We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a vacation”
Review of Hotel Cap Polonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cap Polonio
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Ushuaia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was at Cap Polonio in my last vacations at june. I spend a week there and it was a really pleasure. The staffing was very helpful showing the best places to know and where getting the best prices. I got a room at the back of the hotel and it was really peaceful and quiet. They have a good restaurent inside, but because of the good location, is very easy to go out and find other places to eat. Actually, the localization is one of the best points of the hotel. All the tours I got in Ushuaia has pick up services in the hotel and very well integrated with the hotel staff, they know at wich time the tours will pass and who is the responsible. Very helpful for somebody that not speak the language very well like me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPPOLONIO, Gerente at Hotel Cap Polonio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Aethiopicus; thanks for visit us. Regards!! Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel itself was average but it has a great location! It's located on the main street so it's a quick walk to everything.

Our room was on the 5th floor facing the back and was pretty quiet. The most noise comes from the other rooms as the walls are quite thin (but this seems to be the case in all of Ushuaia!). The bathroom was functional and had hot water.

Front desk service was very helpful with directions and contacting the airport for a lost item.

Buffet breakfast was served in the attached restaurant and seems to be standard fare - breads, cold meat, cheese, canned fruit salad, juice, tea/coffee.

Room Tip: We had a room on the back which was quiet. Since it's on the main street, the front rooms MAY b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The most valuable thing about Cap Polonio is that it's right in the middle of everything. You're at walking distance from most of the attractions downtown as well as restaurants. The rooms are OK but tiny bathrooms and everything is quite old. The elevator is very, very small even for the liliputian Argentinean lift standards. Breakfast is not bad at all. Staff was helpful but be aware that the "manifestaciones" happen very often in front of the hotels in Ushuaia and the front desk won't do anything to assist you, except hearing your complains. We were awarded with one "manifestacion" at 3h30 am. Around 10 people stopped at the entrance of the hotel with drums and whistles making as much noise as they could during one hour. They are asking for salary raise but frankly I have no idea of how bothering tourists can be helpful to them. The only thing they get is making people angry and sleepless.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you need a place to overnight before or after an Antarctic adventure, you can't go wrong with the Cap Polonio. My husband and I stayed at the Monacoo down the street, and it was too close to camping out for our comfort. The Cap was the perfect antidote from its front desk staff to its tiny but welcome elevator. The restaurant was all we needed for breakfast and dinner. The room was comfortable and spacious, the bathroom clean and the shower hot. Dormer windows opened for fresh air, but street noise did not intrude. The Cap was a bit more than we had intended to pay, but in line with other Ushuaia prices. We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This three-star hotel is located in the middle of the main street in Ushuaia in the heart of the
shopping and restaurant area. One block away is a casino with another casino only two blocks
away. It is only two blocks from the Beagle Channel. Good service, nice breakfast, clean room.
Internet was free but not working at the time. About five blocks to the West was a great rest-
aurant where the locals ate, The El Turco. Food was very good especially the freshly-squeezed orange juice--I had three glasses at one sitting. Very reasonably priced and very
clean. Would return to both hotel and El Turco. (This is a genuine review as I am a world
traveler.)

Room Tip: ask for back room as front is on main street but town settles down by midnight or earlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I stayed in Hotel Cap Polonio for five nights from December 27th, 2009, to January 1st, 2010 and got room number 102.

The hotel has: hair dryer, free wi fi internet access only in the lobby (not in the rooms), two computers in the lobby with free internet access (one of which was always broke during my stay), heating system, elevator.

The hotel doesn't have: parking of any kind, air conditioning (it was not a problem during my stay but I'm not sure if in a really summer day or night I wouldn't miss it), minibar in the room.

Location: just in middle of the main street. It is possible to walk to almost any place with tourist interests (pier, museums, information center).

Price: Ar$ 436 per night for a double room (around US$ 110 at time of booking – all taxes and fees included in this price).

The hotel is old, with old furniture, decoration and elevator (which is also very small). I got room number 102 and it has average size, as has the bathroom (the sink is very small, however). The bed is nice. Curtains really blocks the sunlight (which is relevant during summer, as the day gets longer). Breakfast (included in the price) was satisfactory. The price is high for what you get in general. Staff were polite but not helpful.

Before staying here again, and now having more knowledge about the city, I would research more trying to find better places for similar prices. I think I can get better options for the same price or even for less.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeEsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Cap Polonio for 3 days in early December 2005. The hotel wins big points for location, right in the middle of town on San Martin, walking distance to the port. The small cafe in the lobby is also nice and reasonably priced. The in room furnishings were a bit dated and the bathroom slightly run down, the bed was nice. None of the front desk staff, including the apparent manager, spoke English, an oddity in my opinion since Ushuaia bills itself on tourism and really tries to entice English speaking tourists. We also found the price to be a bit high for what you get, but this may simply be the norm for a tourist town in Patagonia. I'm overwhelmed with indifference. You could do better, you could do a lot worse.

Stayed: December 2005
2  Thank swinny_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.1 mi away
Alto Andino Hotel
Alto Andino Hotel
#7 of 51 in Ushuaia
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Naranjos Hotel
Los Naranjos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Ushuaia
707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#11 of 51 in Ushuaia
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Canal Beagle Hotel
Canal Beagle Hotel
#8 of 51 in Ushuaia
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#15 of 51 in Ushuaia
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cap Polonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap Polonio

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 746, Ushuaia V9410BFU, Argentina
Phone Number:
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range: £81 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cap Polonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cap Polonio is located on San Martin street, our city's main avenue, in the heart of it.CAP ARCONA ROOM | EVENTS SPACE. Catering Service offer a wide range of cuisine: Coffee Breack • Breakfast and Snacks • Lunches and dinners formal and informal • Snack • Lunch • Cocktail • Menu for Groups • Bachelor year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cap Polonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing