We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm sure there are better places to stay”
Review of Kapenke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kapenke Hotel
Ranked #43 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We were placed here thru our travel agency and found it blah. We looked at the breakfast but chose to go elsewhere for food. The room was standard and unfortunately VERY noisy. Apparently there was a concert in the square with very loud music, it was like being on top of a bar. Add to that the fact our room faced the the area of the sidewalk all the smokers were attracted to. It was hot and we tried to open the window for a breeze but the smell and noise made comfortable sleeping rather hard to do.
Service was none. We asked for some recommendations for dinner and were told they did not do that. We managed on our own.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

In our experience just a good hotel; you get a decent and clean room, good service, nice breakfast. We heared al lot of travellers who suffered from bites of bedbugs, and one person commenting also talked about bedbugs in this hotel, but we didn't have any.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Worse in averything except location - poor breakfast, worse cleaning (forgot to put new bath accessories like soap), worse pillows and matrasses... But the most awful - bedbugs in the room 212!!! Beware of this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was basic but good. Room was clean and most importantly warm. Free WiFi was great. Reception staff were excellent. When you are in El Calafate you just need somewhere to rest your head. Fitted the bill perfectly. No complaints. Walking distance to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coluforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

for me a basic hotel, small rooms, good breakfast, bad service and great location.

but then again why would you stay more than 2 nights in calafate when you have el chalten a couple of hours away?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jealbornoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

The Kapenke Hotel was ideally situated in the centre of El Calafate and close to the shops and restaurants, but still somewhat of a disappointment. Our room was very small and the bathroom was minute, barely 6ft square, with a sliding door. Although the usual facilities had been crammed into the bathroom there was not even room for a towel rack! Moreover, the room looked out directly onto the sidewalk and a busy road some 10ft away. Consequently the window could not be left open for long beacvuse of the noise and dust. There were also full-length bars on the outside of the window giving the impression of a prison. The breakfast was poor with no hot food at all. The dining room did not look welcoming. However the desk staff was very helpful. Given the explosion of new, apparently good quality hotel building in and around El Calafate I would recommend finding an alternative. However, be aware that many of the newer hotels are far from the centre of town with the associated interesting eating places.

Stayed: December 2006
4  Thank travellingpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

I just ended a stay of 3 nights at this hotel and can say the following. The rooms are ok with a average size room and a small bathroom, location is good as it is central to the town and it´s restaurants. However, I would stay away from this hotel namely because the service at this hotel is HORRIBLE. I have stayed in hotels over 100 nights the last couple of years and the reception at this hotel is a joke. We ended up calling the front desk man Smiles namely because you never saw one out of the guy. When we had problems with our heater we were told 15 minutes to fix. After waiting 2 hours we were told they would go fix it now and returned to the hotel later to the response that it would not be fixed till the following day. We also requested a late checkout and after being informed of the fee they tried to up it the following day when our flight got delayed a couple of hours. Overall, they are looking to jack you up for a few pesos for everything they do including no irons in the room for your security.....ie we will charge you to iron your clothes. If your lucky and have no problems this is an ok hotel but if you have any needs whatsoever stay away because they have not caught on to the concept of customer service. I would not recommend this to anybody who is not on an extremely tight budget.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Puno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#27 of 70 in El Calafate
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#5 of 70 in El Calafate
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#29 of 70 in El Calafate
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
1,282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sierra Nevada
Hotel Sierra Nevada
#14 of 70 in El Calafate
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
Marcopolo Suites Calafate
#47 of 70 in El Calafate
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapenke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapenke Hotel

Address: Calle 9 de Julio 112, El Calafate Z9405AED, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range: £45 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapenke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation of 46 rooms, rates include breakfast. Private bath, Safety box, Internet and WiFi, Parking. 24/7 Frontdesk. Laundry service. Room service. Lunch boxes for excursions. Open all year round. Center location. Excursions and transfer assistance. Restaurant La Carmela, Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kapenke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapenke Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing