We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accomodations, spoiled by sour owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hosteria Los Barrancos
Ranked #10 of 36 El Calafate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The rooms are very clean and reasonably comfortable, and a decent value given the inflated prices in El Calafate. Also the continental breakfast was good. Unfortunately, the grim and inhospitable owners make staying at Los Barrancos unpleasant. Also, the walls are thin, the hotel is difficult to find, and while the hotel advertises WiFi it does not work in the rooms. Overall, not a positive experience for the three nights we stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Los Barrancos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were there in December 2012 for 4 nights. We don't like this hosteria because the location, too far from town and the walking path is not easy. Wall are thin between rooms - we can heard clearly all the conversations from next door! Meanwhile the host has never smile! She seem not a happy person. Breakfast was poor. No wifi in the room. For the price we've paid, it's easy to find a better place in town. Another downside: they only accept cash! We'll not return for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88sunny88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We have had a wonderful stay at this hosteria! Monica has made us feel so welcome, helping us with advice on day trips, restaurants and how to get around. Jorge even drove us into town to book our trip to the glacier for the next day as we arrived so late.
The rooms are really comfortable and warm, hot showers and quiet! There are spectacular views from our room and the lounge area, where we indulged in a few wines and a simple, but enjoyable, meal provided by Monica.
Our beds were made every day, with fresh towels and toiletries. Is this a hotel or hosteria? Wow!
We had packed lunches provided for our day trips, which were delicious.
After 8 weeks in South America, this was one of the best stays we had. Our only regret was we didn't stay here longer. Value for money - worth every peso!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
897monicad, Propietario at Hosteria Los Barrancos, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012
Google Translation

En la hosteria estamos mas que contentos que nuestros pasajeros se sientan tan a gusto, lo disfrutamos a la par de ellos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

The attention was very friendly and great views to the Andes range and Argentine Lake.
Good meals and home made breakfast .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veleroypake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

We reserved our room at Los Barrancos after several unsuccessful attempts booking elsewhere - what a disappointment. The rooms are spartan with the absolute minimal comforts. The hot water problem noted by the previous poster hasn't been fixed and the term "bushwacking" comes to mind to describe the rather long and unsafe trek into downtown El Calafate. The "path" is unlite and unmarked, making it very difficult to walk to the hotel at night after dinner in the city centre. There are no restaurants or shops close by, making frequent trips down the perilious path to the city necessary.

Upon arrival, we was informed by a rather permanent looking sign that their credit card system is "temporarily" down and only cash would be accepted. To add insult to injury, we were told that rules prohibited a check-out after 10am (we had requested a late check-out at noon upon learning that our flight had been delayed) - completely incomprehensible given that no more than 3 of the 24 rooms were occupied at the time.

Just walking around town, there appear to be much better facilities (even the hostels looked relatively more inviting) for around the same price. Stay in one of them. The low quality of service at Los Barrancos is not worth the few dollars that you may save staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Patagonian_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2006

We stayed at Hosteria Los Barrancos in November 2006. The owner speaks English, so making the reservation via e-mail was pretty easy. To secure reservation, I e-mailed my credit card information over the Internet (there's also an option to fax).

The hotel is on a hilltop overlooking the town. The dining room, where breakfast is served has very large windows that look out toward the lake. On a sunny day, you can see the Andes far to the left.

It's about 15 minute walk down the dirt road to the center (and a little longer to climb back up). Even though it was a little bit inconvenient, I was happy to sleep far away from the dirty and noisy center.

The reception staff was really friendly. The hotel had a book of most of the excursions available in Calafate, and obtained the tickets for us. We picked the Lago Argentino boat excursion and Minitrekking on Perito Moreno (AMAZING!). A car came to pick us up at the hotel each morning.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was new. The cleaning service did a great job cleaning our room each day. However, the laundry service is VERY expensive, so I would recommend you avoid using it as much as possible.

We had an issue with the hot water. The water pressure was inconsistent, and the hot water ran out very quickly. We alerted the owner, who wasn't aware of the problem - so hopefully she has fixed it by now.

The price was $70 US/ night. Like lot of places in El Calafate, they don't accept credit cards, so it's necessary to pay cash.

See photos and other information on the Web site.
---

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank illumita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joop H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.0 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
960 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cyan Calafate Hotel
Cyan Calafate Hotel
#15 of 70 in El Calafate
229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
#2 of 36 in El Calafate
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria La Estepa
Hosteria La Estepa
#4 of 36 in El Calafate
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Los Barrancos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Los Barrancos

Address: Villa Parque Los Glaciares, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in El Calafate
Price Range: £30 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Los Barrancos 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Los Barrancos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Los Barrancos El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing