We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable experience”
Review of Hosteria Meulen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hosteria Meulen
Ranked #43 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Remarkable experience”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Although a little far from town (30 min), that is the reason to be there. During tourist season city streets can be busy late into the night. This place is peaceful. The scenery is beautiful. The mountains that feed Perito Moreno are visible. Lake Nimez, bird preserve, seen out the window. The staff is so friendly and helpful you feel like family. A definite recommendation.

Although no fitness center or pool, evaluatiion of 5 given for each as website has no place for 'does not apply'

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meulen-Hotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Robert!

Thank you for your very kind comment, it was a pleasure for us to have had them as guests
Our warm regards to you, Lis and George

Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    72
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
50
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Although it is a little far away from the town, it has a great view, and part of its charm is the quiet enviroment surround it. Friendly staff, good food and nice and clean rooms. They help you hiring the excursions, advicing about what is the best to do while you're staying.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulamvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taboao da Serra, SP
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

If you arrive in El Calafate by airplane, you may want to arrange transport from FTE to the Hosteria Meulen. The owners of the hotel can send a taxi, but they want ARS 240 (US$50). If you take the taxi directly at the airport, you are going to pay a fixed fare of ARS 140 to any hotel in the city. Additionally, you may get a voucher for the return trip, which will cost you just ARS 100.

The hotel is clean and simple. We didn't want any luxuries - just a bed and a shower, so it was perfect for our needs and met our expectations fully. There is a safe in the hotel room, which will cost you one dollar per day should you use it.

The free breakfast is simple and does not change. There is coffee, warm and cold milk, and water if you want to make a cup of tea. You will also find fruit salad, croissants, wafers, cake, ham and cheese and calafate jelly.

The menu for the restaurant did not change the whole week of our stay. It is not bad, but you can find better dishes for the same price in El Calafate's restaurants.

If you can, try to get a room upstairs or toward the end of the corridor. People often arrive late in the evening, and make no attempt in keeping their voice down while staying near the reception desk. Not nice if you want to want to get up early in the next morning for a trip.

The staff is very friendly, sympathetic and helpful.

As in most of the places in El Calafate, you can pay in ARS, US$ or Euros, although their conversion rate may not be the greatest. Just know that you don't need to have pesos if you hadn't the time to exchange them at a bank.

Room Tip: They offer rooms with a view to the lake or to the mountain. The rooms on the mountain side have no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UlrichPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Chose this as a bit of a "splurge" since had views and good ratings. Rather far from town if you have no car. With a car, hard to find even with a map since there are no street signs in this area..if you book, remember what it looks like so you can spot it on the hill. Hotel is clean with many antiques and nice, but not spectacular views. Lots of new construction going up around it, but was quiet. Breakfast was the usual room temp ham and cheese but a nice croissant was served. They do offer a shuttle service at certain times, and had both indoor and outdoor sitting areas that were nice enough. But since I don't normally hang around a hotel, I personally would stay closer to town in a less expensive place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank judy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just a short walk from Lagoon Nimez the Hosteria Muelen is in a great location. It takes about half an hour to stroll into town. The room overlooking the lake was lovely and the service very friendly. Breakfast was quite ordinary but everyone gets two lovely warm croissants! The sitting room and outside terrace are good places to watch the changing light over the lake.
The only downfall for me was the hefty 21% tax added to the bill, which came as a surprise. Not sure if it would have applied had I paid in cash - a bit late to do anything about that on the last morning on my way to the bus!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hosteriameulen, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hosteria Meulen, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you very much Susan for your nice comment, it was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and we will glad to see you again, if you returns to El Calafate.
And indeed, by the central that you made ​​the booked, the national taxes are discriminated.
Best wishes
Mariela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We are a group of 4 sisters from Thailand. We stayed at Meulen for 4 nights. I and my sisters found that this is a very friendly hotel. Staff are nice and very helpful. Rooms are ok. I'm impressed by the extra service the hotel provided as requested.

We asked about a car rental info. The hotel help managed it easily and fast.
I asked the owner about how to order lunch boxes and told her I'll order and at the same time I'd asked her about the possibility to have breakfast boxes and she said she will prepare breakfast for us. Later, my sister said another receptionist at the lobby told her that there would be NO breakfast box for us on a requested date. I was like... confuse, but didn't take it seriously. However, I forgot to order lunch boxes. I didn't anticipated breakfast boxes on the day we're going to Torres del paine, but we got that's impressive. She has a good service mind and remember the tiny little things we asked for.

Thank you very much for making us feel so relax, safe and also for taking good care to all of us.

I would definately recommend this hotels to my friends and everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chintana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

After spending time in refugios, it was nice to stay in a propoer hotel. It has a quirky European alpine feel to it. The rooms are very warm and with adequate facilities. Breakfast was typical for the region - a continental type. The staff are quite friendly and most speak reasonable English.

The only downside was that the hotel is about a half hour walk from the middle of town.. They promise a regular shuttle service, but it didnt turn up on Sunday. Cabs are inepensive though. Unfortunately, the location precludes popping into town for a late night drink (the hotel only had 1 type of beer in the bar).

Amazing views of the lake and town from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieT8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.5 mi away
Lupama
Lupama
#54 of 70 in El Calafate
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Terrazas del Calafate Hotel
Terrazas del Calafate Hotel
#26 of 70 in El Calafate
266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#39 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rincon del Calafate
Rincon del Calafate
#38 of 70 in El Calafate
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hosteria Posta Sur
Hosteria Posta Sur
#48 of 70 in El Calafate
104 reviews
2.3 mi away
Solares Del Sur
Solares Del Sur
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Meulen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Meulen

Property: Hosteria Meulen
Address: Calle 202, No 608 | In front of Reserva Ecologica Laguna Nimez, El Calafate B9405DWB, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Meulen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a different perspective of the town, you can see a unforgettable sunsets from his deck or an octogon watchtower. Meulen is the answer to all needs with its professional staff causes that their accommodation in El Calafate is an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Meulen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Meulen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing