We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mysten Kepen B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$89
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel(Ushuaia)(Great Value!)
US$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Les Eclaireurs(Ushuaia)(Great Value!)
US$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
252
44
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
44
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh towelsnational parkhome away from homecomfortable bedboat tripbeagle channelrosariohostsargentinaesmeraldatowntaxitourshike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2011

After 5 months traveling in South America, we can confidently say our time at Mysten Kepen offered the most homely and comfortable stay imaginable.

The family at Mysten Kepen went out of their way to make sure we were always comfortable, offering lifts into town, plenty of helpful advice and even delicious homemade soup on a rainy day. It was the little things that made us feel at home.

The room was of a very high standard and good value for the price - impeccably clean, comfortable bed and heating and modern bathroom.

A good place to practice your Spanish also over breakfast and in the evenings! : )

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bedeposit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I booked this room based on the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. You are living with the family but they are very welcoming to the visitor. They spoke very little English but gave us the chance to practice our little bit of Spanish in a relaxed environment. For us the living situation with the family and the kids floating around was very enjoyable but if you are looking for a more private time then this may not be the place for you. It is located up the hill and not in the center of town but was very easy to get to and from. We did one tour they recommended but didn't feel like there was pressure to do more and it might have been because of our limited Spanish. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for anyone interested in a home stay. Coffee, fruit and snacks are available all day which was wonderful. There was a lot of loud music playing next door and barking dogs but you never know what to expect. We were usually tired from our day's activities so never had a problem going to sleep. The music was worst on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayinmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Mysten Kepen is over a 10 min walk to the main strip in a very residential area which was surprisingly noisy due to the number of dogs in the area and the neighbour blasting his music at a very high volume (luckily not late at night). We stayed in a room with a shared bath as we were told a few days before our arrival that the ensuite room we had booked a few weeks before was no longer available and we were disappointed the room had been given to someone else. To be fair, they did offer us a discount or to help us find an alternative B&B.

The shared bathroom is kept very clean though as is the room itself and the entire house. The B&B is actually operated from the family's home and personally I found the size of the house far too small to be run as a B&B - I think one of the kids bedroom was right next door to ours. Due to this, we found no where to relax at the end of the day as the family lounge is used by the family themselves and we would have found it a little awkward to just sit there amongst them invading their personal space.

The breakfast was standard and the owners were helpful but a little too forceful in trying to get us to stay at their friend's B&B in El Calafate. Even after politely declining and informing them we had already booked accommodation, we still felt a little pressurised but declined again after they had enquired whether we had paid for it yet. As B&B owners themselves, i'm sure they would not have appreciated someone cancelling their booking only hours before they were due to arrive.

Apart from feeling like you are actually staying in someone's house right alongside the family, all was good but just a little claustrophobic for us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bundleorbindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

This is a very good value for family home room rentals in Ushuaia, and the owners go out of their way to be helpful. Note, however, that you have to be comfortable with living alongside a family. Also, the location was mixed, although much of Ushuaia is that way frankly. Very good breakfast, and snacks are offered all day, which is nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrysr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We stayed for 4 nights, waiting for the strike in Chile to clear up. It is a very nice place. Don't get me wrong. But based on the reviews, you would think you're staying at the Four Seasons. It was very clean. The shared bathroom was always clean. The breakfasts were standard Argentine (maybe 1 step above). The host was super helpful. Almost too helpful. We felt like he tried to upsell us on a lot of tours. A cruise to Antarctica leaving tomorrow for half price? A tour bus to see penguins. A tour to go up the chair lift. We felt like we were always turning him down--which does cause a bit of guilt. It's definitely more of a "home stay" than a B&B. His kids were always downstairs playing video games and his family uses the same kitchen that guests use. But they do preach the "mi casa es su casa" mantra, so if you can get over the awkwardness of feeling like you're staying at their house, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews