We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Campo Grande Resto Bar - CLOSED

Campo Grande Resto Bar
Cuisines: Argentinian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Prior to choosing a Resteraunt in El Calafete we checked the reviews and were looking forward to our dinner.

The food we had was not very good The lamb was dry and the steak I had was very poor. I asked for a fillet steak and received a t-bone.

Two of the wines we selected were not available

The staff were pleasant but did not respond when we told them we did not like the food.

The Resteraunt was clean and well set up

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelV541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    24
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place in El Calafate”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This restaurant is nothing short of amazing. Try the lamb, it will blow you away. Really nice family atmosphere, great service and high quality ingredients. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannesReck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food & wine and children's playroom!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The owner is passionate about food and wine and you can totally tell. We got there at 5:30 ( he was just opening) but happily served us while our little one enjoyed playing in an adjoining toy room. Later on a nanny came to play with her. The food was magnificent. The Jamon Crudo was served with little pots of homemade pickles and was almost a meal in itself. The rack of lamb was so tender they serve it with spoons! Then the owner took our very yummy chocolate cake desert and whipped out some of his salt collection and olive oil to elevate it it to something even more divine. Would totally recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expatmum973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing tastes - fantastic service - food heaven”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I'm a vegetarian with a meat loving friend & we both just had the most delicious meal at Campo Grande. Our local guide recommended it to us - so after a day at Perito Moreno, off we toddled.
We were greeted by the owner & after stating "no hablo espanol" & "vegetarian", he assured us he would organise something delicious. We were given complimentary bread with dips, herbs & oils to start with, and my meat loving friend cooked thin slivers of beef on hot rocks and dipped them in a variety of sauces.
Next came mains - slow cooked lamb for my friend & a vegetarian banquet for me.
The price was 438 peso & that included wine & coffee.
This is my first review because I cannot recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlReesy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a meal here and the food was amazing,you do not a starter as they give you meat to com on a volcanic stone.We had steak and it was really good the ambience is good as it is quite being away for the Main Street.
We were told it was really good food and it lived up to our expectation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campo Grande Resto Bar also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing