We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant. Good food. Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Posta

La Posta
Ranked #24 of 119 Restaurants in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open from the 15th October to Easter Sunday inclusive. Get ready to please with our regional dishes. Our specialty is "Palo" Lamb.
Geneva
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best restaurant. Good food. Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Best restaurant in El Calafate.. Reservations recommended. Good food & excellent service. Location near main street in front of Casino. Despite elegant environment, it is quite unformal atmosphere. Great Marbec vine by the glass. Clients are mostly tourists from Hotel Los Alomos.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sushi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Holland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This place serves really good food! And though its not the cheapest, it is quite affordable. The very professional staff also find it normal if you wish to share anything. We liked the food so much, we came back again. And so did some other French visitors and you know that says something. Some tips: the empanadas, tasty and crusty, bife de chorizo (best I ever had in Argentina) and amazing gnocchi's. O and the vulcan dessert made of 3 different types of chocolate. The only thing I wouldnt recommend is the grilled chicken. Finally, dont be put off by the classy environment, guests dress quite casual.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indegloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the Los Alamost due to a plane lay over and were fortunate to have 4 meals at this restaurant and they did not dissapoint. Hotel restaurants can be good and bad and this was is great. The pasta, steak and breakfest were all fantastic. Not a bad choice in El Calafate. I recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best restorant in Calafate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have just finished our trip in Calafate, during our stay we ate twice in La Posta, The food and the service are simply excellent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monicaVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper dinning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

It's great to enjoy such a beautiful dinning experience in Calafayte. The overall quality of the meal was very good, the staffs were professional (but slightly aloof), and the environment was very nice. If you fancy a beautiful dinner with a glass of wine, here's the place to go to.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Frecklecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Posta also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to La Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing