We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and awesome location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Kau Kaleshen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Ranked #49 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Certificate of Excellence
Hamra, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and awesome location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. It's just near the city center so it was very easy for us to walk around. The staff are nice and very friendly and the rooms were clean. One problem we had is that wifi is very unreliable and we didn't have access in the rooms. Other than that, everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Najat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    73
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
114
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I was in Kau Kaleshen on my honeymoon last April and I couldn't have been more satisfied. The apartment number 12 where we stayed is cute, the heating is powerful and the bathroom is ample. The staff was incredibly helpful, Maria, Mariano and Sergio really helped us out to the extent of keeping our own food in the hotel fridge (the isn't a frigobar in the suite) and changing small amounts of cash after the exchange office was closed. The location is excellent, in the backstreet of the main street of El Calafate and walking distance of pretty much everything - the restaurants, drug store, banks, convenience stores, agencies for all the excursions, winter clothing rental shop. Maria at the reception desk was always extremely helpful and always asked for our next day schedule in advance, to make sure we were on time and that we had proper lunch packed (provided by the hotel or bought at the supermarket). I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you guys at Kau Kaleshen! Eloísa and Victor

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hiutwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for a total of 3 nights in January. Room on 2nd floor front was quiet and comfortable, but the couple we were traveling with could not get the heat to work. Breakfast was unremarkable. Staff helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This place is so lovely, it is right in the centre which is perfect for the bus station and restaurants. The hosteria itself is so cosy and warm. I think it's a real gem.
Our room was a great size for both me and my boyfriend and the shower was fantastic. Really powerful and hot.
I can't remember the name of the lady who was looking after us but she was so helpful and spoke slow for us in spainish so that we could understand her and practice our spainish on her. Very patient women.
The only thing that stopped me putting a 5 start was the breakfast. Unfortunately the food was not substantial in the morning especially when you have a big day of walking ahead of you. You don't get any hot food and only get cake slices in the morning with a bit of ham and cheese to out on bread and fruit salad from a tin. For us this was just not enough.
The restaurant area where you eat though is really beautiful and warm.
If they could improve on breakfast then everything would of been perfect. Saying that, if you are only there 2 nights like we were it's something you can get over very quickly.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_emily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We only stayed one night here but what a lovely little place! We were glad we found it after staying at the soulless Marco Polo suites. The room was lovely, warm and cosy and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location fantastic, just off the Main Street. Breakfast was standard Argentinian and they ask for you to pay in cash - again pretty standard for what we have experienced in Argentina.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddlestoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was a disappointing experience. We discovered that the Hosteria did not take credit cards and we were told to pay cash in advance, so had to use US dollars as we didn't have enough pesos.Our room was not ready on check-in & we had to wait an hour for what turned out to be a dingy room with dark red walls. There was only one plastic glass and when we asked for proper glasses were given 2 white cups of the disposable kind used for water dispensers. The shower was a trickle of luke-warm water. At breakfast the service was sullen and indifferent but at least they did have marmalade! Wi-fi did not work in the room so we had to go to a sitting room near reception. We were pleased when we checked out that we had only stayed one night. There must be better value places to stay in El Calafate.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonC0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Hosteria Kau Kaleshen over Christmas and really enjoyed our stay. The Hosteria is located 1 block away from the main street which to me is perfect as we are just by where the buzz is without being disturbed by it.

The staff was as helpful as it was friendly, our room (double, actually double + a single bed) was big, clean and overviewing the quite and lovely garden.

Breakfast is served in the adjacent restaurant where they also serve cheese fondues (the restaurant closes on Wednesdays).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.0 mi away
Quijote Hotel
Quijote Hotel
#30 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#29 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Avutardas Hosteria
Las Avutardas Hosteria
#51 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kosten Aike
Hotel Kosten Aike
#4 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calafate Parque Hotel
Calafate Parque Hotel
#11 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Alto Verde
Hosteria Alto Verde
#37 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Kau Kaleshen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Kau Kaleshen

Property: Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Address: Gobernador Gregores 1256 | (entre Bustillo y 25 de Mayo), El Calafate, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hosteria Kau Kaleshen 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel and Te house, located in downtown El Calafate, has unique construction and decor details, and is surrounded by beauty of old poplars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Kau Kaleshen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing