We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home with wonderful Fabi and her family.”

Hostel Aves del Lago
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Aves del Lago
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had such a wonderful stay with Fabi and Daniel. They are both so welcoming and friendly and Fabi does everything she can to help you and make you feel at home. Our bus from Ushuaia was nearly an hour late and Fabi was still there waiting for us at 1am with a big smile! She also helped us with our Spanish, and was very patient with us talking to us slowly (her English is excellent so she is a perfect teacher). The rooms and bathroom are really clean and comfy, and Fabi treated us to homemade pancakes with delicious dulce de leche (also homemade), yum!!! I can't recommend Aves del Lago any more highly. It's a truly special place and made a wonderful start to our honeymoon travels. Thanks Fabi, you're a very special person.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

A very welcoming hostel. The friendly family makes you feel right at home the minute you come in . This small house come hostel has a kitchen dinning area in the centre of all the rooms. A place where visitors can converse over their morning tea ,coffee or mate overlooking a beautiful lake. The owners really do pull out all the stops including a 2 a.m drive to the bus station. They also organize trips to the glacier and other locations. The hostel also has front row seats to some interesting water birds, making it a great place for birders.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Aves del Lago is really a great hostel!
The place is family run by Fabi and Daniel, who do everything to make your stay as good as possibly can be. The place is very clean and the rooms are spacious, and there is a nice varying breakfast in the morning. We even got a daily note wishing us the best for the day.
The hostel is located next to the lake and the laguna. When we looked out of the window in the morning we saw the beautiful lake, flamingos, ibisses flying by and the peaks of the Andes in the background. A great place to wake up.
It's about a 10 minutes walk from the hostel to the centre of town, but if you don't feel like walking, the owners will be happily drive you there.
The hostel can also arrange several daytrips to El Chalten and Perito Moreno, and they can book bus tickets for you.
This was certainly the best hostel I've been to in Patagonia!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hostel is amazing. The family who run it do everything to make your stay special. The bedrooms are warm and cosy and clean and the bathrooms are clean. The kitchen is well equipt with dining table to eat at. Its a small hostel with a family feel and there 2 children are very cute! The hostel is set on the lake with many birds in view, and is in a quite area 10 mins walk from town. FULLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hostel was such a warm, homely experience. We arrived at El Calafate and were presented with a great deal for a 2 night stay at the hostel - we ended up staying much longer. The area is beautiful, only 10 minutes to town, but the winning factor is the hospitality of the family that run the place. They were so friendly and helpful, and really let you in with the whole family.

I would recommend this place to anyone - the owner is an absolute gem!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

..El Calafate and the Glacier National Park was the goal..Aves del Lago and the people we met there..our fortune!!
We strongly advise this lovely place to all those want to spend a great time in such an enchanting place! Not far from the city centre, homely rooms and pleasant atmosphere!
The owners of the Hostel would kindly satisfy all your requests..excursions all around, informations about the city, the places to enjoy the best argentinian food and all the rest!
We really hope to go back soon and see Fabiola and her lovely family again!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanoeDoriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

this hostel was a gr8 find, although we didnt have to go far to find! hostel manager met us at the bus stand and sold it to us! good bed, breakfast inc and super friendly! good kitchen and bathroom ammenities and the staff are really helpful, to the point where they went and looked up future hostels for us before we had even thaught of looking ourselves! although a 8 min walk to the centre, which can b cold, aves del lago definatley makes it worth it for the price!

Room Tip: take what you can get in peak season because this place will fill up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rawted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0 mi away
Glaciar Perito Moreno Hostel
Glaciar Perito Moreno Hostel
#8 of 72 in El Calafate
90 reviews
0 mi away
Penguin Hostel
Penguin Hostel
#41 of 72 in El Calafate
13 reviews
0 mi away
Bla! Guesthouse
Bla! Guesthouse
#3 of 72 in El Calafate
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
I Keu Ken Hostel
I Keu Ken Hostel
#6 of 72 in El Calafate
261 reviews
0 mi away
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#1 of 72 in El Calafate
979 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
Hostel del Glaciar Libertador
#10 of 72 in El Calafate
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Aves del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Aves del Lago

Address: Calle 303 no 177 | Sobre la Av. Costanera, frente a la Reserva Natural de Aves de la Laguna Nimez., El Calafate, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 Speciality Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range: £12 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to daydream... In Aves del Lago Hostel we offer you a homelike enviroment where you can enjoy a beautiful panoramic view and the chance to be permanently in touch with the natural beauty of El Calafate, in a place where you can fully relax. A place where you can meet yourself, enjoy your soul and your being, in touch with an inexplicably perfect nature, in contact with people from all over the world willing to share experiences and expertise. With an amazing view that seems to be painted in the horizon, you go to places that fill your heart with nothing but peace. In our hostel we have a clear goal, make you feel at home, atended by its owners, shows its sensitive side and especially human. A home to relax and enjoy, to hang out and have fun. A place that fits on what you want to be. We believe that everybody should be part of this paradise, that's the reason we invite you to visit our place in order to enjoy this landscape and its sensations. We have wifi, multipurpose room and board games for entertainment. We advise about trips and excursions, with passion and love for our places. Come to feel at home in our beloved Patagonia!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Aves del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Aves Del Lago El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing