We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good beds and nice breakfast ;)”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paraty, RJ
1 review
“good beds and nice breakfast ;)”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

one of the best and most enjoyable places we have ever been to! the atmosphere in the hostel is great, due to the facilities everybody is in contact with everybody, so you feel like a small family. the staff is great and very helpful! whether it's full day tours, hiking advices, bus tickets or anything else, they can probably help you. mostly you will enjoy the short "¿todo bien?" from Leo when you come down for breakfast ;) by the way, breakfast includes homemade yoghurt!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markandeya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    48
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
52
100
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Arrived with no booking and was given a warm welcome. The hostal has a cosy atmosphere with 2 floors for mixed dorms, dbl rooms and bath and shower facilities with good showers.
Downstairs has a very clean and tidy kitchen, yet somewhat small but works well. There is a large table in the main area for eating and there is also a tv here.
Wifi is stronger downstairs.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HRHEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, two in an AWESOME double (it even had a cupboard), and one in a 4 bed dorm. The location is excellent, just off the main drag through town and very close to bus stops and shops. The communal area downstairs is very, very cosy and excellent for meeting people. Breakfast is served at a long dining table. The wifi is good. The staff go out of their way to be helpful - from giving advice about activities and transport to making restaurant reservations, and they are always keen to ask how your day was. Sylvia in particular was lovely, extremely helpful and at least tri-lingual. My only gripe, and there's very little they can do about this, is the kitchen is very small and gets very crowded. But I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in March. I wish I could have stayed longer, but time didn't allow. I really enjoyed my time here. The staff are helpful (thanks Leo!), the people who stay there are really friendly, it's easy to make new friends, the breakfast is great (home made bread & jam). It's close to supermarkets and some good bars too. Rooms are big with big lockers, bathrooms are clean, though there's not alot of room to hang your clothes when you take a shower. The kitchen is small and can get crowded if everyone wants to cook at the same time. Staff have good recommendations for restaurants as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed here in April 2012 for 2 nights and enjoyed my stay - it was easy, friendly, clean. The breakfast was decent - typical Argentine fare. When I returned to Bariloche 2 weeks later this place was booked and I had to choose an alternative, but Hostel 41 Below would have been my #1 choice, hands down. (I actually stayed at 3 hostels in Bariloche and this was the best)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfunkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Below 41 is a pretty great hostel. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are big enough and provided with lockers, the facilities are clean, the kitchen well equipped (they even have spices!) and they serve home made yoghurt for breakfast. Great place to meet other travelers!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariekevdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochabamba, Bolivia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We recieved a warm welcome at 41 Below and enjoyed our 4 night stay. The hostel was extremely clean and there was a friendly and sociable environment. Good breakfast, with lots of unsual jams etc. Bariloche in general won our hearts so to be honest we would have been happy anywhere but Hostel 41 Below made the stay even better.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#12 of 253 in San Carlos de Bariloche
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#4 of 253 in San Carlos de Bariloche
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Property: Hostel 41 Below
Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 253 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel 41 Below reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing