We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily one of the best in SA for our 3 months...”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We won't lie: we came here because we heard it was Kiwi-owned so, as fellow Kiwis, we were happy to support the troops :) But we were not disappointed - even though the said Kiwis were actually away at the time.

Lovely hostel, warm (literally), cosy atmosphere with plenty of socialising with fellow travellers. Completely adequate rooms - very warm in the cold remains of winter - and lovely hot showers. Best thing though: the breakfast. Homemade bread, pastries, yoghurt and jams, all WITHOUT the overbearing sweetness that characterises breakfast on this continent. Actual, proper yoghurt. What a treat. And amaze coffee too. Thanks for a great time, we can't but not recommend you to all travellers coming to this beautiful, lakeside town!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just loved our stay in this hostel!
Leo welcomed us on our early arrival with a nice cup of coffee and some advice where we could go hiking, bycicling,... Our room was very clean and cosy. The kitchen was well organised, the shared bathroom were clean and practical.
The common room was really inviting to stay there after tiring hikes and we enjoyed every morning the breakfast with fresh croissants and bread accompanied with jam, cereals, dulce de leche.
The staff were uberfriendly! :-)

We would highly recommend to stay at this hostel when you're in Bariloche!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saritatravelsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at the Hostel for a few days and really enjoyed it a lot!
The staff was friendly and really helpfull with tours and recomendations.
Rooms are nice and clean and in generall the atmosphere is amazing.
When we where there, there where mostly long time travelers and almost no "tourists" so it was interesting sharing all the traveling stories.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjin-san001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The staff here were very good, really accommodating and friendly. The hostel has a very relaxed feel about it and the kitchen is super organised! Breakfast is lovely with homemade bread, croissants and yoghurt and it feels like you're at home rather than in a hostel. Good location, generally hot showers and the comfiest beds we've slept in in almost 5 weeks. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr27387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've been travelling for two months already and this hostel is so far the best that I have stayed at. The cosines of this place just makes you want to stay in,which made me feel a bit guilty as the outside world in Bariloche has so much to offer. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly: Stefan took us on a long day trip and shared some of his incredible stories and Leonardo showed me some cooking tips.
The kitchen is very well equipped and the place is clean. Breakfast is served individually around big table, it's easy to meet fellow travellers and it feels just like at home.
I will definitely recommend it!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Atitlana7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Once I entered this hostel, I got a very warm welcome by the staff. I immediately liked the place, where I booked for 4 nights. The atmosphere was very relaxed, and there was lot's of usefull information present in the living room to plan a nice day trip or activity in the surroundings. Also, the central location of the hostel makes it an ideal basepoint for skiing in the nearby 'Cathedral' ski-resort. You just take a bus that stops 200m from the hostel! I loved the film-nights with popcorn and the good conversations with fellow-travelers. The beds in the dorms were comfortable, the kitchen well-equiped, showers warm and clean.. In short, it was a perfect place to stay in San Carlos de Bariloche!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a great hostel! One of the best i've ever stayed in.

The common area is a fantastic, comfy place to easily meet other people, and the kitchen is well equipped. The staff are great and go the extra mile to help you out with questions and excursion planning. They also rent out ski gear which makes going skiing a breeze.

The double room is perfect and had a nice view of the town and lake through a huge window. It was very warm (with a gas heater) and wasn't noisy at all. The location is just a couple of blocks from everything you need in the town centre.

Can't recommend this place highly enough! Wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LK12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#5 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#11 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#10 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
272 reviews
4.3 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#20 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 256 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £14 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel 41 Below reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing