We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything about this hostel is brilliant - except for the size of the kitchen”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, two in an AWESOME double (it even had a cupboard), and one in a 4 bed dorm. The location is excellent, just off the main drag through town and very close to bus stops and shops. The communal area downstairs is very, very cosy and excellent for meeting people. Breakfast is served at a long dining table. The wifi is good. The staff go out of their way to be helpful - from giving advice about activities and transport to making restaurant reservations, and they are always keen to ask how your day was. Sylvia in particular was lovely, extremely helpful and at least tri-lingual. My only gripe, and there's very little they can do about this, is the kitchen is very small and gets very crowded. But I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in March. I wish I could have stayed longer, but time didn't allow. I really enjoyed my time here. The staff are helpful (thanks Leo!), the people who stay there are really friendly, it's easy to make new friends, the breakfast is great (home made bread & jam). It's close to supermarkets and some good bars too. Rooms are big with big lockers, bathrooms are clean, though there's not alot of room to hang your clothes when you take a shower. The kitchen is small and can get crowded if everyone wants to cook at the same time. Staff have good recommendations for restaurants as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 for 2 nights and enjoyed my stay - it was easy, friendly, clean. The breakfast was decent - typical Argentine fare. When I returned to Bariloche 2 weeks later this place was booked and I had to choose an alternative, but Hostel 41 Below would have been my #1 choice, hands down. (I actually stayed at 3 hostels in Bariloche and this was the best)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfunkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Below 41 is a pretty great hostel. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are big enough and provided with lockers, the facilities are clean, the kitchen well equipped (they even have spices!) and they serve home made yoghurt for breakfast. Great place to meet other travelers!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariekevdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We recieved a warm welcome at 41 Below and enjoyed our 4 night stay. The hostel was extremely clean and there was a friendly and sociable environment. Good breakfast, with lots of unsual jams etc. Bariloche in general won our hearts so to be honest we would have been happy anywhere but Hostel 41 Below made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My stay at 41 below was wonderful! The hostel was kept really clean, the bunks were comfortable, and the kitchen was fantastic. Met lots of really interesting travelers from all over the world. I have to say the best thing about the hostel is the staff. A super great guy named Leo manages the place, he was really helpful with getting to know the sights around Bariloche, with the buses, and he even got us a discount on some tours. Leo and the staff he hires to work at 41 below are what give the place its friendly, realxed atmosphere that made my trip to Bariloche incredible!

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm room with my travel companion and 4 other travelers. The room was quiet at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

To run a great hostel you need to be there. If you let some twenty year old on a gap year (that you're allowing a free bed in return for cleaning your toilets) run reception, you're doomed. If you let them decide the music that plays on the house sound system, you might as well let the bank know you're off to Pakistan.

Leonardo is there, practically always. He must get sick to death of answering the same questions, telling door steppers he's full, serving breakfast, drying the dishes the lazy have left and maybe even sick of his own (very well selected) house music.

What he achieves though, quite effortlessly it would seem to us dumb backpackers, is a hostel that feels like home. Now there's an overused description you often find on the hostel booking websites, evidently written by people who must have had an unfortunately turbulent home life. But when I left 41 Below, and Leonardo embraced me on the steps as stumped off to the bus station, I felt genuinely sad. That doesn't happen often, as any seasoned traveller will qualify.

So here's to Leonardo, his dreadlocks, his charm and his time and effort and commitment 24/7. If more hostels were run by Leonardo, the words 'it's really homely' might become more meaningful and less used by those normally used to sleeping in a box under a bridge.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 257 in San Carlos de Bariloche
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#4 of 257 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#11 of 257 in San Carlos de Bariloche
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 257 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel 41 Below reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing