We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great concept, lovely place and people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here towards the end of a fantastic trip around Argentina, including staying in some of the nicest hotels. Los Ponchos is up there in our list of favourites, coming second only to Cavas Wine Lodge, where we got engaged. Having heard El Calafate was generally expensive and having spent much of our trip eating out, we decided to stay in self-catering accommodation so we would feel like we had our own space for a change. Los Ponchos offered us this, with a coach to kick back on, and a kitchen but with the added benefit of breakfast being brought to your door at a time of your request, even if up very early to go on an excursion. It offered us the option of staying in and cooking but with the comfort of being in a hotel and the cleaning service, which included doing our dishes! The absolute highlight of the hotel however is the view from the upstairs room. We spent a couple evenings quite happily sat by the window watching the sky over the lake. The staff were very helpful in helping us book onto excursions and made good recommendations, particularly when high winds meant our excursion to Estancia Christina was cancelled. The walk into town is an easy one and we took bikes on one occasion. Check the bike tyres for air before you take them out however! I'd recommend considering renting a car in El Calafate and driving yourself to some of the top sites, it will be much faster than sitting on a bus that picks up other tourists from 10+ hotels at 6.30am AND surprisingly cheaper. Driving is stress free in El Calafate (unlike the rest of argentina) as there are very few cars on the road. Driving to El Chalten, we passed only a handful of cars and it was a beautiful drive. Wish we had spent more time in the area with a car, particularly a few more days in El Chalten. Very comfortable bed but one night we had a very noisy family next to us with children running up the corridors - only downside is that the rooms are not very soundproof.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikmaster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

Pros:
The view is amazing
Service is impecable and timely (5 star service with out the 5 star price)
Value of the services and amenities is very well balanced
Clean rooms and well stocked bathrooms

Cons:
Apartments are not meant to be shared by more than 3 people (comfortably)
A little seperated from the town so walking is an option only on warmer days but taxi ride is only 5 minutes to town (~15 pesos)

Overall our experience has been positive and we would strongly recommend this hotel we are very pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Los ponchos have a beautiful view of the Lago Argentino, the street is quiet and calm, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are fantastic. Great value. It's located a little bit far from downtown, but it's like less than 20 pesos (5 dollars) a taxi ride.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed four days in this beautiful and new apart Boutique to celebrate the christmas 2010 together with our two children. The rooms are not big but very well designed with all the comfort you need, kitchen, TV-DVD, comfortable beds, trendy shower, safe, ...
The crew is very professional and friendly.
El Calafate is one of the most expensive city of Argentina but this is a value for money location.
Very quiet located, closed to the center, the lake and 30 min to the glacier.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTMIL07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights and is a great place out of the mess of the centre of town. We walked into town every time (about 30 minutes walk) - the walk is basically completely flat, but some people might find it too remote. They made a great dinner recommendation (best meat we´ve eaten thus far - Casami i think was the name).
They provide you breakfast in your room every morning, which is a nice change from having to go down to a lobby for breakfast - croissants, toast, fruit, cereals, coffee, ham/cheese/jams, fresh squeezed juice).
The staff were so lovely, i think the owner lives on site, and so the whole place has a funky yet homely feel. It seems very new, and there isnt much development around it. All rooms have a view of the lake. There is probably 8 rooms. We also stayed at Lar Aike Hotel (see other review), and for US$20 more, Los Ponchos is definitely a better place. If i was to come back I would happily stay at Los Ponchos again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMcSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

My friends and I (3 guys) stayed at Los Ponchos for 2 nights in December 2010 during a vacation around South America. We felt compelled to write a review of this place as every part of our stay there was excellent.

Firstly, to put this review into perspective, we've stayed in all manner of accommodations in the past, from hostels to absolutely top end hotels (including Fasano in Rio, and Faena Hotel and Universe in Buenos Aires - both on this trip). I mention that in the hope my review appears balanced.

Key points:

- It's a small place (8, maybe 10 rooms). It's only been there about a year and as you would expect, it's modern and well kept. Two floors to the room - upstairs double bed, downstairs a small kitchen and table. Also sofa that splits into 2 beds. Immaculate inside. Views from the window very impressive over the lake. Bathroom clean and decent size.

- It's not in the centre of town, but the town is very small and taxis are very cheap, so a few dollars/Euros/pounds will get you anywhere you need to go. I personally preferred the location as it was more peaceful.

- When arrived (early evening), greeted at the entrance by the Jose - the husband of the couple that owned the place. He knew who we were and had remembered that I called ahead to book the Big Ice day trip to the Moreno Glacier.

- The trip should have been paid in cash in advance. We hadn't been able to go to an ATM, but he assured us this wouldn't be a problem. When the mini-bus arrived to pick us up from the front door in the morning, they were expecting tickets (which we obviously didn't have). Jose had a quick word with them and all was sorted - we would pay later. He didn't have to do that, but did so anyway without hesitation. That saved us a whole world of hassle.

- They made us packed lunches for the glacier trip, which were very good (and large) and a decent price.

- They gave us a dinner recommendation for both the nights we were there, which were both outstanding. They called and sorted us reservations and taxis, which made things extremely straightforward for us.

- When we arrived back after dinner at 1am, Jose had clearly stayed up waiting for us to let us in. Not even slightly a problem and we were greeted with the usual cheerfulness.

- Breakfast was punctually served to our room at any time between breakfast hours.

In summary, Los Ponchos is a great place to stay. I can't really think of anything we were unhappy with (and we're very picky people). An extremely friendly, attentive and helpful staff coupled with high quality accommodation means I wouldn't hesistate in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicopolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The rooms were fantastic and the hotel owners helped you when needed and left you alone when needed. A nice balance. You can borrow bikes (which is helpful if you don't have a car as the hotel is a fair way out of town) and the breakfast is lovely. The cooking/kitchen facilities are great and it really is a lovely place to come back to after a long, cold day out on the glaciers. Would reccommend (and even more so if you have your own hire car)!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6monthhoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,158 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,301 reviews
1.4 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
528 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Ponchos Apart Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Ponchos Apart Boutique

Address: Los Alamos 3321, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: £124 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Ponchos Apart Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOS PONCHOS APART BOUTIQUE, is located at 2 km from the downtown of El Calafate, between steppe and glaciers. You can live a unique experience in our cozy rooms, decorated with Hispano-American art pieces that connect the guests to our cultural identity. From the ten wide and comfortable rooms you can enjoy the impressive view of the lake Lago Argentino and admire the beauty of the Patagonic skies. In Los Ponchos we work to make our guests feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Los Ponchos Apart Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique Hotel El Calafate
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing