We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's other places...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Imago Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imago Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There's other places...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a gong show. The rooms are a disaster , especially the bathrooms. The entire hotel felt like a sauna... the wine we purchased in the lobby was oxidized. The entire place needs maintenance. Glad we stayed only 2 nights...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drj0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Booking Manager at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest, We understand your concerns regarding several aspects of the services offered, and we regret the unfortunate impression that you currently own of our establishment. Imago Hotel & Spa works, day by day, to reach excellence in service quality, so all the suggestions help us make the necessary adjustments to achieve our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    192
    62
    25
    17
See reviews for
90
275
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel staff in general were very offhand and restaurant staff disinterested. Stood at reception one evening to ask question and receptionist continued working on her computer without looking up for 10 minutes when we gave up and left.
We rang to complain about a noise in the bathroom when we arrived in the room. Somehow the laundry noise comes through the ducting and is on from 0930 until late afternoon. They did offer the next day to move us but too much hassle with luggage
Restaurant food one evening was very nice but breakfast disappointing, little fruit and cold coffee out of machine.
Beware of shuttle hours as they don't run all day

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakennotstiirred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Booking Manager at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest, We understand your concerns regarding several aspects of the services offered, and we regret the unfortunate impression that you currently own of our establishment.Imago Hotel & Spa works, day by day, to reach excellence in service quality, so all the suggestions help us make the necessary adjustments to achieve our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spacious room, very clean, sheet smelling of flowers... ahhhh the Imago!

The pool is great, nice temperature and great whirlpools, though It should be opened past 21:00...
The breakfast is good... it is from 06:00 to 10:00 and has good options! Altough I missed more fruits, besides apple and watermelon one day... And one other thing: they remove the food from 09:45 and they stop reposing it... which was bad because I like to wake up late and eat at late breakfast...

The view of the lake is breathtaking at sunrise!

The spa is great and the massage I had was very relaxing!

The transfer to the city is a great add-on to the service and leaves several hours daily!

I'd surely recommend it!

Room Tip: Take the front view! See the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiago A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Booking Manager at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Thiago, thank you very much for your nice comments. We are really proud you've had a great stay in our Hotel. Hope to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back from two night stay at the Imago. The hotel is attractive and has a beautiful view of the lake. Though there is a shuttle during the day it only runs one time every two hours. We ended up walking back from town one day as it was quicker than waiting two hours in town for the next bus. During the prime hours it only runs one or two times during the hour but as we were there during Christmas when there were too many people they did do a second run. The staff was sweet but were not competent. The room was hot and there was only one window to open and lots of flies came in. The bathroom was dark and not conducive to putting on make-up. The water pressure was good. The bedroom lacked a garbage pail. The vault was not bolted down to anything and you could have walked away with the vault in lieu of bothering to opening it if you were so inclined to steal. The restaurant setting was very attractive. There were limited choices for breakfast and the coffee was horrible. There was one person working behind the bar and she was way overwhelmed. There were two pitchers of water on the buffet and no one besides my family was having breakfast and I moved the pitcher to my table and she came and took it back. This was the only time I saw her move from behind the bar. The staff's English is very limited. Also, felt the staff's desire to help was limited. We never used the pool but it looked nice. A positive is if you book a shared trip to Perito Moreno or Estancia Christina you are the last one picked up so you can sleep longer. Instead of a 9:00AM pickup we were picked up at 9:40AM.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the lake which was nice but none of the rooms had a fan or A/C or larger wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach84Jake62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Booking Manager at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for visiting Imago Hotel & Spa in El Calafate, and for taking the time to write your comments.
We have analyzed the survey completed by you. We understand your concerns regarding some aspects of the services offered, and we regret not having fully met all expectations.
Imago Hotel & Spa works, day by day, to reach excellence in service quality, so all the suggestions help us make the necessary adjustments to achieve our goal.
We will consider your assessments to improve our work.
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I dont know if it is because we expected too much or because we had our 1,5 year old daughter with us but this hotel really need to improve their maintenance, the restaurant and the unfriendly staff.
Maybe if you go with no kids the staff will be nicer but I will not try again to test it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Am_Capucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Booking Manager at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest, we understand your concerns regarding several aspects of the services offered, and we regret the unfortunate impression that you currently own of our establishment.
Imago Hotel & Spa works, day by day, to reach excellence in service quality, so all the suggestions help us make the necessary adjustments to achieve our goal.
We will consider your assessments to improve our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
829 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,422 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

It's a nice building with a nice view... but far away from the centre and with a less than functional bus service to the city centre. The staff is competent and always polite, but not always very efficient. The room was large and well designed. The fact you have to pay for the sauna is a tad of a disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apalmero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Booking Manager at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for visiting Imago Hotel & Spa in El Calafate, and for taking the time to write your comments.
We have analyzed the survey completed by you. We understand your concerns regarding some aspects of the services offered, and we regret not having fully met all expectations.
Imago Hotel & Spa works, day by day, to reach excellence in service quality, so all the suggestions help us make the necessary adjustments to achieve our goal.
We will consider your assessments to improve our work.
We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel in feb and march 2013 and was placed in a 1st floor room with no AC and no window screens. The weather was quite hot and humid and opening the windows would let all the insects get in. The receptionist also advised me to keep the windows closed while i was out due to recent robberies. The room is OK but the hotel far from city center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImagoHotelComercial, Departamento de Reservas at Imago Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts about your experience at Imago Hotel & Spa. Your comments will help us to improve our standards of service. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Marina Prudhomme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
3.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#24 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#16 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.9 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#13 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#9 of 70 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alto Calafate Hotel Patagonico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imago Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imago Hotel & Spa

Property: Imago Hotel & Spa
Address: 669 No40, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#27 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#29 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imago Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imago Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imago Hotel And Spa
Imago Hotel El Calafate
Imago Hotel & Spa El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing