We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lago Argentina- cozy, clean, easy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lago Argentina- cozy, clean, easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived in El Calafate by plane--but if you arrive by bus, it's extremely convenient because the hostel is a hop, skip & a jump from the bus station. The staff were very friendly and helped coordinate our excursion to the Perito Moreno Glacier. We stayed in a private room, which felt like a little cabin and not the traditional room within a hostel. We really liked that "separate" feeling and felt like we had more privacy than in other hostels. The room was small but clean, cozy, and the shower had hot water and good pressure. I'd definitely stay there again if I went back to El Calafate!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    61
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
67
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

It was a fine place to stay for a few nights. It's 3 minutes walk from the Bus Terminal and easy walking distance to all the restaurants. Nothing fancy, but clean and well run.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miztflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed just one night at the hostel in a double room with a shared bathroom. Our room was across the road from the main hostel in a cozy annex. The room was large and the bed had lots of blankets which was good as it was very cold when we arrived at El Calafate! The annex had a nice little area for breakfast which was also good. The owners are very friendly and were able to organise an excursion to the glacier at very short notice.

Room Tip: The double in the annex were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We planned to stay in El Calafate for three days and we were looking for cozy accommodation. We found many nice and cozy hostels but all of them were quite expensive. Finally we reached Lago Argentino which prove to be just a stone throw from the bus station and it was bull’s eye! To be honest, the rooms are quite tide but lobby and kitchen is spacious enough. Additionally owners make such a wonderful atmosphere that you feel like a member of family. Yes, this is my place in El Calafate.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

4 of us stayed two nights in two doubles with private bathroom. Our building housed the dining room and a sitting room which we had mostly to ourselves. Everything was clean, comfortable, even private and quiet. The buildings are lovely, painted in bright colors with lots of flowers. The staff is very friendly and breakfast was nice too. Located a few blocks uphill from the main drag, but not too far, and right by the bus station. Younger travelers congregate in the main building and cook and play games.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pagespan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in the rooms with private bathroom of this very friendly hostel.

Mariano, the guy who stayed in the afternoon/night is very very helpful and friendly.
The price was fine.
The shared room and the bathroom was very clean and confortable.
And it is located near to the city center and bus station.

We really liked!

Room Tip: Get the rooms with private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre_pantaliao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

But twin rooms and dorm are very small. It is very loud

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majorburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Patagonia
Hosteria Patagonia
#17 of 68 in El Calafate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bla! Guesthouse
Bla! Guesthouse
#3 of 68 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Buenos Aires
Hostel Buenos Aires
#29 of 68 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparts Casas del Centro
Aparts Casas del Centro
#24 of 68 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hospedaje Flores del Sur
Hospedaje Flores del Sur
#53 of 68 in El Calafate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
Schilling Hostal Patagonico
#3 of 38 in El Calafate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino

Property: Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino
Address: Calle Campana Del Desierto 1050, El Calafate Z9405BSJ, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Speciality Lodging in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Javier and Veronica’s house is typical of Patagonia, and together with Estela take care of guests making them feel completely at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino Hotel El Calafate
Albergue y Hostal Lago Argentino El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing