We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Grat location just one street behind the main street. Rooms were lovely, good size and really comfy beds. Lots of sockets. Great bathroom. The restaurant is also really nice, breakfast is included and we did dinner there one night that was beautiful. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    73
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
117
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here and are returning in a few days for a fourth. This is a very quiet and lovely place ,one block from the Main Street. Rooms are comfortable with closets, extra mirrors and plugs , bedside tables and lamps - spacious spotless bathroom . The convenience and comfort cannot be beat!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodstock_CanadaLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Very well located, great hosts, good breakfast and nice rooms. You can see the personal touch in every corner. One of the owners is an artist and her touch is all over. There is a nice garden. The living where the computer is, has a tv, which we've never turned on. You seat in front of a big glass window watching the birds in the garden. Enough.
Very nice place, and with the touch of staying in a local house, not in a modern cage hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a nice stay at Kau Kaleshen.
The front desk help to arrange a taxi tour to the glacier as we did not have time to take a regular tour due to our departing flight.
Rooms are simple and clean.
Location is great - just a block off the main street.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parnkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our trip to Patagonia. It set the high standard against which we measured the hotels we stayed in during the remainder of our trip. The hotel is simple, but is extremely clean, tranquil and comfortable. The decor is very remniscent of Patagonian culture. The breakfast is good (for an Argentinian breakfast) and is served in the hotel's tea house where you can also have dinner or stop in for tea and coffee. The hotel is also centrally located and you can easily walk to many places in town including the bus terminal. The best part of our stay was the welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. We were sad to say goodbye to them! The only down side to this place is the thin walls.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco-Anny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in Nov. 2012 at a total cost of 440USD for a double room. I would recommend it for people who want to stay in the center of El Calafate, within easy walking distance to the shops and resturants "downtown".

The staff is very helpful and friendly, speaking both Spanish and English. The hotel was great about booking excursions and answering any questions I had. The rooms are simple with tile floors and midrange linens and decor. Not luxury, but not hostel. The heating is good! The breakfast that is included is nice with fruit salad, medilunas, cheese, ham, coffee, milk, tea, cereal.

It was too cold to use the pretty garden area, but they have a nice sitting area, like a Florida room, where you can look out to the garden and read or watch TV. They also have a desktop computer with Internet there. I couldn´t get my iPhone´s wifi to work with their connection, so the computer was key. It seemed the other guests during my stay were quite international and in their late 20´s to 40´s.

Although I booked the room through bookings.com, the hosteria (as it clearly states) only accepts payment in cash.

I might suggest requesting a room on the second floor since I could hear my upstairs neighbors from time to time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCB365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

The room is somewhat dark and small, just as the beds. Breakfast is oke but limited choice. Staff was very very friendly everytime. E.g they called several places to find us a massage and booked this for us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_en_Lizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.1 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#31 of 70 in El Calafate
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#2 of 70 in El Calafate
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#27 of 70 in El Calafate
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#41 of 70 in El Calafate
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Libertador
Apart Hotel Libertador
#69 of 70 in El Calafate
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Kau Kaleshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Kau Kaleshen

Property: Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Address: Gobernador Gregores 1256 | (entre Bustillo y 25 de Mayo), El Calafate, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hosteria Kau Kaleshen 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel and Te house, located in downtown El Calafate, has unique construction and decor details, and is surrounded by beauty of old poplars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Kau Kaleshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing