We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I wish I could write a glowing review of this place because the staff was amazingly warm, helpful and kind. The rooms are quaint with heated floors, soft king size beds and nice views. The location is ok. It's about a 15 minute walk from town (on pretty dry and dusty roads): close enough to walk but just far enough to be quiet. The downsides: the water cut out a few times when we were there and we were told not to eat (even crackers or fruit) in our room. Strange rule.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Spacious rooms, clean, good breakfast with excellent croissants, and very, very friendly and helpful owners. The rooms were warm and well isolated, not bad when the Patagonia wind blows outside at 50 km/hr. we would suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiorgioandIlse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is a new, very beautiful building, but it has two killer problems:
1. It's fairly distant from town down a long, dirty road with a decent hill that you can't walk without being enshrouded in dirt clouds. And
2. The hotel is complete with beautiful tile floors in all the rooms and hallways, which are as decorative as they are LOUD! So, unless you intend to awaken every night of your stay along with the earliest shuttle to the glaciers (i.e. 6:30 am), don't plan on sleeping in. Every door lock, every footstep, everything is amplified by the unforgiving acoustics. It's too bad.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessterZebraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel itself is fairly basic, but it's clean, the rooms are large, and the bathroom was fine. The tv service was good- I got to watch Monday Night Football in Spanish!

The breakfast was pretty good, but breakfast is never really good in Argentina as I understand it... coffee (good), tea, croissants/medialunas, oranges, cornflakes, yogurt, and Tang (which seems to be popular here).

The walk to town is about 15 minutes, with a bit of uphill on the way back. We tended to walk to town and take a cab (12 pesos) back. The area that the hotel is in is definitely rustic, but the view of the lake is great.

What really made the difference here was Christina. She was very helpful, really knows the area and offered great suggestions and service. She really aims to please and always had a smile for us.

Recommended, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberto_jose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel was cozy, clean and, for the most part, quiet, The room was nice and breakfast items was OK. Excellent hospitality of staff. I recommend it.

Room Tip: My room had an amazing view of Lago Argentino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAHenryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I loved the lake view from the room and during the breakfast time. The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay there even better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We stayed at Glaciares de la Patagonia for 2 nights and found it very friendly, clean and quiet. The owners were very helpful with providing information. It's a bit out of town, that's true, but we had a car, so this was no issue.
We had a king size bed and there was even a view of Lago Argentino.
Breakfast was very basic though.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Enthusiast99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Austral
Hosteria Austral
#70 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apart Hotel Libertador
Apart Hotel Libertador
#69 of 70 in El Calafate
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Konke Hotel & Sabores
Konke Hotel & Sabores
#37 of 70 in El Calafate
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lupama
Lupama
#56 of 70 in El Calafate
85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique
Terraza Coirones Hotel Boutique
#57 of 70 in El Calafate
116 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
Hosteria Puerto San Julian
#52 of 70 in El Calafate
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia

Address: Los Antiguos 194, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: £33 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glaciares de la Patagonia has been specially designed for our guests to enjoy a comfortable and cozy environment where they will be provided with customized assistance. The impressive view of Lake Argentino, the Andes Mountain Range and Mount Calafate may be appreciated from the sitting-room, the restaurant and the rooms. It is located at the entrance of the El Calafate tourist village, only six blocks from the town commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hosteria Glaciares de la Patagonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Glaciares De La Patagonia El Calafate, Argentina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing