We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Malvinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Malvinas
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

As the Hostel/Hotel is listed with the tourist information, we thought it should do. It does, the location is good, close to the main Street (St Martin just one block away), it seems safe (locked 24hrs) and the staff is friendly. Though, the room is very tiny, the bathroom as well. The door to the bathroom can't physically be closed in our room (defect door frame). Heating works perfect (gas heater) and hot(!) water is always available. Except the size the room is ok, it even has a minibar/fridge. Tea and coffee are free in the Hostal, breakfast is poor compared to other hostels but according to local standards. The overall appearance is alright, although, they could clean the carpet once in a while. For payment, they accept credit cards and WiFi is free of charge. If they would ask reasonable prices it would be ok, but they want the rate for a hotel but have facilities for a hostel. We paid about 70 USD which is a bit too much for a Double Ensuite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dummdidumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    33
    9
    6
See reviews for
23
34
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here in march 2010. Room was very dated but well priced.

Don,t really have too much to say as there wasn't much point staying in the hotel. I can sum up the issues we had, tv didn't work, wifi barely worked, curtains fell off the wall, shower knob came off the wall, last morning we had a power cut and no hit water.

Having said that we had a brilliant time in Ushuaia, engine tour, great hike in the national park and a freezing experience on the mountain chair lift!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cajamarca, Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Las Malvinas is an hostal, not an hotel. Rooms are a bit small and old. The staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast room is also kind of family room and the atmosphere is cool. It is perfectly situated in the town center. All in all it's a good hostal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

The rooms here are tiny for the price but Ushuaia is hugely expensive so that is to be expected. The location is great and the front desk staff were very hospitable. The breakfast is terrible - only a couple of medialunas and toast. All in all, average.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Not a wonderful hotel, in fact quite old-fashioned (which gives some charm), and some renewals would benefit the hotel. However, the hotel is quiet, clean, well located very near the city centre (but slightly apart so there's not much street noise). Staff is nice and helpful. The breakfast is clearly improvable. On the whole, the hotel is OK (especially considering prices and qualities in Ushuaia).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

I spent 2 nights with my partner in this hostal in January 2011. Room and bathroom are spacious and very clean. Location is excellent in the center. Breakfast is a little poor, but there is free coffee-tea-water 24 hours. The owner and all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to stay in this hostal.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aae191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia, bogota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

Highly recommended, good location, warm, nice people. If you are looking for a clean and simple hotel to stay, this is it.....Juan is very nice $60 dollars.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mava1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Mustapic
Hosteria Mustapic
#31 of 55 in Ushuaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Austral
Hotel Austral
#11 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#15 of 55 in Ushuaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
Lennox Hotels Ushuaia
#14 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antartida Argentina Hotel
Antartida Argentina Hotel
#54 of 55 in Ushuaia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
MIL810
MIL810
#30 of 55 in Ushuaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Malvinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Malvinas

Property: Hostal Malvinas
Address: Calle Gdor Esteban Deloqui 615, Ushuaia V9410BDM, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Malvinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing