We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in El Calafate
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The staff are fantastic. Dinners were great with quality of food and value. The main building oozes character. However, our room had long since seen the last flush of youth. Shower screens leaky and new building imposing in front of our lake view. The hotel is also up a hill accessible by a dirt track and can be quite dusty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billypenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for La Cantera Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

The best thing about la cantera is the amazing evening meals we have had. We stayed here either side of a trip to el chalten and had dinner here on our first night, the trout was amazing, and the we had the chocolate volcano for desert, I'm a desert fan and this may be the best desert I have ever had! The chef and bar woman and make it an excellent choice as they are both so friendly. Unfortunately they were closed the next night and we are in town (terrible meal) so we were more than happy to eat here again on our return from el chalten, again an excellent meal, very reasonably priced! Stay for the food alone!
Upside of this, yes the hotel is up a hill, but if you have any level of fitness it is no problem. The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff do everything they can to accommodate. They looked after our large luggage when we went off for 2 days trekking. You can also organise all tours etc from the hotel, and it seems like its good value.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bazonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We r hotel snobs but wanted to stay in lodge to feel part of our surroundings & not like we're in NYC. We came to Patagonia to mini trek on glaciers. The whole area is spiritual & mysterious...Loved the soul touching energy. The Lodge was the perfect fit-gracious, welcoming & humble like El Calafate. Loved the snow capped mountain views which we requested after reading suggestions from other reviews...so glad we picked this hotel...Be fore warned; however, that the majority of hotels are very warm & there is no way to control the room's temp so just opened the window. Found the same situation in a 5 star hotel in Ushuaia...We walked the steep hill to & from town everyday. We r in our mid 50's so not young chicks but enjoyed the challenge. Highly rec. This perfect example of Patagonia life....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libcoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is a walk uphill from the main street but don't be put off because they have a shuttle service, although we managed the walk. We were very surprised to have the best evening meal during our stay in Argentina. You need to book at 5 and select from the set menu. Being a little higher you get nice views and its quiet, the only minor suggestion I have is that they tone down the lavender or whatever they use in the rooms, leaving the door open for a while and it clears the air but not good for sensitive noses.

Room Tip: A room with a view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneyover50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Pros:
- The hotel is very pretty, with lots of wood.
- Staff is very friendly and helpful.
- You can arrange all your glacier-related tours at the front desk, and pay when you check out.
- Breakfast includes many beautiful cakes!

Cons:
- It's up a steep hill from town -- it's probably only worth climbing this altitude to get to your hotel if you're rewarded by a lake view when you get to your room.
- I don't think they clean the jets in the bathtubs -- at least ours had a lot black stuff come out when we turned them on.
- A tad pricey for El Calafate.
- The bed in our room was actually two twin beds pushed together with a slightly uncomfortable gap in the middle -- not ideal for couples.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are designated as "lake view" or "mountain view". The view o...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguin_314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is a small boutique hotel with amazing views of the lake and town of El Calafate.

We get a good view from the Lake View rooms, and the rooms are quite cozy.

It is also located just a short distance from the town with free shuttle services to town. The hotel also helped us arrange tours to the Perito Merino Glacier.

The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helped us to prepare our own meals and made us feel very comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose the Lake View Rooms, and not the Mountain view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaitanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Calafate is a sweet wintery town-- unpretentious and cute. I dont think this town has many (if any) high luxury options.This hotel is a perfect fit in terms of being accessible to town, very comfortable and an extremely helpful staff. The food was very good and the jacuzzi baths were terrific after long glacier hikes.

Room Tip: It was nice being a part of the main lodge so we could easily walk to the concierge, main seating an...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#6 of 70 in El Calafate
1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
Esplendor Hotel El Calafate
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
1,004 reviews
1.8 mi away
Xelena Hotel & Suites
Xelena Hotel & Suites
#12 of 70 in El Calafate
997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Unique Luxury Patagonia
Unique Luxury Patagonia
#20 of 70 in El Calafate
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range: £60 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing