We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel so far!”
Review of Hostel 41 Below

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 41 Below
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What I think is most unique about this hostel, besides from the handmade breads and jams for breakfast and its extreme cleanliness, is the overall sense of community that the hostel seems to bring forth . For a couple of reasons the hostel encourages this kind of environment--for one, the hostel is intimate with a cozy communal area and one big communal where I´ve had a lot of great conversations with people from all over the world over shared wine and food. Another reason is the plethora of maps and travel books that make it really easy to share travel experiences and/or trecking routes around Bariloche and beyond. There is a completely full shelf of travel books, ones about Patagonia, Argentina, South America and even nearby countries like Chile. Plus, they are in all different types of languages. And, there must be a hundred maps to look at, which I find really helpful and important for a hostel to have, especially in a place where most people visit to hike around. It´s really ideal!
And, I want to add, there is an amazing book exchange!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrienne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

A great hostel overall. Perfect location in Bariloche, close to everything a tourist needs. Leo was extremely helpful and knew about all the activities in the surrounding area. Plus his homemade bread for breakfast was delicious. The common area is welcoming and inviting and found it was very easy to meet people. Plus very comfy beds. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank redalgae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Very well located, close to the centre of town. Leonordo and the other stuff are really helpful and super friendly. Beds are comfy, hostel is clean. Breakfast is awesome, Leonardo's homemade bread every morning. Kitchen well equiped. Only downfall is the shower pressure although water is lovely and warm. Overall I would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank patagoniapanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms, bathrooms and common rooms were all very clean and there is a great common room where you can meet other travelers. Definitely recommend.

Staff were also very knowledgeable and helpful with sorting day trips and recommending hikes and trips to do.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liaaaaaammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It's going to be hard to keep this review short as I have great memories of this place. I visited from Wyoming (USA), I had 4 nights booked in November 2013 and ended up adding one more night (lucky there was one bed left) because I met some fantastic people here and didn't want to leave (and had it not been for work I would have stayed even longer). I arrived with two other friends from Texas and left with many more from all over the world. The hostel design, with its nice kitchen and welcoming common area, is a great setting for meeting fellow travelers. The first impression was great: flowers by the entrance, lots of light, clean and welcoming staff. Leonardo, at the reception, did everything he could to help us out in organizing excursions and telling us things to see and do. He also bakes really good fresh bread every night for next morning's breakfast. The two french girls also working in the hostel as helpers were very friendly too. The rooms were clean and quiet, bathroom clean if perhaps a tiny small. Continental breakfast is nice with fresh croissants and Leo's awesome bread.
The location is hard to beat, just one block from the main avenue.
So, in a few words, this is what I think of this hostel: Warm, Welcoming, Clean, Cozy, Friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommending it to friends. I miss this place already!

Room Tip: If you don't like light in the morning room #5 stays pretty dark, whereas room #1 offers a bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridewyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

First of all, you have this big commun room, very confortable. You feel good to meet people and share good moments. The hostel i very clean, the breakfast very good and pleasant with bread and jam home-made. Leo from the staff will help you for any information and knowing where to go for walking and hiking in beautiful areas around Bariloche. And of course, you are in the center of the city with everything you need just 2 minutes walking :-) Enjoy !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stouffstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in June 2013 for 10 days, sorry for the late post had a great time and experience in the hostel & Bariloche. I arrived on a wet & cold day, got a 5 star welcome, cup of coffee & biscuit! Leonardo the manger was very helpful & welcoming, gave great tips & information. Helped with hiring bikes & renting cars. The breakfast was lovely look froward to getting up each morning to it, fresh croissants & homemade brown bread!! The kitchen facilities are great, the hostel is cosy great open plan so very social easy to meet people. met some very nice people there. The dorms are comfy & clean, showers are great really warm great after a day on the snow, or off hiking. Overall the hostel is very clean, couldn't say a bad word about my stay. Another plus is it is a stones throw from the Konabar, great for craft beers, and music. if in Bariloche stay there you won't be disappointed, hope all is well in the hostel. Shane

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dromid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#5 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#3 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
326 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fortaleza Hostel
Fortaleza Hostel
#14 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#8 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#12 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bariloche Hostel
Bariloche Hostel
#41 of 261 in San Carlos de Bariloche
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 41 Below? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 41 Below

Address: Juramento 94, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 261 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: £16 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel 41 Below. A New Zealander run hostel located in a quiet street in the heart of Bariloche, just 2 blocks from the center of town and the Nahuel Huapi Lake. Run by travellers, for travellers - we know it's the little things that make a difference : comfortable furniture to chill out on, a great music collection, DVDs, free Wi-Fi, thick comfy mattresses, fully equipped kitchen, storage lockers in every room, free tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel 41 Below reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing