We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is much better available nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique
Ranked #58 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There is much better available nearby”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is right on the edge of town, in fact there is nothing further away from town.

The rooms are average, however don't contain a mini bar, or even a fridge (despite the warning not to drink water from the tap). The hotel seems deserted and this is peak season.

Wifi doesn't work in the rooms, and everything seems sparce in a empty kind of way.

There was no heating or cooling of any kind in the rooms, which mean we over heated as the single window only opened a inch.

Despite eating breakfast early half of the "available" items were not available, such as yogurt, and what was there was poor, both in quality and choice.

Many other options are available at similar price and I would definitely use these instead.

Further complications with our booking (which we had never experienced with a Expedia booking ever before) means we were charged more than the quoted amount as it wasn't a pre pay.

Would definitely not return, nor advise others too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ndph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    33
    31
    12
    11
See reviews for
28
48
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzliya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel was very confortable with nice and clean rooms excellent bathrooms. However, the hotel is very far from the city (5km) and we were disappointed about that. There is no bus or shuttle but on taxis that cost you a lot on top of the room price (every trip to the city is cost you a round trip 14-20 US $). The hotel is not at all a boutique hotel as its design and comfort are very standard. In summary if you come to El Calafate do not stay in this hotel far away from this beautiful town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Calafate hotels

USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel is not very close to the town. We stayed for 1 night here on the tail end of our trip and fortunately had the pleasure of 4 nights in a different hotel in Calafate on the beginning of our vacation. It is located in the older part of the city (far from the main drag) They did not have a shuttle and we tried to walk into the city on our first day and it took about 30 minutes down a dirt road that was covered in debris. I believe there is a garbage dump of some sort in between this hotel and the city center because there were seagulls hovering over this one area and I think this is the cause of the garbage bags attached to fence-posts everywhere. Rooms were average, breakfast was good. Staff was nice. Definitely better options out there

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestofyouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Terraza Coirones is almost the last building of El Calafate. It's not near the city center, but a taxi brings you for 25 pesos to the main street. It looks like an old hotel (not certain it is) and the rooms are average.
We didn't had a room with lake view, so we were not lucky. Try if you get one of those.
The breakfast is normal and not spectaculair. The staff is very nice and is willing to help you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASandbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We visited this hotel at the end of the off-season. The rooms were clean and nice. The furniture and TV were modest, but we weren't there to watch TV or admire a fancy armoire. The bathroom had new tile, toilet, sink, etc. --very nice. The mattresses and linens were very good. Our room had a lake view. The hotel is a few hundred feet from the shore and has a nice view. We rented a car and so it was easy to get to and from town, but it could be a hassle without your own transportation. We were picked up at the hotel for all excursions, so that wasn't a problem. It could become a problem when you get back from an all-day outing and then want to go to dinner. The served a continental breakfast each morning that was great. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return there again.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank twin_ommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lier, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights, then went by bus to El Chalten and returned for 1 night. It's a small but very cozy hotel. We especially apreciated the extremely friendly and helping staff. They have a solution for every question you have and always on a very friendly manner. It's very quietly located near Lago Argentino. It takes about 15 minutes by taxi to go to the center of El Calafate where the shops and restaurants are (you need a few taxirides to get along). There are no shops are restaurants at walking distance from the hotel. The rooms were very nice and clean. Fine spot to stay for a few days to visit the glaciers in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.4 mi away
Hosteria Meulen
Hosteria Meulen
#44 of 70 in El Calafate
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
991 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#41 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kalenshen Hotel - Cerro Calafate
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
1,249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique

Property: Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique
Address: Calle 92 No 65, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing