We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seemed most quintessential Patagonia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 38 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seemed most quintessential Patagonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights. Remote, simple, magical, cosy bar with free beer. Fun horseback riding through rivers, hike through fossil canyon, good plentiful food. Highly recommended, especially if you stay overnight.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your staying at the Lodge!
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
148
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent location,a high point in Patagonia, both for historical and for the wonders of the region. Accomodations are very good and hospitality is great. Very well preapred guides and good services. It is worth spending the night and going for the trekking on the second day: a wonderful view of the Upsala glaciar and a walk through a magnificent canyon, lakes and river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much for you review! We are very glad to know that you enjoyed the place and the activities.
Hope to see you soon!
Regards, staff Estancia Cristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

An absolute must when visiting Patagonia. While you can visit for a day trip, staying one night and experiencing in effect 2 full days of awe inspiring surroundings is the better way to go. The fossil canyon walk is unforgettable as is the hike to the waterfall. While the accomodations are not plush, they are more than adequate and spotlessly clean. Entire staff is welcoming and efficient and the food is quite good given the location. All in all, it was perhaps the two most memorable days of our entire 2 week visit to Argentina.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and views are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Seasonedpro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are as happy as you are for being part of Estancia Cristina! Regards to the all staff will be given!
See you soon! Estancia Cristina satff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Accessible by boat only that passes by several icebergs that calved off Upsala glacier you arrive at a neatly kept estancia. Friendly staff greets you to get you oriented and all checked in. There are several activities you can choose to participate in from hiking, fishing to horseback riding or just enjoy the fantastic scenery. We were treated to a parilla (barbecue ) of different meats but All the meals were Very Good. The Rooms were spacious and clean and quiet. Generator supplied electricity off from 11p.m. to 7 a.m. but that causes NO problem. Definitely a must on your Patagonia trip.

Room Tip: I don't think you can pick a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you Mary Ann for you opinion. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your this at Estancia Cristina.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This estancia and its location had been recommended by a friend who knows his way around Argentina so we made sure to include it in our trip - and are so glad we did! While it's not cheap to stay (many people just do the day tour, which if you can't stay, is still a wonderful experience), we included 2 nights which was the perfect length of time. Perhaps there are busier months, but there were only 2 other couples staying, so we were treated with great individual service and care. The food was fabulous (and far too plentiful!) and the accommodations are very comfortable. The staff catered to our every request, which included a couple of horseback rides and then the drive to the Upsala Glacier and 14 km hike back - not to be missed!!! I have an arthritic hip and so the hike was a challenge but I managed with the walking sticks provided. The terrain changes constantly on this hike and we saw condors soaring overhead as well as a family of white swans with black necks/heads in a lagoon... Our charming and thoughtful guide was very knowledgeable and showed us many amazing geological and natural phenomenon along the way.

It's interesting - although each day many people come to the Estancia for a day trip, the overnight guest areas are private so we felt as if we were in our own world, able to enjoy this spectacular location in an intimate and personal way.

Many thanks to all the caring and personable staff!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much "Druryperry" for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every minute at the Estancia. We will be waiting for you next time you visit Patagonia.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It takes a lot of effort to get to Estancia Cristina and its entirely worth it. Realistically one has to take a four hour flight from BA to El Calafate and then spend a night in El Calafate to catch the bus to the boat first thing in the morning. (Do NOT miss Perito Moreno on your way in or way out.) But the Estancia Cristina crew takes care of everything once you are on the bus and the boat ride is breathtaking treat through mountains and icebergs. When the boat pulls in, It feels like you are at the end of the earth, the jaw-droppingly beautiful earth.

You ride with many day-trippers who will spend a very long day hiking and returning, but once at the Estancia everything is carefully done so you feel like you and the 24 or so other guests are the only ones there. The clubhouse is very comfortable and welcoming, the rooms are not highly luxurious but they are smartly decorated, spacious, private, and of course, enjoy the views.

We were able to get right out onto horses after our lunch on the first day. Our guide spoke no English, but another guest who was bilingual was game to help translating. He took us on a short ride up on a ridge through the center of the valley and the views were awe-inspiring. It was New Years eve when we arrived and the Estancia planned a special dinner for us. The "celebration" offered was non-existent so it took some work to keep everyone awake until midnight when the staff all joined the guests for music and dancing.

The next day we took the Cristina's main attraction ride up to the Upsala glacier and then took a guided hike back through the Fossil Valley (I think thats what they called it.) The ride was bumpy, this guide spoke much more english and explained beautifully much about the geology that we were seeing. I would say he was a 9 out of 10 because he didn't wait until everyone could hear before he started his little explanations. Whenever I sensed he was about to talk I had to scurry up to hear.

The food there was plentiful and varied. Kind of amazing considering we were so far from the world. It was by no means excellent, but its everything you need on a trip like this. The staff was very helpful. When I realized I had lost my hat somewhere on the trip in, they quickly found me a suitable replacement. One really nice thing is that the staff from the guides to the desk to the waiters int he restaurant all seemed happy to be working there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynHeights79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for shearing with us your days at the Estancia.
We really appreciate all your comments and suggestions in order to keep on improving our services.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Our visit to Estancia Christina was one of the highlights of our three week Patagonia adventure. The staff and guides at the estancia were so accommodating and friendly. We felt like family. They anticipated and met our every need. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and well stocked. Our guides were well informed and created a safe, fun adventures for us. The food was incredible with a large array of choices. All guests were friendly and interesting. If anyone is considering a Patagonia trip, Estancia Christina is a must!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial Representative at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much Karen B for your review! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your days at the Estancia, as much as we do!
Hope to see you soon! Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
45.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
37.3 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
46.2 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
46.1 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
46.2 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Property: Estancia Cristina Lodge
Address: Av. Libertador 1037 | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Cristina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Lake Argentino Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge; it count with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins and exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier. An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the Estancia is by boat; the full board Lodge program offer exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of activities to enjoy of this wonderful region. There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing