We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Paipa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located at a very nice spot, nice views, friendly staff and many different activities available. When it comes to hotel amenities it seems like a far lower category hotel. Tennis courts are dangerous and poorly maintained, ski equipment is old and they just have old skis, nothing more. Gym equipment is mostly faulty and even staff recognizes that fact. Liquor is extremely overpriced too. Would look into other good options on the area.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camilo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteles_Estelar, Gerente de Servicio at Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado huésped, agradecemos el comentario que nos ha dejado el cual tendremos en cuenta inmediatamente para tomar los correctivos, esperando que la próxima vez que nos pueda visitar encuentre todas las áreas en perfectas condiciones;
Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros y atenderle con la calidad y calidez que nos identifica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    97
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
161
95
5
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

First think I've got to mention is that we got there without reservation.
So the whole place is really big, more than 100 rooms so we found a room very easy even considering that it was a holiday.
The rooms are okay, plenty of space, big bed and a menu of pillows.
Room temperature is great. This is a zone of thermal waters but the only thing you find here is Jacuzzi with thermal water, but when u ask for the process of treatment of this waters anyone in the hotel can answer that question.
The problems, we asked for a coffee to service room, and the service was fast enough but you don't revive even a napkin.
Dining in one of the restaurants they're was as very big fly, almost an inch, we complained about it and nothing happened.
In the checkout we asked for help with the luggage but anybody came to our room.
So the hotel is ok, but when you pay more than 500 USD for 2 nights, it results very expensive if the service is not great.
This rate doesn't include any food, even breakfast so it's expensive if you compare to other similar hotels in the area.



Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

It is the best hotel in the location with many recreation options for families. Could be a little bit pricey but it's worth. The service is very good and if you get a room with lake view you will have a pleasent stay.
Came with my wife and my 3.5 yrs old son and had an excellent time. It is a little away from the town so you would need transportation to move around.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quillero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico city
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days to relax and spend sometime together, location is very nice just at the Sochagota lake so there is a beautiful view. This hotel is very comfortable and quiet. Facilities are quite good, the best part is the spring water jacuzzi, very relaxing and good for your health. The spa was nice but expensive. This hotel is far from everything so bring all you will need as the restaurant is good but pricy too.
I do strongly recommend to upgrade to a suite, with a fireplace and great view to the lake.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank adpollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This the 4th time I return to the Paipa Centro de Convenciones hotel. It is excellent. The location is fantastic, with very large grounds made of beautiful trees and a wonderful view over the Sochagota lake.
The service is also very good, with all staff, from reception to restaurant or activities being always very attentive and helpful. We used the spa and did some water skiing. Both were very well ran.
Food is good too, in particular the typical local dishes like Cuchuco or Ajiaco.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room. 2nd or 3rd floors are the best for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I currently live in Milwaukee, WI but i grew up in Colombia and i have been going to this hotel since i was about 5 years old. I am telling you the hotel and the service only gets better and better. Hoteles Estelar really give a good impression and offer an outstanding service. This hotel is quiet, beautiful, charming and luxurious, it is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrets11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Room was beautiful. Everything was lovely, but here are my issue:

Service takes a long time even when they are not busy. Even when it comes to ordering beverages at the pool it took them over 45 minutes to get the drinks to me and my family.

Oh by the way, the massage was superb!!! I can't say enough accolades to Gladys!!! Ask her by name...she knows what she is doing and does not rush with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paipa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sochagota Paipa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#7 of 8 in Paipa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#1 of 8 in Paipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Del Salitre
1.8 mi away
Miravalle Suites Hotel Boutique
7.1 mi away
Hotel el lago
Hotel el lago
#2 of 20 in Paipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center
Address: A Orillas del Lago, en Paipa-Boyaca, Paipa, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Boyaca Department > Paipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Paipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a charming hotel surrounded by the woods. Estelar Paipa is located in front of the Sochagota Lake, the perfect scenario for upscale conventions in a relaxed environment, here everything is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estelar Paipa Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Paipa Hotel And Convention Center
Estelar Paipa Hotel Paipa
Estelar Hotel Paipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing