We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in Ushuaia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Yamanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Yamanas
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
456 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Ushuaia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed for a night and it was pleasant. The room was reasonably furnished though quite warm with some difficulty controlling the temperature. The staff was quite nice. The restaurant had just changed management so the service was a bit unskilled but friendly. The location is a bit out of town but nice nonetheless. I wouldn't pan the place as it has lots of potential. If you need a lot of service from the place, I would look elsewhere for a while until they get their act a bit more together. If you are not high maintainence, then you can have a quite nice stay at Las Yamanas however.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    82
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
88
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel looks lovely but appeared to be staffed by only two people (apart from one potential person in the kitchen) neither of whom had had any training in how to look after guests. The person on reception was off hand and none of the facilities the hotel was supposed to have seemed to either exist/be working eg sauna (there was a room where it should have been, unheated, and no staff - it appeared to be derelict and not in use) games room (pool table but no balls/cues - no staff and no other 'games') etc. The bedroom itself was fine, overlooking the Beagle Channel, but dirty window and no way to adjust the heating. The 'restaurant' and bar areas were a joke. One person to look after both: she had no idea what she should have been doing. There was a choice of two main dishes - salmon or chicken with chips. It did not appear that the staff had had any training. I managed to restrain myself from offering to go into the kitchen and cook it myself - an hour to wait and we were the first people to order any food. As this hotel is some distance from town it is not possible to eat elsewhere unless you order a taxi. I'm not sure that the staff would know how to do that! It is certainly not the 'first class' establishment we were led to believe it was. It is true that the view and location are wonderful but that is the best that can be said. I was very glad we were only there one night. Value? Perhaps the hotel should pay the 'guests' to stay there and not the other way round.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Nice hotel, but I wish it was closer to town. Not within walking distance but taxis are pretty cheap.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, but honestly seemed like they needed more people working there.

There is no dedicated bar area, it just sort of blends in with the eating area. It would be great if they were separate. Seems to be still under construction in some areas (in the back, it won't bother you) so maybe they will address the lack of a bar/sitting area in the future.

The staff that was there was so nice that I really wanted to give it a better review. The place seems pretty new so maybe it just needs some fine tuning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived for two days from Mendoza. I just have a trip advisor review as reference. I highly recommend this hotel. Best in value. Really good costumer service
I have to mention the kindness of Lorena, Santiago, Agustin, Gustavo and Lilen.
The rooms are great all with Beagle Chanel view.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroLLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Pretty view, but too far from town. Scratchy bed linens, and the building was unbearably hot. Pillows were uncomfortable. Stay in town. You need to spend $10 on a taxi ride to reach any of the in-town restaurants.

The lobby is attractive and the rooms are large but such a remote location should include a pool or tennis courts.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ushuaia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at Los Yamanas for 3 nights and it served as a good base camp for some trekking and exploring in the region. The setting is far from "attractive"... it is breathtakingly beautiful and entrancing, with 180 degree views of the Beagle Channel from every room in the building. It was mesmerizing watching the weather blow through the channel as the sky changed from minute to minute. Be clear, though: it is far from town and you must take a taxi into town if you want lunch, to shop or to be around other people. We did not have dinner at the hotel, and breakfast was passable: fresh fruit, eggs, yogurt, coffee, pastries. Nothing particularly special but perfectly fine for beginning the day. The staff was also fine. I would go back to Los Yamanas for the views and the peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to avoid having guests overhead. Our overhead neighbors were noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ez1961sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

After a Patagonian cruise and a visit to Tierra del Fuego National Park, we were "dumped" by our tour company in this hotel, some 3 miles or so from Ushuaia. The view over the adjacent bay was attractive but that concluded the quality of this hotel. Arriving at about midday, we found the reception staff indifferent and you couldn't get anything whatsoever to eat or drink until 7.00 pm. So your only option was to get a taxi immediately into the town.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.4 mi away
Tolkeyen Hotel
Tolkeyen Hotel
#18 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Los Acebos Ushuaia Hotel
2.1 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Nires
Hotel Los Nires
#21 of 54 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Yamanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Yamanas

Property: Hotel Los Yamanas
Address: Los Nires 3038, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Yamanas 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Yamanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Yamanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing