We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Small Museum”
Review of Estancia Harberton

Estancia Harberton
Book In Advance
More Info
US$333.00*
and up
Tierra del Fuego Eco-Adventure: Beagle Channel Canoeing, Penguin Colony and...
Ranked #16 of 91 things to do in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Small Museum”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The most southerly museum in the world, Museum Acatushún has an amazing collection of Tierra del Fuego's birds and marine mammals. The exhibit area highlights penguins, seals, whales, and other mammals. Behind the scenes, two coordinators and a dozen interns are constantly gathering, cleaning, and cataloging specimens to add to the beautifully kept collection.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pequod23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    324
    137
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Really enjoyed our visit to Harberton. The small museum was really educational and it was great to see the bone house where old and new skeletons are being prepared. The staff were very knowledgeable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great visit, really interesting”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It´s a bot far from Ushuaia but the trip by car is a luxury itself, the landscapes are so beautiful! When you get there, they have gides for visitors and they tell you the whole story of the place, which is very interesting. Food was also great and price was right. I recommend it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dina_MVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
428 reviews
342 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“visited it in pira tour”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

we were on the haberton ranch to board our boat to the penguin island. it is a scenic place with a museum of marine creatures. the museum visit was for an hour. we looked around fast and spent the rest of the time enjoying the ranch till we had o board our boat. they do offer special eng tours of the ranch for those interested

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
362 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Fascinating place and not to be missed”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Our boat trip from Ushuaia contained the option of disembarking at the Estancia Harberton and returning by coach. I'm very glad we did so because otherwise we would have missed a chance to visit this very interesting place.

Originally this 20,000 hectare estate was granted by the local state to Thomas Bridges an English minister who had spent decades among the local indian population. It has remained in his family ever since and although the commercial farming and timber activities have ceased, it continues as a showpiece of what such estancias were like.

The buildings are largely original, including the main house brought over in pieces from England. Wool shearing equipment and the remnants of a timber shed, show what went on.

By way of contrast there is also an amazing bone display and laboratory which contain thousands of skeletons of porpoises, seals, whales and the like. These are constantly being added to with washed up corpses from the neighbouring Beagle Channel which are then stripped of their flesh, washed and preserved, before being catalogued. This establishment has an international reputation in this regard.

The estancia is staffed by young, enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers who make their own contribution to the visit.

If you are in Ushuaia, include a trip here. You will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estancia Harberton also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Estancia Harberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing