We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review of Esplendor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed Review of Esplendor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is a really stylish hotel, with very cool decor and interiors. Our room was nice (though a bit hot--no A/C) and the restaurant and lobby area are tasteful. The food is good. The walk to the main strip of town is easy. The major downside to our stay was that we received an email the night before we arrived saying that we were going to be downgraded to a Concept (standard) room from the suite we'd reserved. The suites here look amazing, and we're on our honeymoon and thought we'd splurge. We were sorely disappointed to be downgraded and there was nothing the nice folks who work here could do, blaming it all on management in Buenos Aeries. Apparently, they made ten bookings for six suites, and I don't think this was an isolated incident, given other tripadvisor write-ups. So be warned. Also, the internet was spotty in the room, fine in the lobby. The dogs bark all night and the motorcycles rev down the street, so your sleep might be interrupted if you're a light sleeper and need the window open to stay cool.

So, stay here, but it might be imperfect.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abziegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    466
    164
    40
    20
See reviews for
202
701
48
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed at the Esplendor for one night in November and wished that we could have stayed another night. The hotel is in a great location, a short walk up the hill from the main street in El Calafate - quite close to the bus terminal. The decor of the hotel and rooms are very nice and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindybToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E03TripAdv, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
Dear Guest:

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your nice comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,

Leonardo Solavaggione
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

After 5 days hiking at Torres del Paine (Chile), took the bus over to El Calafate to check out the big glacier (Perito Moreno). Couldn't believe my luck when I checked in to the hotel...was like a piece of heaven (luxury) in Patagonia. The decor was Patagonian rustic-ness (deer horns, local decorations) but modern and chic - think dark wood, open spaces, comfort, and macs in the lobby.

When I saw my modern bathroom with lots of glass and a bidet, well I was soooo happy and couldn't wait to take a nice long hot shower (and finally get clean). I loved the sylishness of my room with the (fake) deer horn lights, rustic bench, and cool pillows. Had a nice view of town and the water. The wi-fi was free and worked on and off in my room.

The breakfast was good, also with a nice view of the town. They can provide a box lunch to take with you to the glacier. The hotel is on a bit of a hill, and it is about 10-15 minutes walking to the main street of town (with all the shops and restaurants). I loved the walk and the zig-zag walkway to the entrance. (During the walk you pass some houses [culture], dogs that ignore you, a park, and an irresistible chocolate shop.) The staff were very helpful (came to my room to open my wine bottle). Had a nice massage at the hotel.

This town was my stopover on the way to Ushuaia. I stayed 3 days, but really only needed 2. But it was nice and relaxing and the hotel was great.

Beautiful and comfy hotel. Hope to stay there again.

Food: I recall fondly the patagonian lamb at Casimiro Bigua (on the main street)

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Chiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E03TripAdv, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
Dear Guest:

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your nice comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to El Calafate.

Sincerely,

Leonardo Solavaggione
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

On arrival we were greeted with a smile from the staff and the check in was great. We were given maps and told about the hotel facilities. Checkout was equally great the staff at the counter were really efficient and helpful, they even printed out our on line check in boarding passses !!! The service was not in your face and even though probably a little short staffed at times, a large tour group was staying at the same time, when the staff were interacting they were really professional, polite and friendly. The bar tender was equally friendly..though he was off helping out elsewhere most of the time.

The decor was equal to the photographs which was unique and pretty amazing. Lots of antlers, sheeps skin and leather.

The major downside for us was that we received an email the night before we were to arrive telling us that we were going to be moved to another hotel that we had never heard of as there was a problem with the reservation system and the hotel was over booked. We replied with our concern over this new arrangement.

The major upside was that the relocation never happened and we were upgraded to a suite room, which was awesome !!! Well done Esplendor angry customers - nil converts - one.

Not sure how the tour group fits in with the whole vibe of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FQT747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E03TripAdv, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Dear Guest:

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to Argentina.

Sincerely,

Leonardo Solavaggione
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Hotel looks great on the internet and looks great when you arrive but is is a shame there is no one who could be bothered to even talk to you or help you when you arrive. Some young twenty something at the front desk all alone who was busy surfing the internet and not vaguely interested in anything or anybody else.
Finally after some 5 excuse me´s and then being told to wait a minute we were given our room key. Unfortunately our room key was the only thing that seemed to be working. I soon found out that the fireplace was broken and couldn´t be fixed, the bar was closed and they had no idea when it was to reopen and the restaurant would be open for breakfast but would not be operating any other time. Basically nothing worked in this place including the staff.
It was my 50th birthday present to come to El Calafate and bring my wife and son. The rest of the trip was fantastic but this hotel is a big dud.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grange98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E03TripAdv, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Dear Guest:

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to Argentina.

Sincerely,

Leonardo Solavaggione
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

This hotel has a lot of great things going for it -- style/decor, service, proximity to the center of town, cleanliness....Unfortunately, temperature control was difficult. If you prefer cooler temperatures while sleeping, please note that there is no a/c at this hotel. Your only option is to turn off the radiators (which really heat up the room) and open the window, which is fine with the cool Patagonian air. The downside is that it was hard to sleep with the street traffic (not crazy but still constant throughout the night) and the barking dogs...even with earplugs. Otherwise, we had no other issues with the hotel. The tip about walking through the bus station to get to town was great; it was an easy 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lsolavaggione, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Dear Guest:

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your comments encourage us to continue working on improving the quality of our accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to Argentina.

Sincerely,

Leonardo Solavaggione
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Get a room if you can facing onto the town and lake. Lovely hotel, pleasant room and breakfast, good value for money. Hotel in a pleasant position, an easy walk from the main street of El Calafate. El Calafate was wonderful to visit in April - beautifully autumnal. Just flying in over the empty spaces of Patagonia was a treat in itself. And the scenery is incredible. Would recommend you hire a taxi to take you to the Perito Moreno glacier area and you can explore by yourself at your leisure. Boat trip followed by lunch at the visitor centre and then the wonderful walkings back to the boat jetty. Next day we booked a full day boat trip to the Estancia Cristina with a 4x4 drive to an overlook on the Uppsala glacier - also absolutely wonderful. And the Esplendor a delightful place to be based in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lsolavaggione, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel El Calafate, responded to this review, 28 September 2010
Dear Guest:

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with TripAdvisor. Your nice comments encourage us to continue working on providing high quality accommodations and services. I will definitively share them with my staff. I look forward to the opportunity of hosting your next visit to Argentina.

Sincerely,

Leonardo Solavaggione
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
1.8 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
0.5 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendor Hotel El Calafate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel El Calafate

Property: Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Address: Juan Domingo Peron 1143, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#13 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#15 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel El Calafate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplendor Hotel El Calafate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendor El Calafate Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Del Calafate El
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing