We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Ushuaia Green House
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Reviewed 9 March 2014

For the couple days we stayed in Ushuaia, I would have preferred being closer to town, but Green House suited all our criteria, was good value, clean and staff were awesome. Taxis were plentiful and quick and all knew where to go when you said "Green House".

It was a 50 pesos ($5 or so) taxi ride each time into town. The hotel is further from town than the airport.

Nice lobby, great people although noone had strong English skills, beautiful view of the water and mountains (although construction behind the hotel seems to be growning).
Agree with comments on breakfast - a bit sparse but adequate to start the day.

From here we did the boat tour to the end of the world lighthouse, penguin tour, helicopter ride.
the best morning was a bit unplanned - getting a taxi tour.

One of our taxi drivers was just awesome and I asked him if he would give us a tour on the morning we were to leave for the airport. He did that and then brought us right to the airport. I asked if I could post his name because he was the best part of our visit to Ushuaia. He's in the tourist trade and is in Ushuaia because he's done about 15 trips to Antartica. He knows the area well. His english is excellent and he's got a great sense of humour. Juan Carlos took us into Tiera Del Fuego park and showed us the highlights - he know flora and fauna, history and park stories. All in all a fantastic bargain tour.
Contact Juan Carlos Gjeda, Mobile: 15 52 47 39 or email at charlie.ar@gmail.com

Room Tip: Only know room 5 and it was excellent, 2 single beds and great view of the water and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDAMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed there in 2009 and had absolutely no complaints about any aspect of my stay. The morning view of snow-capped mountains across the Beagle Channel was amazing. The owners were very nice refugees from the corporate world. The location is a bit far from downtown Ushuaia but I had rented a car so it wasn't an issue. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Beagle Channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rhroutjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is located in the outskirts of Ushuaia. So you have to take a cab (50 pesos) to go into town. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast however was very basic and we could find our breadcrumbs still on the table the next morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keukentoerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during November and December 2013 .
The hotel is managed by an elderly couple who live here so there is always consistency in excellent service . The owner's daughter who works at a travel agency downtown comes in the afternoon and manages the desk.She is fluent in English and is always available by cell phone for any English translation that the elderly couple cannot provide .She will help you arrange local excursions and tours that you may want to participate in.

Breakfast is very basic and always consistent without any variety .
There are no restaurant facilities nearby .
The hotel is located about 8km uphill from the town center so you will need a taxi to get to back and forth ..forget about the bus at the bottom of the hill ..the taxi will cost you 45 Argentine Pesos each way ..I hitched hiked a ride every time that I wanted to go into town but took a taxi home ...the local drivers are very friendly and surprisingly speak a little English ... just say "San Martin" and they will take you there as it is the Main Street in Ushuaia .A great way to meet the locals .be very careful crossing the streets in Ushuaia as the locals love to drive at race car speeds. It is the End of the World and they drive as though the world is coming to an end BECAREFUL!
If you take a taxi from the Airport have the address printed out for the driver .
There is a large hotel near this hotel whose name is the same as the Road that they are both on ,,Los Nires ..say that and you will get there .
Look for a Green House that looks like a Swiss Chalet on the left
The hotel is in fact like a Ski Chalet with a very quiet , airy ,cosy and well appointed tiled lobby with an adjourning washroom .
It has a small bar and huge comfortable sitting area overlooking the Beagle Sound .The expansive breakfast room has lots of windows overlooking the Sound as well .
There is a brand new large Walmart like supermarket at the bottom of the hill 3 minutes away called La Anonima which has an excellent food,wine and prepared food section .Most household items will also be found here .Take some plastic bags with you for the checkout .
My room had a wonderful new double bed .The super clean bathroom is huge with a jet bathtub and wand-held shower. It had a bidet as well. There is no kettle or microwave in the room but if you want hot water for coffee ,tea,etc the managers will be more than happy to get it for you .There are always cups and assorted teas in the breakfast area. Know the Spanish words for hot water .
My room was very spacious with a great view overlooking the Sound . There is a TV but there are no English channels like CNN or the BBC International .
If you want a taxi they will have one summoned for you .They ahve a computer center for guests.There is excellent WIFI reception throughout the hotel .
They take credit cards and American Dollars . I did not ask about Euros .
You cannot buy or obtain American Dollars at the banks ,money exchanges or ATMs in Ushuaia ..so if you need USD money for excursions or the Cruise Ships bring it before hand .The ATMs charge you 5USD /transaction for Argentine Pesos .
Most stores and banks close at 12:30 and reopen at 3pm ..some tourist shops remain open if there is a cruise boat docked .There is a tourist info center at the docks if you need a clean restroom or to use their free WIFI .
It was very quiet and peaceful here .I will return to further explore the Patagonian region and say hello to my wonderful new friends that manage this great place .Thank you for a great peaceful stay !

Room Tip: Room 5 had a great Beagle Sound view and was very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skip n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had to spend an extra night in Ushuaia and we had stayed at Tierra de Leyendas but they couldn't accommodate our extra night so they booked us next door at this hotel. The owners are incredibly sweet and accommodating. Their English is poor but they were great with recommendations and helping us.
The rooms were great --2 rooms with a shared bathroom between and DirecTV (I think--we didn't turn it on). Amazing views of the channel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Very nice B&B on the outskirts of town. Room very nice with comfortable kingsize bed. Spacious bathroom. Nice breakfast in the morning. Very quite at night to have a good night sleep. Our room (#10 on the third floor) had an excellent view of the Beagle channel and snow capped mountains. Town was about a 10 minute ride. If don't have a car they will call a taxi or Remis for you. There is a bus (colectivo) stop about 3 minutes down the road but the colectivo is not reliable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This was a lovely little ¨hotel¨ just about a 3 minute walk from the main avenue. It is uphill, but the views are absolutely wonderful! The sunsets from the dining room, the vistas from the veranda are splendid! The room was a smidge small, but was just what I needed. I had the closest room to the front desk, and there is not much insulation (if any) in the rooms or door. I could hear every word, but thankfully I was tired so it wasn´t a problem. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well! It was all decorated like Christmas, and felt like a ski chalet in Colorado! I ate at a delicious restaurant a few blocks down the same street - Maria Lola - and would highly recommend it as well!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingtexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Yamanas
Hotel Los Yamanas
#26 of 50 in Ushuaia
218 reviews
1 mi away
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tolkeyen Hotel
Tolkeyen Hotel
#20 of 50 in Ushuaia
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Las Hayas Ushuaia Resort
0 mi away
Tierra de Leyendas Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Las Lengas
Hotel Las Lengas
#17 of 50 in Ushuaia
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Ushuaia Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Ushuaia Green House

Address: Avenida de Los Nires 2382 | El Recodo, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range: £82 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Ushuaia Green House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is about ten minutes out of town, overlooking the Beagle Channel, 12 rooms with bathroom and fantastic views of the mountains and the bay, hydromassage bathroom, King size bed, Internet access, central heating, telephone, safe, and cable TV. Non-smoking rooms available. Facilities: Large lounge and bar on first floor for a relaxing drink among friends, conference/meeting rooms, TV room, and a permanent exhibition of paintings by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hosteria Ushuaia Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Ushuaia Green House Hotel Ushuaia
Hosteria Ushuaia Green Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing