We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very standard hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hosteria Kalken

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Kalken
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very standard hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

This hotel is really basic and they were still in remodeling phase. There was a strong smell of fresh paint and really no atmosphere. Service was not attentive but internet was working.
There was quite a bit of noise from the street around the hotel but it is well located

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    45
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
20
55
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

A two night stay booked through booking.com. Slight confusion when we arrived late at night as the man who was on the front desk gave us a higher rate then what we had booked online. It later transpired that most hotels in Argentina have 20% tax on top, this was in the small print of booking.com so beware.
The hotel is in a good location as it is close enough to walk to the main street but not right in the middle of everything.
There was a very pungent smell throughout the hotel that was a mixture of cooking and musty old age home.
The room really needs a facelift, the tv did not work, and nor did the shower head. I ended up washing under the tap for 2 days. This is something i would expect in a cheap hostal not for a place charging $90 a night!!! It is very over priced, i suggest you look elsewhere and save money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Calafate hotels

Brasília
Level Contributor
194 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

Clean, good location, staff extremely kind and helpful. Negative point: low pressure of water sometimes cause a bad functioning of shower. Good restaurant, reasonable breakfast. They prepare meals to carry out (for the tours). Reserve as early as you can.

  • Liked — Helpful satff
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2007

Good location to town.Rooms were clean with comfy beds but dated bathrooms. Hot water was intermittent, upon raising this with staff we were told to run the water for at least 5 minutes!!!!!!

Breakfast was good but avoid eating in the restaurant as the steak they served was still frozen in the middle! Frozen steak in Argentina!!

Do not rely on wake up calls or booking direct with the hotel as neither seem to work.

Lastly beware of charging things to your room. Our luggage was held to ransom due to dispute over a restaurant bill.

Hotel staff only seem to understand English when it suits them.

Overall I don't think it is good value for money

  • Liked — central location to El calafate
  • Disliked — unhelpful staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2007

Good location, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Nothing fancy. Based on others we saw and priced, it's pretty much standard fare for mid-price lodging in El Calafate. All in all, you won't feel like you payed too much but you won't feel like you stayed at the Ritz. It's a solid choice and more than adequate for your stay in Calafate.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant and bar closed early.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Avutardas Hosteria
Las Avutardas Hosteria
#50 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
Hosteria Kau Kaleshen
#51 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#29 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Austral
Hosteria Austral
#70 of 70 in El Calafate
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Loma Hotel
La Loma Hotel
#52 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Picos Del Sur
Picos Del Sur
#44 of 70 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Kalken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Kalken

Property: Hosteria Kalken
Address: Calle Teniente Valentin Feilberg 119, El Calafate Z9405CYA, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Kalken 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Kalken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Kalken El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing