We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place, romantic ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Paipa
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico city
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good place, romantic ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hacienda is amazing! As a photography enthusiastic I had a great time here. Me and my husband had dinner here, food was very good and surprisingly well prepared, Colombian but with very gourmet taste. The only downside was service, is very slow and chaotic, there were only 2 tables in use and 4 waiters could not manage to bring the bread and drinks promptly.
I totally recommend it, but be very patient.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adpollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    54
    13
    2
    11
See reviews for
45
54
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Hacienda with a group of friends, including some children. Overall, it is a delightful place. The building is gorgeous, and the grounds are lovely--large stone plazas, flowers, rural views, fires at night.

The rooms seem to have a lot of original touches, like the heavy wooden doors. The room came with a mini-bar, electric heater, and tv, and was pretty comfortable.

The pool was wonderful-about 92 degrees, with natural fountains that come on 3 times a day, bringing fresh spring water. It's very salty water, and easy to float.

There is a spa on the premises, with a number of massage options and fairly reasonable prices. All of the service was good and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The major downside is the restaurant. While breakfast was quite good, with several hot options and eggs to order, the dinner was quite dismal. The low point was the spaghetti that several in our group ordered. It is best described as overcooked noodles with the cheapest possible sauce--more like ketchup than anything. The other dishes were just marginally better. We ordered some snack food during the day, and that was pretty good, and a decent value.

This hotel could easily rate five stars if they improved the dinner menu. The restaurants in surrounding Paipa are not much better, so there's really no reason to leave the hotel.

Overall, a lovely stay, and one that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakujess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

excellent experience in paipa, I suggest this place which is a 500 hundreds years ´old "finca"...amazing...the only critics is about the restaurant, not as good as the hotel would deserve..
I enjoyed a lot the spa where I had a vulcanic rocks massage

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriele v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Leaving the always noisy Bogotá for a quiet week-end, we couldn't have chosen a better place. Hot pool, cold beers at the poolside and quiet but always attentive employees. The bar with it's tremendous chimney was all the history one could have expected. Beds are soft and well made.
The only reason why only four out of five may be awarded is the rather average kitchen. A new chef that doesn't overcook everything is clearly in order.
Anyway, I will be back this autumn.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Skimmeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. At first glace, this place looks like the perfect romantic getaway. However, we paid a fortune for food that was unimaginative and way overcooked, we couldn't sleep during the night because hotel management didn't bother to ask the partying guests in the (supposedly closed) thermal pool to shut up. Pricey rooms. Nice colonial architechture, though.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good points: Colonial architecture and grounds well-maintained, and even the standard rooms are well appointed. The electric space heaters in the rooms are very welcome and unusual for the mountain parts of Colombia, where it can get quite chilly in the evenings and early mornings. The restaurant is well organised, the cooking good and varied, and the weekend buffet breakfasts excellent. Andres, the receptionist, tried hard to resolve customer service issues.

Bad points: The staff could be better trained - the pool bar staff didn't know what a gin and tonic is, and didn't serve people in order, meaning that you would be kept waiting 30 minutes for your drink. In the main bar, we tried to order "empanadas" as a snack, but were abruptly told they were not available, and room service was also a little haphazard, and no-one seemed to know when you could fill the private spa with thermal spring water in the suites (there are specific times when you can). Avoid staying there on Friday mornings as the main pool is drained and refilled - starting at 4am, which can be noisy! These are all problems related to the management, whom were never to be seen during our 2 night stay.

Room Tip: The standard rooms with balcony overlooking the pool are more than adequate. Avoid room 16 (with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisinbogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

a very charming place, with a special athmosphere .
yes the maintenance could be better, yes the service could be faster ,
but the people are extremely nice, the place is beautiful ,
the thermal swimming pool is comfortable,
and the food is good.
and you are half an hour form a lot of fantastic places
such as Mongui, Topaga, Tibasosa, Tota,Nobsa..

Room Tip: lanceros suite has its own thermal bath .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paipa
1.2 mi away
Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sochagota Paipa
2.8 mi away
Miravalle Suites Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#7 of 8 in Paipa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#1 of 8 in Paipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Bella Tierra
Hotel Bella Tierra
#1 of 1 in Tibasosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre

Property: Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre
Address: Km 3 Via Paipa, Paipa, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Paipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Paipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel " Hacienda Casona del Salitre "also known like Casona del Salitre is considered as one of the most important National Monument of the country for its kind of architecture, that dates from 1736, it has being declared as National Property of Cultural Interest since 1976.Nowadays the Property is an elegant hotel , where the best traditions of hospitality is conserved through its chapel, 23 rooms, thermal water, Restaurant, Tavern, SPA and pool of thermal water , at only two hours from Bogota.Because of its antiquity, the architectonic beauty, its circus of bulls, the enchantment and the privacy of its surroundings, the Hotel has become the especially suitable place for business and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing