We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Kosten Aike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kosten Aike
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Well run hotel two blocks from the main downtown area, don't forget this is a small seasonal tourist town. Walk to shopping, restaurants. They gave us a spacious room with a separate foyer and sitting area, perfect for using as a base to explore the area. They serve a hearty full breakfast buffet and they do have a pool and spa on the top floor but we didn't have to sample that. Everybody was polite and helpful, a welcome change from Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy, its across the street from the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhc7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

El Calafate is a tiny town with almost one main Street, a few hotels and restaurants. We stayed at Kosten Aike, meaning Home of the Wind in Tehuelche language. The first thing that made us feel at home was the attitude of the staff. They were helpful, serious and gave all the necessary information upon our arrival.

The hotel is not big, but has many areas to sit down and relax with or without friends, one by the fireplace. The rooms are big compared to the size of the hotel and are tasefully decorated. The bedclothes are very soft and comfortable. This was important for me as I spent a lot of time at bed as I was sick. Ther is even a table with 2 chairs by the window. The bathroom is equipped with the necessary facilities.

If you are European ( not British), the plugs may look strange but try your chargers anyway, they will go in and work ( tip from the staff). The voltage is 220 V.

The hotel is 2 blocks away from the main Street but this means less than 5 minutes.

Breakfast is good and there is enough to choose from. Their vegetable soup is also very good for dinner when you come back from a boat trip to the glaciers.

I felt at home in this hotel. Not a big 5 star hotel, but one that you feel comfortable at.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nesligul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It is not a luxury hotel, more like a ski lodge. Our triple room was spacious on the 3rd floor and if we didn't open the window it felt like a sauna in the room. With the window open it felt pleasant. There is no air conditioning. Room and bathroom are clean but bathroom can get some updating!
Breakfast was good with a lot of choices but could not eat much before our early morning tours.
Had large tour groups staying when we were there.
The location is very good. Only 2 blocks from the Main Street where all the shops and restaurants are.
Staff very nice and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank sjdj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the top two hotels that I have stayed in during the 6 weeks that I have been travelling in Argentina.

The hotel is like a large wooden lodge and is located two blocks from the main street. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and speak very good English. Room sizes are large and well furnished. The bathrooms and spacious and clean and have good water pressure and lots of very hot water.

The buffet breakfast was by far the best that I had whilst on my trip with a good selection of food and some excellent breads and was served for a long time during the morning, great the morning after a long trek on the Glaciers.

A minor gripe was the internet which was patchy but this seems to be an El Calafate issue (had the same experience in another hotel) rather than an issue with this hotel.

I wish that I could have spent the whole trip in hotels as good as this.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVN738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

An excellent hotel, two blocks from the central street; big clean and comfortable rooms; a spa centre which includes a sauna (you will appreciate this after a day of glacier touring) and amazing staff. One word of caution: the hotel's travel agency mishandled my tour booking - so even though this was not in any case the fault of the hotel/ its staff, I would either book your glacier tours directly with the operator (Hielo y aventura) or ask the reception to double-check that the booking has indeed been made.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank MarichkaDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is simply superb and a great base for everything in Calafate. Accommodation was excellent and the staff so helpful. Many choices in the restaurant and bars and even pool and table tennis and chess and bar football if you are awake enough after all the early morning trips.
Good choice of little shops and prices very reasonable. They seem to know what you want before you ask for it. Made a great experience even better. Jacuzzi as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is 2 blocks from the main avenue which is full of shops and restaurants. They know the travel business well and can direct you to any needs you may have. Accomodations were very nice, spacious lobby area. Breakfast had hot scrambled eggs, potatoes and many continental options along w- the region usuals of ham, cheese and home made bread---quite good for a complimentary breakfast. If you like to run, there is a path along the lake about 2 blocks away round trip about 2mi.

Room Tip: Spa/Gym opens at 5pm no morning workouts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenDre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rochester Hotel Calafate
Rochester Hotel Calafate
#7 of 70 in El Calafate
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kosten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kosten Aike

Address: Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: £80 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kosten Aike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kosten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosten Aike Hotel
Kosten Aike El Calafate
Hotel Kosten Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing