We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to experience Patagonia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estancia Cristina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to experience Patagonia”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Estancia Cristina is a first class way to experience the beauty of Patagonia. Their accommodations are private, comfortable and tasteful with beautiful views. The staff are extremely welcoming and willing to make your stay as special as they can. We were awed by the glacial canyons and grasslands and took advantage of the differing ways to experience it (breath-taking day long hike downhill and on horseback - both with expert guides). The food is absolutely delicious and service is excellent. The boat ride in/out through the blue-tinged floating ice bergs capped off a stellar trip. Estancia Cristina was definitely the highlight of our 15 days in South America!

Room Tip: Ideal for families to stay in a cabin with several separate rooms - all with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much Mary R for your review! We are glad to know that you enojoyed your days at the Estancia.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
149
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at the Estancia Cristina Lodge. We stayed for three days. We had an exciting hike with Santiago (our young enthusiastic knowledgeable guide). We also had an unforgettable horseback ride, crossing a river and up a mountain path looking at spectacular views.
The people, the food, everything was fabulous.
We loved the young foal that someone from the Estancia had found abandoned by its mother in the mountains and had brought it down and nursed it back to health. The young horse wandered freely around the estancia and loved to be patted.
This visit was the highlight of our trip to Argentina.
Cathie & Bob Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you Bob & Cathie for your review! The young foal, which we named MILI (for MILAGROS - Miracle), is very well! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your days at the Estancia.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The lure of the glacier enticed us to take the boat trip across Lake Argentina to this historic sheep farm turned guest ranch. It is possible to visit for just one day. Consider spending a little to get a lot and stay the night. The food, the service and the guides were hospitable, well informed and considerate to each of our needs. Our room was exceptional! We hiked through a canyon that was encrusted by glacier less than a hundred years ago to see the beautiful formations of rocks. And we felt the ubiquitous wind - very exciting and a way of life. The museum is helpful to understand how a family could survive here through a winter. They still leave the horses to fend for themselves when the entire place is abandoned at the end of the season (opposite to us here in N America).

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can - it is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NewViewTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for you beautiful report! We loved the way you describe your days at the Estancia!
Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in late February 2014. Weather was clear and sunny and made the experience exceptional. Hiking staff were enthusiastic and knowledgeable (thanks Santiago) making the time fly by and the muscle burn fade from notice. Rooms were large, comfortable, everything worked, views out the windows were spectacular. All staff we dealt with were helpful and responsive. Food and dining room were first class. This is a very unique location offering edge of the mountain wilderness, waterfall and glacier experiences. Wow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the Estancia as much as we do every day of the season.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very nice located by Lago Argentino and the Upsala glacier.
The boattrip to the ectancia is spectacular.
The sorroundings magnificent.
Verty nice rooms andd very good food.
The service are also very good.

/ Göran, Sweden

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Swede56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much Göran for your comment! We are glad to know that you liked staying at the Estancia.
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lecco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We felt since the very beginning this staying was about to have something magic... the long approach by boat, the old fashion styled lodges, the meals, the environment, the lonelyness, the warmness of the hosts.
if you are spending some time in El calafate area you cannot miss this experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank giovane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion and recommendation! We are happy for you, that you had the opportunity of staying at the Lodge!
Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed two nights and that gives you time to sink in to the quiet, the beauty, the people. If you don't have the luxury of two nights, it's still great to do a day trip or one night but two really slows you down, in a good way. Enough but not too much activities, food is plentiful and good enough, room is simple, stars in the middle of the night are amazing. Really very very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeterFNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much Peter for your review! We are very thankful for your recommendation to other future guests!
Regards, Estancia Cristina staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
45.9 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
37.3 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
46.2 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
46.1 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#23 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
46.2 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Cristina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Cristina Lodge

Property: Estancia Cristina Lodge
Address: Av. Libertador 1037 | Parque Nacional Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Cristina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Northwest shore of the Lake Argentino Lake on the far of Cristiana’s arm, Estancia Cristina is located in a unique corner in Los Glaciares National Park. Founded in 1941 by Joseph P. Masters and his wife, this stunning place still maintains its essence, keeping the history of this family alive, that with great effort and perseverance, made this lonely and inhospitable place a small paradise a home.Estancia Cristina is a unique Lodge; it count with 20 comfortable rooms distributed in 5 elegant cabins and exclusive access to the most stunning sights of the Upsala Glacier. An enchanting and warm place, that just like in the past grants the best Patagonian hospitality. The only access to the Estancia is by boat; the full board Lodge program offer exquisite Patagonian gastronomy, a museum and a variety of activities to enjoy of this wonderful region. There are many activity options for you to choose: Walks of different demands, 4x4 wheel drive rides, horse riding, mountain bike or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Estancia Cristina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Cristina Lodge El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing