We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Below 41 is a pretty great hostel. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are big enough and provided with lockers, the facilities are clean, the kitchen well equipped (they even have spices!) and they serve home made yoghurt for breakfast. Great place to meet other travelers!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariekevdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We recieved a warm welcome at 41 Below and enjoyed our 4 night stay. The hostel was extremely clean and there was a friendly and sociable environment. Good breakfast, with lots of unsual jams etc. Bariloche in general won our hearts so to be honest we would have been happy anywhere but Hostel 41 Below made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My stay at 41 below was wonderful! The hostel was kept really clean, the bunks were comfortable, and the kitchen was fantastic. Met lots of really interesting travelers from all over the world. I have to say the best thing about the hostel is the staff. A super great guy named Leo manages the place, he was really helpful with getting to know the sights around Bariloche, with the buses, and he even got us a discount on some tours. Leo and the staff he hires to work at 41 below are what give the place its friendly, realxed atmosphere that made my trip to Bariloche incredible!

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm room with my travel companion and 4 other travelers. The room was quiet at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

To run a great hostel you need to be there. If you let some twenty year old on a gap year (that you're allowing a free bed in return for cleaning your toilets) run reception, you're doomed. If you let them decide the music that plays on the house sound system, you might as well let the bank know you're off to Pakistan.

Leonardo is there, practically always. He must get sick to death of answering the same questions, telling door steppers he's full, serving breakfast, drying the dishes the lazy have left and maybe even sick of his own (very well selected) house music.

What he achieves though, quite effortlessly it would seem to us dumb backpackers, is a hostel that feels like home. Now there's an overused description you often find on the hostel booking websites, evidently written by people who must have had an unfortunately turbulent home life. But when I left 41 Below, and Leonardo embraced me on the steps as stumped off to the bus station, I felt genuinely sad. That doesn't happen often, as any seasoned traveller will qualify.

So here's to Leonardo, his dreadlocks, his charm and his time and effort and commitment 24/7. If more hostels were run by Leonardo, the words 'it's really homely' might become more meaningful and less used by those normally used to sleeping in a box under a bridge.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The whole hostel (rooms, bathrooms, showers, common area, kitchen) is incredibly clean so you can relax and enjoy the stay without worrying about the usual hostel grime.

Leo and all the staff are very friendly and helpful, they will call and make inquiries or reservations for you and give advice on things to do, walking routes, the best ice cream shop etc. You can even borrow a bus card to get around. They have thought of it all!

The common area is large with a big dining table and couches and its difficult NOT to meet people. Although there is a TV it's rarely on because people are more interested in socialising, another sign of a happy hostel atmosphere.

Breakfast is good (ie not just bread and jam like many places). The kitchen is well ordered and care is obviously taken to keep an eye on order and cleanliness in there, so that it's easy for everyone to use.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over Xmas and loved it. Silka and Leonardo were great hosts. We arrived Xmas eve and were told there was a Xmas dinner that night, and we had been included in that if we'd like to - it was great. Really delicious food and great way to mingle and meet everyone else. We also did a Xmas secret Santa which was lots of fun.

The communal atmosphere at 41Below is the best we've come across, the big dining table for meals and the couches and bean bags really lends itself to chatting and making friends with the other guests.

The hostel was really clean, super comfy beds and great value.

Silka recommended a great Steakhouse for Xmas night - it was amazing! The best meal in Argentina so far. Leonardo also gave us some great tips for hiking - a little off the beaten track away from the crowds of people!

These guys are great! Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneyeartravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We didn't even stay in this hostel as they were fully booked on the afternoon that we arrived, but Leonardo was still incredibly helpful in our mission to find some bikes for a big trip we wanted to make. He made various phone calls, offered us ice cold water and tea while we waited for his friend to ring back and was generally just really really helpful. We were really ad they were fully booked as Leonardo really knew how to look after guests.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#5 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#2 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#10 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
342 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fortaleza Hostel
Fortaleza Hostel
#14 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#11 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 259 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £17 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel 41 Below reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing