We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight in Argentina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 35 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Highlight in Argentina”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Recommended by friends , we booked a full day and an overnight in Estancia Cristina, and we enjoyed evere minute !.
We were lucky: we made our fossil hiking trip with the most beautiful weather you can imagine.
More than 6 hours of walking in different surroundings , guided by a lovely , well informed and good english speaking guide : we will never forget.
Also the horseback riding trip was a real memorable experience .
The hospitality of the staff in the hotel was excellent.
We regretted that we booked only one night in this most relaxing place in a splendid environment

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annekatrien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comment! We really apreciate you tell us about your staying in our Lodge. Regards, staff Estancia Cristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
149
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just got back from a three week trip to Argentina and our two days and overnight stay at Estancia Cristina was the highlight. We went horseback riding the first day and did a day long hike the second day. Both with guides. The scenery was amazing!! The service, food and accommodations at the lodge were all excellent. We are so glad we didn't try to do Cristina as day-trippers -- it deserves an overnight stay. As overnight guests we were treated very special. Thank you!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ImaOB O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your comment! We are glad we had you as our guests! Whish to see you soon! Regards, staff Estancia Cristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Estancia Cristina is a place and an experience you will never forget nor regret. It was the most memorable and magical place we stayed. We were there for two nights and three days and from the moment we got on the boat at El Calafate to the moment we left Estancia Cristina, we experienced the magic of the place and the people. The estancia is unique; its location, history and team of people working there are passionate about the place and the landscape and invite you in with a warmth and friendliness. The guides and the treks we went on will stay with us forever. If you are in Patagonia this will be worth every penny and more

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Tahnk you so much Jo B for your comment! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Lodge. Best regards, staff Estancia Cristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Estancia Cristina offers a day trip but to get the full effect an overnight stay is definitely worth it. The setting, the amenities, the scenery and the staff make this a great place to enjoy nature and relax. The horse back riding, the hike to see the glacier, the fossils and the soaring condors are experiences that are special. We got to spend just one night and the opportunity to close ones eyes with all the sights and sounds playing over and sinking into memories was . . . . memorable. Walking out in the morning with the sun slowly coming up behind the tall mountains to the east is also inspiring.
The staff are very courteous and considerate.

Room Tip: Every one of the rooms is good - there are just 12 rooms I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vedicseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your opinion!!! We appreciate you share with us your experience at Estancia Cristina Lodge! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We visited in late October. We had a wonderful stay.

What we liked:

The rooms were comfortable with great views.
The meals were very good with attentive service.
The reception staff was helpful, accommodating and informative.
Hiking was great. We did get lost once going to the waterfall but ultimately found our way. Guided hikes were great and the guides informative. We especially recommend taking the Fossil Trail...great view of Upsala Glacier and the return hike through the valley is a cross between the Grand Canyon and Zion parks in the US but more modest.

What we didn't like: nothing really...the place is beautiful and rugged.

Cautions: It is almost always windy. Wear a knit cap...every other hat will blow away. Also, there is a risk that the ferry will not run if it is too windy. Make sure you have some flexibility in your schedule in case you are forced to stay an extra day or arrival is put off a day. We were lucky. On our departure day the regular boat was not allowed out. Fortunately the heavier ferry was available and docked at Estancia Cristina. If it was not there we would have spent an extra day and possibly missed our flight back to Buenos Aires.

Estancia Cristina is outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank goadad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your opinion and recommendations. We know that they will be useful for future guests! We are happy for your staying at Estancia Cristina! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Estancia Cristina for three nights in late October during the final leg of our honeymoon trip to Argentina. We had debated staying there because it was a bit pricier than we intended, but it was worth every penny! It was most definitely the highlight of our honeymoon. The scenery alone is worth a visit to the estancia, but staying there, especially for a few nights, is an unforgettable experience. There is something magical about staying in such a quiet, beautiful, and peaceful place, and then the excursions planned by the hotel make the stay an overall incredible experience. We enjoyed the 12 km hike to see the glacier and the fossils canyon, as well as the horseback trek with Augustin, a gaucho who has lived there for 9 years and knows the area very well. The food was also great! I'm a vegetarian, and the staff prepared great meals for me, and we both loved the wine selection. Even if staying there is a stretch to your budget, it is worth a stay at Estancia Cristina! You will not forget it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eleanor o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at Estancia Cristina. We hope to see you soon! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Estancia Cristina Lodge was one of the best parts about our trip to Patagonia. We only stayed one night and I would highly recommend staying 2-3 nights if not longer if you have the time. We were there the 3rd week of October and were one of a few couples staying at ECL. Sydney warmly welcomed us and made great recommendations on walks and tours. Walter was our 4x4 guide and was one of the best guides we've ever had - his enthusiasm for what he does and where he gets to do it is inspiring. The views from our bedroom window were astounding. The service and food were fantastic. Take the time to walk the trails. We loved it there and want to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LMY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your comment! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying at our exclusive Lodge! Hope to see you soon! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
37.3 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
45.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,117 reviews
46.2 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.1 mi away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
346 reviews
46.6 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
1,242 reviews
45.1 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Property: Estancia Cristina Lodge
Address: Av. Libertador 1037 | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Cristina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Lake Argentino Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge; it count with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins and exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier. An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the Estancia is by boat; the full board Lodge program offer exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of activities to enjoy of this wonderful region. There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing