We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small issues”
Review of Hosteria Foike

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Foike
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Reviewed 3 February 2014

1st the positives

top floor room has lovely view

clean and comfy overall

now the negatives:
on the day we arrived we were given the ground floor room which was very tiny and cramped though we had booked the top one---the owner said this is our tradition... we think he overbooks...

it was 135 $ for the tiny room and 150 for the other one--definitely overpriced... we had much better value for money in chalten, calafate and bariloche where we had lovely rooms

did not accept USD though whole town does

did not offer breakfast when we went for penguin tour at 7.30 the 1st day

on 2nd day, no yogurt... he does not replenish stuff and with other guests around there is very little stuff to go around

on 3rd day all 4 tables were occupied and we sat at the reception area sofa... the girl did not clear a table that got free in a couple of min... overall very poor customer service

location is uphill when we return from centro

the shower handle comes off

the tub does not have a stopper

pretty difficult to adjust the water temp--water is scalding hot in a second on the top floor... in the room below, it was tepid...

we loved the dog though--he's sweet!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Like most reviewers we had the large attic room. This room has views to the Andes, a large bed, plenty of storage space and interesting art on the walls. The staff are friendly and the hotel is warm and comfortable with a pretty seating area in the foyer and light, bright breakfast area. Breakfast is a little disappointing, there isn't a lot of variety. The hotel is a ten minute walk to the centre of town but the restaurant Kaupe is nearby where we had delicious King Crab meals and the hotel is also close to the very interesting museum (old jail) complex. The location is fine! Be aware that Ushuaia is full of dogs and their barking kept my husband awake one night.

Room Tip: The attic room is large and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HookedOnTravel255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were already happy when we found the Hosteria Foike for booking, long before the trip itself. And we've been looking forward arriving there.
And we were not disappointed :) .
It's a lovely cosy place, really nice rooms with view over parts of Ushuaia and the Beagle Channel.
It's mostly quiet, a quite new house.
The rooms have a good size, comfortable beds and also the bathrooms are good.
The owners are a nice couple, really helpful, with good recommendations for restaurants. .
Breakfast is as usual in Argentina...
The only point is perhaps the price, it's upper level! (High season in Ushuaia)

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the Beagle Channel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel before our Antarctic cruise and had booked to stay again afterwards. The attic room had great views and was quite cosy but it was further from town than we had expected. The real problem though was that we had no water from late the first evening so no toilet or shower; and no public facilities that we knew of. From later the next morning the whole hotel was without water. I understand that these things happen but the owner/manager didn't seem to care and made no efforts to redress. They offered $10 off the room price and ultimately agreed to 800 pesos provided we paid cash; a high price for no facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here one night before the start of a cruise. Really lovely attic room, very cosy. Friendly staff. Walking distance to some great restaurants. They arranged for a cab to get us from the airport which was a nice touch. Really recommend this place.

Room Tip: As for the attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikeclimbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our visit to Usuahia, Argentina was a great adventure. My wife and I spent four days of last November exploring the beautiful nature that makes the Patagonia a wonderful piece of South America. We stayed at the Hosteria Foike, which is owned by Luis and Alejandra, who are always willing to help their guests. Karen is the hotel assistant, and she is very nice and friendly and provides information on tours, restaurants, stores, etc.

Our room was in the attic (roof), which has a couple of large windows overlooking the beautiful mountains. The room had a very comfortable bed, it was clean and it had the basic services. Continental breakfast is included but quite limited. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from downtown, but in the way back one has to walk up a steep hill to get there.

One of the reasons I visited Usuhaia, is because my hobby is photography, so Karen recommended me a couple of taxi drivers who know the region very well, and they do personalized tours to places not visited by the typical bus tours. Gerardo took us to the Tierra del Fuego National Park, and Jaime showed us the northern area across the Andes (Lago Escondido), thus I was able to photograph hidden places I would had missed if I had taken the official tours.

Room Tip: We felt there is more noise in room at the attic and of course, an extra staircase to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had one of the roof rooms with huge windows and a magnificent view from the bed.
The breakfast was only toast and sad looking cheese and ham, so we skipped it and went somewhere else.
We stayed there for two nights and it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ushuaia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hosteria y Restaurante America
0.5 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque Apart Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Les Eclaireurs
Hosteria Les Eclaireurs
#32 of 50 in Ushuaia
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ushuaia
Hotel Ushuaia
#35 of 50 in Ushuaia
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Valle Frio
Hosteria Valle Frio
#21 of 50 in Ushuaia
170 reviews
1.4 mi away
Via Rondine
Via Rondine
#39 of 50 in Ushuaia
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Foike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Foike

Address: Gobernador Campos No. 1554, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range: £72 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hosteria Foike 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria Foike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Foike Ushuaia
Hosteria Foike Hotel Ushuaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing