taken to ensure all our needs were catered for in the rooms, excellent hair dryers, lovely robes and slippers and the most magnificent view from the window which was breathtaking. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant and the staff were very pleasant. Unfortunately the front of house staff service did not match the standard of the hotel, although very pleasant. We had booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel which failed to arrive, resulting in us arriving an hour later at the hotel, the staff were not very knowledgable and did not have enough information about local excursions, we managed to book a private boat trip after 3 attempts with the staff finally luckily managing to find someone who knew how to do this, unfortunately the lunch we ordered from the hotel failed to take into account dietary requirements we had asked for, resulting In us not being able to eat much of it, in fairness they did not charge us for this. I would recommend the hotel but would suggest research beforehand regarding excursions, I would definitely return and feel that it's probably one of the best hotels in Bariloche.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms had spectacular views, just check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesley950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElCascoArtHotel, Director of Sales at El Casco Art Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our gastronomy and that you appreciate our house architecture and style decoration, as well as the room amenities and the view of the lake.
The most important for us is to be oriented in the best possible way, so I can assure we have investigated the inconvenieces you mention in order to make sure such incidents do not happen again in the future. Our aim is to pleasure our hosts and so, your comments and suggestions are valuable to us because they highlight opportunities to improve the quality of our services.
Greetings from Bariloche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.2 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
6.3 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
5.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#18 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Casco Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Casco Art Hotel

Property: El Casco Art Hotel
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 11,5 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#10 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — El Casco Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, in one of the most beautiful spots in Patagonia, in the Lake District, and just 15 minutes away from Bariloche city, and from Cerro Catedral ski resort, El Casco Art Hotel blends with the landscape with its stylish architecture, design, and refined tranquility.Intimacy, privacy and personalized service are our main goal, and each of the 33 rooms and suites have original works of art, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art plasma TVs, DVD & sound equipment, WiFi internet connection, Frette sheets (Italy), well appointed amenities, and best of all, direct vistas of the Nahuel Huapi Lake at only 40 metres away, which contributes to make your stay a total delight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Casco Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Casco Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing