We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Koi Aiken
Nearby Hotels
Posada Los Alamos(El Calafate)
US$133
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Hainen(El Calafate)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$52
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
46
72
23
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
72
23
10
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a bit out of town, but is walkable along the paseo de la costanera and takes approx. 45 mins. We had a lovely lake view from our room, but the room itself was tiny and it was a bit tired. The lock on our room was a bit dodgy and we would often spend minutes in trying to unlock it was the key or the lock itself was a bit worn. If you want an out of town location which is peaceful and don't mind it being the tired look of the rooms, then stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penfold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

El Calafate is a busy place, even in the month of October. We did not get our first choice hotel and this one was offered to us instead for four nights. It is out of town in an area seemingly under continuing development.
Surprisingly, for its out-of-town sitting the rooms were on the small side, giving only just about adequate spacing for two suitcases. The room was very clean, beds comfortable and clean, but overall tired looking. The bathroom worked well but the radiator provided far too much, uncontrollable, heat.
The breakfast was modest but fine - with good cakes. The restaurant we were informed was not open - but a tour group seemingly managed to get meals served late in the evening. There was a plentiful supply of restauarnts in town.
Wifi, free, was available in the hotel but it was difficult for some unknown reason to get it functioning for the first two days (on a notebook that normally works everywhere!).
What made this hotel special for us was the reception staff, who were very friendly and helpful. Going out of their way to provide an excellent service. Including making arrangements for storage etc of baggage on our last full day. Check out the panoramic view from the tower (as at reception).
Getting into town was facilitated by the hotel providing a free taxi service - and the taxi back was relatively inexpensive and quick. Walking into town via the lakeside broadwalk is an interesting experience with views over the iceberg strewn lake against the contrast of feeding flamingos, and a variety of birds to the alert viewer. We also saw hares.
Clearly, a main reason for the visit here is for the Moreno glacier (excellent by Visit Patagonia) and the Upsala boat trip (excellent, in its modified form) where we also closely viewed Andian Condors. Highly recommended is a visit to the Laguna Nimez - a self guided tour through an excellent bird sanctuary - worth a two hour visit, which can be reached by taxi or about a 30 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel is need in need of some refurbishment. Our bath was badly chipped but so were other rooms we looked at. The furniture and fittings in rooms and public areas is getting towards its sell by date. The beds are very comfortable and you do get a great view from some rooms and even better if you find your way to the top deck lounge looking out at the lake. It is a long way out of town and it's garden and surroundings are more building site than Kew. The best thing about the place are its staff who are wonderfully helpful and it's also a very tranquil place to stay. When we stayed the hotel did not have a restaurant so trips to town in the evening were unavoidable. The hotel does offer one free transfer a day into town but you have to walk or pay your own taxi fare to get back. There are nicer hotels closer to town so shop around before you decide to stay here.

Room Tip: Look for lake facing rooms on the second floor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This hotel is quite a walk from the centre of El Calafate for restaurants etc and is not recommended for that reason alone - especially if the high winds are against you. However, taxis are easy to get. Sadly the hotel looked as though it needed some TLC. Staff friendly. Breakfast buffet fine.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Koi Aiken is a mile or so out of town so not best situated. Having said that you have a nice view over the lake and the chance of observing some of the local fauna. The room was fairly basic but comfortable although I didn’t spend much time in it. El Calafate itself is unremarkable but it’s the gateway to Los Glaciares National Park so it has grown rapidly in recent times and has banking facilities and a good selection of restaurants and retail outlets. There’s a good supermarket where you can stock up with supplies for excursions. It’s an easy walk into town, though the lakeside boardwalk is in need of repair. We didn’t eat at the hotel but went to sample what was on offer in town. By chance there was an outdoor music festival going on over the weekend to celebrate the anniversary of Lago Argentino, with free barbecued lamb on offer. If you go into town by taxi the hotel will pay your fare there and back – you have to ask the driver to go in to reception on the return journey so it helps if your command of Spanish is up to it.

Breakfast was rather chaotic on our first morning. The room isn’t big enough to cope at busy times so we had a lengthy wait for seats as a large group was checking out early. It was a self service buffet and the available staff were struggling to replenish supplies.

The free broadband in the lobby was good. As we were on a late flight we were allowed to store our luggage on departure day and make use of the Mirador room which is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews