We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in El Calafate”
Review of Hotel Kosten Aike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kosten Aike
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel we were made welcome by the warmth of the staff and their attention. Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was simple with a good choice of cereals, breads, pastries and a hot food option.
We were out on tours most days and took the packed lunch option on a couple of occassions and found the choices available to us ideal.
Hotel Kosten Aike is just a 3 minute walk from El Calafate main street and the many restaurants and shops
The region is wonderful and the location of the hotel is perfect - coming home to your hotel of an evening after a day exploring the glaciers is so very warm, comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DawsonAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located, we could walk to everywhere, even when it was rainy and windy. The hotel lobby had a nice welcoming aroma to it. The top floor has a small gym and an cabin like Jacuzzi that has nice city view to it. The service was hit and miss, the front desk was not too friendly, however, the service from the Gym and the bell boy has made up for it. We did not eat at the restaurant, the people from our tour group tried and commented it above average. Some people stayed by the street side complaint about the traffic noise, but we were in a room facing the courtyard, it was nice and quite..

Room Tip: rooms facing the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Hotel Kosten Aike is centrally situated in the picturesque small town of El Calafate; But, yet in a quiet area within a 5 minute walk to all restaurants and shops. The hotel has a homely feeling, breakfast is excellent, rooms very comfortable and the Hotel Staff, especially those at the Reception Desk, are very helpful and freindly.
I strongly recommend this Hotel.
Monica F. Australia/Malta

Room Tip: Triple share rooms on the 3rd floor are very sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malteser222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Warm reception and attentive courteous staff. Room overlooked pretty garden and great amenities with exercise room jacuzzi sauna and possibility of massage, pool and pingpong tables, warm fireplace. Well located in town close to best restaurants and lakeside bird sanctuary and walkway. Breakfast had great variety and fresh fruit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Well run hotel two blocks from the main downtown area, don't forget this is a small seasonal tourist town. Walk to shopping, restaurants. They gave us a spacious room with a separate foyer and sitting area, perfect for using as a base to explore the area. They serve a hearty full breakfast buffet and they do have a pool and spa on the top floor but we didn't have to sample that. Everybody was polite and helpful, a welcome change from Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy, its across the street from the hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhc7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

El Calafate is a tiny town with almost one main Street, a few hotels and restaurants. We stayed at Kosten Aike, meaning Home of the Wind in Tehuelche language. The first thing that made us feel at home was the attitude of the staff. They were helpful, serious and gave all the necessary information upon our arrival.

The hotel is not big, but has many areas to sit down and relax with or without friends, one by the fireplace. The rooms are big compared to the size of the hotel and are tasefully decorated. The bedclothes are very soft and comfortable. This was important for me as I spent a lot of time at bed as I was sick. Ther is even a table with 2 chairs by the window. The bathroom is equipped with the necessary facilities.

If you are European ( not British), the plugs may look strange but try your chargers anyway, they will go in and work ( tip from the staff). The voltage is 220 V.

The hotel is 2 blocks away from the main Street but this means less than 5 minutes.

Breakfast is good and there is enough to choose from. Their vegetable soup is also very good for dinner when you come back from a boat trip to the glaciers.

I felt at home in this hotel. Not a big 5 star hotel, but one that you feel comfortable at.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nesligul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It is not a luxury hotel, more like a ski lodge. Our triple room was spacious on the 3rd floor and if we didn't open the window it felt like a sauna in the room. With the window open it felt pleasant. There is no air conditioning. Room and bathroom are clean but bathroom can get some updating!
Breakfast was good with a lot of choices but could not eat much before our early morning tours.
Had large tour groups staying when we were there.
The location is very good. Only 2 blocks from the Main Street where all the shops and restaurants are.
Staff very nice and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank sjdj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 69 in El Calafate
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 69 in El Calafate
1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 69 in El Calafate
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 69 in El Calafate
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A.C.A.
Hotel A.C.A.
#2 of 69 in El Calafate
498 reviews
13.7 mi away
EOLO - Patagonia's Spirit - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kosten Aike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kosten Aike

Address: Gobernador Moyano 1243, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: £90 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kosten Aike 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOSTEN AIKE HOTEL.It is located in El Calafate, a small town in the extensive and mysterious Patagonian Plateau, near the imposing Andes Range; being the entrance gate to the majestic “Los Glaciares National Park”, where the Perito Moreno Glacier is the main attraction.Our hotel is a southern style Chateau, built with local wood and stones, located in downtown. Few minutes away from the Calafate International Airport.We have 80 rooms (76 Deluxe and 2 suites and 2 apts.); heating; TV; minibar; in room safe boxes; desk phone and Wi Fi connection. Room for handicapped; restaurant; bar; garden terrace; Play Room; Parking Lot; Drugstore; Tourist information; Convention Center ( For 170 persons ) and KOSTEN CLUB: Free Gym, Jacuzzi, Sauna and Scottish shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kosten Aike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosten Aike Hotel
Kosten Aike El Calafate
Hotel Kosten Aike El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing