We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome horses friendly staff great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Mountain Trail Rides

High Mountain Trail Rides
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: High Mountain Trail Rides is permitted by the Coconino National Forest to utilize over 300 miles of beautiful tall pine trails for riders of all ages and abilities. Weather you are a first time rider or been on a horse all your life, our experienced and professional wranglers will make sure you and your guests have a safe fun experience! So ride with us for an hour or two or all day and we guarantee you'll have a good time!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Camp Verde, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome horses friendly staff great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We took the 2 hour Lake View trail ride this last weekend. Can I just say this ride was one of the best horseback rides we have been on in a long time. The views of the lake were beautiful and our guide Jonny was very friendly and knew the area well.
We stumbled across this place on the Internet and I am sure glad we did. It was a little further to get to than some of the other trail riding places in Flagstaff but well worth the extra 15 minute drive for the views and wildlife we saw.
We had a great time and will definitely be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMTRAz, Front Office Manager at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
So happy to hear you had a good time! I hope you come see us again soon! We appreciate the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    4
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic riding, lovely scenery great guide !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were staying in flagstaff just before going back home to England after a 3 week holiday in America. Me and my 14 year old daughter went on one of their 2 hour trial rides- and it was a truly fantastic end to the holiday !!! we were intermediate riders and the horses were really well behaved much better than the ones in England. The guide was really friendly and talkative- telling us about the area and wildlife. Also we ride differently in England we weren't sure about riding western style but the guide reassured us and we learnt very quickly. The scenery was great and we both throughly enjoyed the ride.

The only downfall was that as intermediate riders we would of liked to do some trotting or cantering at some points but we didn't. Though the guide did explain why and it didn't effect the enjoyment we got out of it. Overall I fantastic ride I highly recommened it !!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMTRAz, Owner at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you had a good time riding with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“One word... AWESOME, bucket list checked!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Thanks to Colleen, Eddie, Nikki, and Sam (Son-Sam), along with Buckshot, Billy, Domingo, and Rambo! Our ride was a dream come true, we'll be back for sure. Thanks to you all!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMTRAz, Front Office Manager at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
Thank you for the review! We are happy to hear you had a good time, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Trail Ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our family of 4 rode with Eddie last week. We had a fabulous time! King, Shiloh, Blue and Zane were just perfect on the trails. Our son was very eager to find a "horny toad" on our Grand Canyon trip . . . he spotted a small one sitting on a rock along the trail as we rode. Eddie was so kind to get a picture of it for our son, as well as take other pictures of us. Colleen in the office was very pleasant and helpful, too. Thank you "High Mountain Trail Rides" for an experience we will never forget!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pianostitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMTRAz, Owner at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you very much! We are glad you had a good time riding with us and hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My Wife and I celebrated out 6th Anniversary by taking a 1 hour Horse Ride with High Mountain Trail Rides.
Our Cowgirl (we forgot her name - we are sorry) was very knowledgeable and we had a great experience.
We are planning on making this a yearly experience and maybe even working it in to our routine on a more regular basis.
The horses were well behaved and very easy to handle. I have never ridden a horse and Zane was very attentive to my direction. My wife who has loads of experience fell in love with her horse King.
Thank You for making this an excellent Anniversary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank redette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMTRAz, Front Office Manager at High Mountain Trail Rides, responded to this review, 4 December 2016
Thank you for the review! We hope to see you guys again soon! We are happy that you want to visit us more and make our rides a yearly experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Mountain Trail Rides also viewed

 

Been to High Mountain Trail Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing