We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel so far in Argentina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel so far in Argentina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just loved our stay in this hostel!
Leo welcomed us on our early arrival with a nice cup of coffee and some advice where we could go hiking, bycicling,... Our room was very clean and cosy. The kitchen was well organised, the shared bathroom were clean and practical.
The common room was really inviting to stay there after tiring hikes and we enjoyed every morning the breakfast with fresh croissants and bread accompanied with jam, cereals, dulce de leche.
The staff were uberfriendly! :-)

We would highly recommend to stay at this hostel when you're in Bariloche!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saritatravelsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    42
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
49
86
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at the Hostel for a few days and really enjoyed it a lot!
The staff was friendly and really helpfull with tours and recomendations.
Rooms are nice and clean and in generall the atmosphere is amazing.
When we where there, there where mostly long time travelers and almost no "tourists" so it was interesting sharing all the traveling stories.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjin-san001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The staff here were very good, really accommodating and friendly. The hostel has a very relaxed feel about it and the kitchen is super organised! Breakfast is lovely with homemade bread, croissants and yoghurt and it feels like you're at home rather than in a hostel. Good location, generally hot showers and the comfiest beds we've slept in in almost 5 weeks. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr27387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I've been travelling for two months already and this hostel is so far the best that I have stayed at. The cosines of this place just makes you want to stay in,which made me feel a bit guilty as the outside world in Bariloche has so much to offer. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly: Stefan took us on a long day trip and shared some of his incredible stories and Leonardo showed me some cooking tips.
The kitchen is very well equipped and the place is clean. Breakfast is served individually around big table, it's easy to meet fellow travellers and it feels just like at home.
I will definitely recommend it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Atitlana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Once I entered this hostel, I got a very warm welcome by the staff. I immediately liked the place, where I booked for 4 nights. The atmosphere was very relaxed, and there was lot's of usefull information present in the living room to plan a nice day trip or activity in the surroundings. Also, the central location of the hostel makes it an ideal basepoint for skiing in the nearby 'Cathedral' ski-resort. You just take a bus that stops 200m from the hostel! I loved the film-nights with popcorn and the good conversations with fellow-travelers. The beds in the dorms were comfortable, the kitchen well-equiped, showers warm and clean.. In short, it was a perfect place to stay in San Carlos de Bariloche!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a great hostel! One of the best i've ever stayed in.

The common area is a fantastic, comfy place to easily meet other people, and the kitchen is well equipped. The staff are great and go the extra mile to help you out with questions and excursion planning. They also rent out ski gear which makes going skiing a breeze.

The double room is perfect and had a nice view of the town and lake through a huge window. It was very warm (with a gas heater) and wasn't noisy at all. The location is just a couple of blocks from everything you need in the town centre.

Can't recommend this place highly enough! Wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LK12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Spent 6 nights at 41 below on my ski trip to Bariloche.
Comfy place, chill, neat and clean with people from all over the globe. The homemade breakfast is yummy and the location near the city center is excellent! (2 or 3 blocks to the bus stop to Cerro Catedral, restaurants, supermarkets, etc).

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#19 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#23 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#24 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#3 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Property: Hostel 41 Below
Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 251 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing