We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, Good Service”
Review of Posada Los Alamos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Posada Los Alamos
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Centrally located, Good Service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've read some negative reviews about this hotel, but must admit, my stay was good. Stayed here 2 nights. Good room facing a quiet street with a very spacious bathroom (the biggest one I've had in Argentina). Two excellent dinners in the hotel restaurant. The breakfast buffet, again, was the most extensive I had in my Argentinian stay though the hot selection was only scrambled eggs and a very watery vegetable soup.

The hotel is located two blocks away from the main street so close enough but far enough away that there was no noise. The gym hours (12-21) were a bit limited though the equipment and location was good (overlooking the golf course).

Complimentary drink in the bar and high speed wifi.

Overall, a good stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ynperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioGuatti, Owner at Posada Los Alamos, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
ynperth
How are you?
I wish well.
Thanks for choosing us and thanks for your comments.
Glad you have found a large bathroom and a great choice for breakfast, and these have been the best of Argentina.
We will analyze the issue of hot options.
I remain available.
Sincerely.
Mario Guatti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    412
    130
    23
    13
See reviews for
269
502
57
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is old and the installations are poor, mainly if you consider the prices charged. The room is ok and the bathroom is big but old and the amenities are very poor - they look like free samples of cheap brands. The service is ok. The breakfast is poor, a big buffet but without fresh fruit and variety. The best thing of the hotel is it's location, which is very close to the main street and at the same time, close to Argentino lake. I was there because it was the best my travel agent offered but I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioGuatti, Owner at Posada Los Alamos, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thelma G.

How are you?
I wish well.

I am using the google translator to respond. I hope I can convey my feelings.
Thank you for your feedback, although not we work for, analyze and understand them deeply.
We had problems with our amenities that have already been solved. We see the issue of offering fresh fruits in our breakfast.
It is very good that you have valorated the location.

Sincerely.

Mario Guatti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Depending on which part of the hotel your room is in, you may be staying in something okay or something very tired and shabby. Also depending on which part of the hotel you are in, the street noise from dogs and children and motorcycles goes on all night. In some rooms, the bathroom has a large window in the shower with only a sheer curtain for privacy from the street. The rooms are clean. The fitness center is a collection of old, worn-out machines, some of which are broken. The breakfast buffet is not great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macintosh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioGuatti, Propietario at Posada Los Alamos, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Macintosh27
Toronto, Canadá

Gives us joy to know that we could meet your expectations.
But considering that is a senior reviewer.
We are working to eliminate the noise from outside.
Thank you.

Sincerely.

Mario Guatti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Considering the price it was a very poor value and choice.
- Room soundproofing exceptionally poor, could hear everything from the next room!!!
- Amenities exceptionally poor
- Poor lighting in the room, no desk lamp
- Included breakfast, so poor (unless you only want pastry) that we found alternatives.
- Concierge, only form 9 to 5 on weekdays only (when he wasn't assigned elsewhere through no fault of his own)
- When taxi did not show on time on our last day we were asked while the person at the front desk found the reservation in the log if we booked the taxi.

The good news:
- Good food from the restaurant at night (although a bit high priced for location)
- Great bartender
- Very nice pool and spa area
- Good location

All-in-all not a very good value, cannot recommend!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioGuatti, Propietario at Posada Los Alamos, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Steve1111...
Boston, Massachusetts

We are sad to know that we could not meet your expectations.
We're working on your comments.

Thank you.

Sincerely.

Mario Guatti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramt Hasharon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A very quite location. On Arrival you get a present ,a welcome drink. Front desk are very freindly and efficient. room is clean . For breakfast you have to go a little in a near restaurant which belongs to same ownership.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehudro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Just one night en route from Buenos Aires to Chile. The town probably justified a longer stay in which case might have looked for better location. This is in a (quiet?) back street and spread out over several buildings. Nicely presented with small but functional rooms that were traditionally decorated. Bar overlooked golf course but limited menu. Reception very helpful and booked table at busy nearby restaurant. The quiet of the evening somewhat affected by local rodeo further down street but as we were very tired didn't bother us. Breakfast bit limited.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, CO
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Rooms are small and crummy and expensive, although the spa was decent and the included breakfast was ok. Room was $245 and exchange rate was only 8/$1. Exchange your $100 bills on Florida pedestrian street in Buenos Aires at 13 to one for the dollar before you go to Patagonia. Exchange in Patagonia was at best, 10/1. Exchange in BA was safe with many men shouting Cambio on the busy street. We were told it was dangerous, but there are many police around and it was no problem. If hotels charge in dollars, they will accept pesos and only multiply your dollar price times eight so you still come out ahead. rooms at this hotel are too hot and when you open the windows, it is noisy.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
0.6 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in El Calafate
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Alamos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Alamos

Property: Posada Los Alamos
Address: Ing. Hector Mario Guatti 1135 | Ing. Hector Mario Guatti 1135, El Calafate Z9405CBC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#2 Spa Hotel in El Calafate
#3 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#12 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Los Alamos 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of El Calafate, very close to Argentino Lake and Down Town. It has spa facilities, an indoor Swimming pool and free Wi-Fi in all areas.The guest rooms at Posada Los Alamos feature heating, as well as a minibar and cable TV. Rooms have views of the organic garden and the mountains beyond.An extensive breakfast buffet offers a choice of American, Argentinean or Patagonian food. La Posta Restaurant serves a menu of international and regional specialties, including Patagonian lamb. The hotel also features two bars.Los Alamos provides a full range of modern spa facilities and an indoor pool with ceiling-to-floor windows. The hotel has its own small 18-hole par 3 golf course. Also can arrange trips including horseback riding and exploring the Moreno Glacier.El Calafate Airport is 12 miles away and transportation are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Los Alamos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Alamos Hotel El Calafate
Posada Los Alamos El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing