We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sochagota Paipa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Paipa
Certificate of Excellence
Lebrija, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent relaxation”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days. The view is just awesome especially at sunrise and sunset. The staff was very friendly and helped with any requests even if it wasn't there area of responsibility. The restaurant is good but a little slow. Breakfast and room service were excellent. As an American my only complaint is that coffee is not available in the room or lobby so I had to wait in the morning for the restaurant to open unless I saw a staff member who would gladly go get me some. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The thermal pool (miracle waters) were interesting to me and I did enjoy them. The horseback riding was short but the guide was very informative about the area. The spa was great and relaxing also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    58
    18
    13
    4
See reviews for
68
30
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is in a great location with an excellent view. The rooms are big and clean (beds are small though, double I think, certainly not queen).

There is an OK variety at breakfast, of average quality, which is really geared toward the Colombian palate. So I guess that depends on your preference.

The hotel is old and very noisy. There is no sound proofing and you can hear everything.

I found the service to be of a very poor standard, particularly the front desk/reception staff who displayed an offhand and arrogant manner. It was almost like I was an unwanted, uninvited guest in someone’s private home (except I had to pay for it). They were unwilling to answer questions and generally made us feel very unwelcome. This was a disappointment as I have stayed in many hotels in the Boyaca Department and the service in the region is usually outstanding.

For the price, you can most certainly do better. There are a lot of hotels in the area. I think this hotel would have been very nice once upon a time (and I assume the service was good once too…)

Oh and the hot water seems to intermittently run out. I’m not quite sure what happened there. Maybe a really small tank or something…

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I lived in Colombia for seven years, and now live in Chile. We recently returned to Colombia for a holiday and it was a unanimous decision as a family to head back out to the Sochagota, We had previously stayed there around four times in the past.
What is it about the Sochagota that makes us go back.....
1. Location: overlooking Sochagota Lake, the hotel is surrounded by woods and is a few minutes by car outside the town of Paipa.
2. Thermal waters. Without doubt, the best night's sleep follows several hours in the warm, mineral laden waters which make Paipa such a popular destination.
3. Spa. The best mud massage we have ever had. Our 7 year old daughter even tried a massage here, which was, in her own words, "delicious".
4. Restaurant. The food is locally sourced, fresh, and tasty. The menu is basic but incredibly tasty - fish, chicken and beef cooked in a variety of sauces or straight on the grill.
5. Service. My wife has been a client of the Sochagota since she was a girl, travelling with her family. The same people who served her then still work in the hotel. The service is friendly, honest, and always polite. Jorge, the horse riding guide, remembered my daughter from previous visits, and took the time to explain the local flora to her while we were riding.
6. Activities. Horse riding, tennis, kids play park, therma waters, bicycles, watersports, walking, visiting local art and crafts shops, eating local foods.

The Sochagota is a simple place for families seeking to spend time together. The next time we are in Colombia, we'll be heading back.

Room Tip: Ask for 114 or 116. They have their own personal thermal water hot-tub in a patio area. Also the cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritInColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogota
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We reserved by despegar.com around 600 dollars por 2 nites 3 people one room. Once we arrived, "not all taxes were included in this price" , so we should pay 50 more. We hoped something similar to a 5 * hotel for this price, but what we found:
1. We asked for some juices in the pool, they NEVER ARRIVED, after one hour waiting (and reminding to the waitress) we decided to cancel.
2. "The sauna". It is only for 10 people!!!!!!!!.... So if u want to "enjoy it" make sure u find a place...!!!! The capacity of the hotel is aroud 537 and there are people who can pay to enjoy a "hotel day", so aroud 600 people or more are wating for this service.
3. THERE IS NOT HOT WATER IN THE ROOM!!!!!!!! AT PAIPA´S WEATHER IS AROUND 13 C.....!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE....
4. We ask for the "entertainment schedule" at front desk!, they didn´t know it!!!!!!!
so, the said the will call in the morning... and guess what... yes of course... THEY NEVER CALL...
5. Breackfast time. There were no enough waittress, so we should take our coffe.

Summarizing:

The hotel have a big potencial to be a VERY GOOD 5 STARS HOTEL, but there are no people who want to improve it... Any way, they charge as if it were...

Room Tip: Around the area there are many other hotels were you can stay, Probably they are not online, but whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANA r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Overall I thought this was a good hotel..some positives and some negatives. We rented a "cabaña". The view was magnificent, right on the lake. It was a very peaceful place. The rooms were a bit outdated and in need of maintenance but clean. The one very negative aspect was our "thermal water private pool" that they advertise with the cabaña. We had no desire to turn on the faucet to full up the pool because the pool was DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY. There were yellow patches on the tile and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. For a hotel that charges as much as this place does for a "private pool room", the least they can do is clean it. In any case, it wasn't that much of a big deal for us because we used the big public area pool. The water was nice and warm and people should understand that the color of natural hot spring water will not be the same clear blue of a pool that has chlorine in it.

We had dinner at the restaurant and we all thought the restaurant food was good although very pricey and contrary to some other comments here about the breakfast I actually thought it was one of the greatest parts of our stay. It was an extensive buffet with typical Colombian tamales, caldo de costilla, eggs made to order, a variety of breads and muffins, fresh fruits and juices, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, etc. etc.

Overall, I would recommend this place. Just a quick word of advice: if you book online as we did, the price is CONSIDERABLY cheaper than if you book directly through the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

30 dollars to swim in murky green water? I hope it is really therapeutic... The food was mediocre and the service left room for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocgroveMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jduarte55, Manager at Hotel Sochagota Paipa, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear customer:
Thank you very much for your comments, it is through them that we are able to improve and optimize our services, as well as clarify and inform our guests and users. Regarding the color of the thermal spring water from the city of Paipa, it has a distinctive green color because it contains thermal water algae, which are also used in therapeutic and aesthetic treatments at our SPA. That is the reason for the muddy green aspect of the water, which is a special characteristic of these springs.
As for the services and quality of our food, we have always stood out as one of the best options in the region. Unfortunately, during your stay at the hotel we were undergoing a training stage for new personnel both in the kitchen and restaurant areas, which caused these disruptions in our service standards. Fortunately, this training period has been completed, and our team is now ready to offer food and service in keeping with our standards.
We apologize for the service obtained during that period, and we would love to have you again as our guest so that we may change your initial appreciation.
Carlos Duarte
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The location of the Hotel is good and the view is magnificent, thats more or less the best what i can tell about it. The reception should be more friendly and open for special requests from their customers. The rooms had there best days long ago and you can smell the smoke (non smoking rooms where requested). The attraction, hot springs, are crowded and dirty. The breakfast is way below standard (they claim 4 star Hotel) even for Colombia this is not more than 2 stars. The worst is if you try to check out. For foreigners they say that there is no vacation Tax of 10%, they had no idea what we where talking about, even the manager was unaware of this statement made on their internet page, but they refused to take it of the bill! Unbelievable ignorant and unfriendly. There are much better options to stay at this lake!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohannesWingenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paipa
0.8 mi away
Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#1 of 8 in Paipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#7 of 8 in Paipa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Miravalle Suites Hotel Boutique
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Tierra
Hotel Bella Tierra
#1 of 1 in Tibasosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sochagota Paipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sochagota Paipa

Property: Hotel Sochagota Paipa
Address: Kilometro 2, Via Las piscinas, Paipa, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Paipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Paipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Classic and elegant Sochagota Hotel stands up its architecture in contemporary style and privileged location, at a hill, in front of the lake that gives its name . It offers a multicolored mountain landscapes, which recreates the beauty of the Tourist Zone of Paipa.The thermo-mineral pool of the Hotel is one of the most famous of the region, fed by streams coming directly from the springs, which provides a natural and relaxing massage , maintaining the ideal temperature all year round, that aloud to enjoy day and night.The Sochagota Hotel offers 64 accommodations, 45 standard rooms, two suites and 16 cabins, The cottages have living-rooms with a fireplace, two bed-rooms, two bathrooms, private pool of thermo-mineral water and a large balcony, where you could have breakfast outdoors, appreciating the landscape.The Sochagota SPA has the best thermal resources and therapies that drive your body and mind, into harmonious balance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sochagota Paipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing